Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gsp information.

• 01-03-2010 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

hows things lads, over the weekend i got a gsp, i just need a bit of help with him as i have never had a pointer before!
    he is 6mths old and has absolutely nothing done with regards any training. however he seems naturally manorally.
    what age will he start to point, is there a method to intise him to point?
    at the moment i have him running with my springers, is this a good idea, or should he be ranging a lot more?
    are they an attentitive dog, are the easy to train? i have always kept springers however they seem to have very different personalities to the gsp.

any help is much appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

pkeohane wrote: »
    at the moment i have him running with my springers, is this a good idea

Problem with running him with your springers at this early stage is that when he starts pointing, chances are your springers will flush it from under his nose, causing him to become unsteady at holding a point for you.

Had a gsp for years, died of a brain tumor aged ten. Was my first hunting dog, and having no experience in training gundogs I seemed to make a pretty good job of her. They can be pretty headstrong though.

Just one other thing, they're prone to arthritis, so a drop of cod liver oil in his feed regularly would be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 pkeohane

yeah, thats true about the springer flushing his game, i also dont tike the idea of him being as close as the springers are to me!
    i give all my dogs cod liver oil every day, super stuff!

did yours just start pointing of her own accord?

She sure did, memorable moment i tell ye!

looking foward to it!! would she hunt cover?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

He should point by himself without any encouragement from you. I'd keep the springers away because as E.Fudd says, he'll become unsteady on the point with the springers rushing in. The only "training" I've done on mine is sit and come back on the whistle. He hunted naturally himself and even retrieved to hand with no instruction. Having said that, he's been out since he was one with his more experienced mother. Regarding ranging, I'd say let him out as far as he wants (within reason). Mine go up to 100 yards ahead on ditches but I keep them a bit tighter in spuds etc.

The other thing is, they really only come into their own around the 2nd or third season, so don't be too expectant during the first year.

yeah, nothing too unusual from other dogs so, what could he point at this time of year, when there is no game about?

There's always game around. I found that young inexperienced phesants in the summer were a great trainer for my bitch, they were always inclined to sit that bit tighter than a weary cock. Obviously you can't shoot 'em, but concentrate on getting him as steady on the point as possible and flushing on command. My bitch was inclined to be too steady on the point, needing a hell of a lot of encouragement to flush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

I have only good words to say regarding GSP's. As IWM & P&B said keep them apart when in the field, everything else should come naturally. Introduce the pointer to water ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭Invincible

I had a GSP from 9 weeks old,she started pointing on blackbirds,she became a great hunting companion,retrieved on land and water,lived to be 13 1/2 yrs,got a tumour in her leg,had to put her down.When the weather gets warmer you could take your pup to a shallow stream and wade in yourself,encouraging the pup to follow you,whatever you do,don't throw it in,as you may put it off water that way.Good luck with the pup!
    I got a book by Michael Brander on training step by step,it's this one,
    http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/book/9781853102387/Training-the-Pointer-retriever-Gundog

just bought that book! when do you reckon i should see him point, it is still probably a bit cold for the water yet........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

the only training you need to do is the recall, anything more is up to you. get him 100% on the recall before you take him out on birds or you'll be hunting with an untrained and wild dog. it's as simple as that the rest he will learn in time by getting him out on birds. he will point when he points and that is as good a guide you'll get. only shoot birds then that he works and points properly

i have started him on the basics. i am really looking foward to see how he progresses, gsp are an entire new can of worms for me, i have a good bit of ground for them, they will make for a bit of variety from using the springers all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Keep him away from the springers they will ruin him, I'm sure your going to get someone with a comment to say that you should be able to get the dog to point and then one of the springers to flush....... you can too but why would you be bothered!

Make sure you always hunt him into the wind, some people use pheasant wing on a string tie it onto a pole and play with the dog as you would a cat, you'll see the dog point at the wing and encourage it to stay.

But before you bring him out get the recall and stop command right.

at the moment i run them all together, exercising etc, would this do harm? he follows the springers into cover and water which i dont think is a bad thing, when the season starts i will shoot with them seperately obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

at the moment i run them all together, exercising etc, would this do harm? he follows the springers into cover and water which i dont think is a bad thing, when the season starts i will shoot with them seperately obviously.

I walk the pointer & springer off season together & let em run around off the lead.
    Both are now heel trained so only carry a lead to put on em when approaching other dogs.
    Usually I heel one while the other has a free run & then i leave em off for a chase & play etc. The temptation of watching the other do retrevies & allowed run around is a great way of enforcing commands. Will really test their resolve but if the commands are not strong individually to begin with you will have a right aul time of it!! :p

They know the difference in hunting & exercise.
    When i put on the coat hat & boots they both literally p**s themselves with excitement & are all business. When going for a stroll there is a noticeable difference!

Hunting would be strictly on their own & I think you grasp that.

Might want to lay off areas where there is any game whne running together & be taking the gsp out on his own to places where you might meet a few birds to get the cogs in his head turning. Have another 5 or 6 weeks now before they start laying. After that you should look at keeping him to places you might meet an odd cock bird as opposed to nesting hens... Best of luck... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭Invincible

just bought that book! when do you reckon i should see him point, it is still probably a bit cold for the water yet........

Probably about 9 or 10 months,water would be too cold for introduction yet I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Would love to get my own pointer to swim is she a little old at 3? She dosen't mind crossing a stream ditch but will jump it if givin half a chance. She seems to detest water:( ..

On the other hand all the best with the GSP. There a great dog and companion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

elius wrote: »
    Would love to get my own pointer to swim is she a little old at 3? She dosen't mind crossing a stream ditch but will jump it if givin half a chance. She seems to detest water:( ..

On the other hand all the best with the GSP. There a great dog and companion...

I had to don the chest waders to get my fella in.
    Last summer, just crossing in deep places where he'd have to swim. Be all encouragement. Started him in knee deep & moved up once he was confident.

He wont go in this time of year though as it's too cold! If I threw in a dummy this time of year he'd look at me as if to say "are you for f***in real!?? Get it yourself!"
    He will go in after a duck etc that he's seen fall but on a blind this time of year forget it! Not a trainign thing at all cause he's a fine swimmer now, it's just too cold & it's obvious as once it heats up you can't keep him out!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

elius wrote: »

Ditto on my two.
    A good spot to go is the canal at Longwood.
    Go to the footbridge and cross over it when the dogs aren't looking. It's quite a steep bridge and dogs are not that keen on crossing it. Then try getting them to swim over to you. The bank in low enough to get them into the water easy enough, and the water is deep enough in the middle to make them swim rather than wade.

0E2394BED58A47DD82908CD97DB460C8-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Thanks lads. Ill wait till the warmer weather arrives. ill give that a go in longwood though my yoke is a crafty bugger and no doubt she will up over the foot bridge :):). I might hang on till the summer a stick the wet suit on boyne isnt to far away. :D

Anyone got any opinions on weimararners? Thinking of getting a new dog for pheasant and deer and always fancied these. Are there any hunting lines in the country or would I need to go further afield?