Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling Rabbits

• 02-03-2010 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭

Is there such a thing than calling rabbits? I know you can buy them, but do they work? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

i would so LOVE to know the answer to the above.
    not stealthy enough to sneak up on the feckers with the shotty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

i think youve mixed it up. :D
    rabbit calls are for calling in foxes, a rabbit in distress is the sound they make

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Yep it works & i wouldn't have believed it unless i seen!

I have been using a squirrel caller with a rubber bellows attached! I was more interested in foxes and while scanning for Charlie i often seen rabbits approaching with some speed toward me! TBH they came up to wards me with such hast and aggression that i thought them to be foxes--Its hard to tell with un aided night vision some times.

But its only happened on a few occasions! Perhaps i stood between safety and the rabbits cover, who's to know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Yep it works & i wouldn't have believed it unless i seen!

I have been using a squirrel caller with a rubber bellows attached! I was more interested in foxes and while scanning for Charlie i often seen rabbits approaching with some speed toward me! TBH they came up to wards me with such hast and aggression that i thought them to be foxes--Its hard to tell with un aided night vision some times.

But its only happened on a few occasions! Perhaps i stood between safety and the rabbits cover, who's to know!

I've had exactly the same thing happen me using a wam caller, I nearly fell over laughing to be honest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

the best man on the planet to call rabbits is hugh hefner , he has bunnys coming out of his ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

jwshooter wrote: »
    the best man on the planet to call rabbits is hugh hefner , he has bunnys coming out of his ears.

..and sometimes he does be coming in their... oh best just leave it at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Ive had a few hares come charging in while using a digital rabbit distress call for foxes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

Thanks lads, I'll keep on walking the fields, just thought there would be an easy option to get rabbits out of their holes ;)
    What cheap fox calers are on the market? The price range seems to be huge...

dwighet wrote: »
    Ive had a few hares come charging in while using a digital rabbit distress call for foxes...

Me too! after walking around the whole of this one farm I gave it the all clear! I settled into a nice warm sheltered viewing sport near the center of this farm and began fox calling with a hair in distress.
    The hare that appeared must have come from fields away:D just shows ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

The back of your hand. I called a fox in doing it once but i wouldnt say i can do it properly. The more experienced lads on here can do it. Think this fox was just starving.
    Areoboard on glass always works for me.
    Ebay has plenty of decent callers for decent money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Thanks lads, I'll keep on walking the fields, just thought there would be an easy option to get rabbits out of their holes ;)

I have a caller I brought back from the states...I dont use it so if I can dig it up you can have it for small money....I will let you know if I can find it...

Dusty87 wrote: »
    The back of your hand. I called a fox in doing it once but i wouldnt say i can do it properly. The more experienced lads on here can do it. Think this fox was just starving.
    Areoboard on glass always works for me.
    Ebay has plenty of decent callers for decent money.
    Most people go OTT with the back of the hand and they crank up the volume to much for the distances envolved.
    As they say sometimes less is more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Most people go OTT with the back of the hand and they crank up the volume to much for the distances envolved.
    As they say sometimes less is more!

I wouldnt know ivan, all i did was squeek with the back of my hand as i couldnt find my areoboard. Didnt want to turn on lamps looking for it. TBH i made about ten different noises doing it so i dont think i was doing it right. Not something i will try again unless im shown properly or cant find my aeroboard again:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

buy "hunting with the bow and arrow" by Saxton Pope (amazon has it) and it describes in detail how to call rabbits, as told to the author by Ishi, the last wild indian. Method is back of hand.
    Taught myself from the book many years ago, showed some friends and within a few months guys I barely knew were excitedly telling me they could call rabbits to them.
    It works best on pregnant does and does with young, so not really fair unless you are using a bow.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

To call rabbits just make a sound like a carrot in distress :p

yubabill wrote: »
    buy "hunting with the bow and arrow" by Saxton Pope (amazon has it)

Saw & bought this at Amazon for EUR8 - will let you know if it works... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

To call rabbits just make a sound like a carrot in distress :p
    :o couldn't resist

Looks more like a happy carrot to me... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

We have one called "Charlie", whatever you want to call them really!!!:D

greenpeter wrote: »

Where do you get this stuff from:D
    How did you even think of looking for such a thing:D What do be in your head:D

great laugh

Its a great read!! with a real insight into hunting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Rabbit works the controls in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

if you like that sort of book, get "the witchery of archery" also on amazon
    favourite quote" it ain't the arrow- it's the indian"

fav quote saxton pope- "ishi thought of us as children- clever, but not wise"

nice to see you guys have open minds.

Nothing beats facts and learning new things - and to have an open mind ;)