Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give me a brake!

• 28-02-2010 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭

I've a brake problem. Before Christmas I brought the bike to Mr.Skeff and among the myriad of problems and instructions he pointed out that my brakes (shimano) didn't fit my frame correctly.

I don't know the phraseology but in lay-man's terms the brake calipers don't sit far down enough to let the brake blocks lock on the wheel correctly. at best they actually catch the edge of the wheel and after wearing they catch the tyrewall. I really suspect this has been the cause of my tyre failures.

Can you guys lead me in the right direction for new brakes. My bike is the lapierre rcr100 and the brakes are shimano (I guess 105, but there's no marking I can see on them?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Is there a problem with front and rear brakes? A deep drop set here would match:- http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/product-Shimano-Shimano-R-650-Dual-Pivot-Brake-Calipers-47-57-mm-Deep-Drop-Allen-Key-Fitting-16337.htm

Ha! beaten to it by blorg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

cheers lads I'll have a look in lbs for 57mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I would reiterate confirm first though as it seems peculiar that your bike would have come with the wrong reach brakes.

blorg wrote: »
    I would reiterate confirm first though as it seems peculiar that your bike would have come with the wrong reach brakes.

It's second hand and had custom stuff. thanks, I did a little searching and Lapierres seem to come with Promax RC-459 brakes as standard, I don't know for sure that's not what I have but they look slightly different. I'll ask in bike shop to measure up 57mm tomorrow as I'm really conscious now of the brakes catching above the wheel rims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

My other half has the same bike, 2008 model i think (it's kind of gunmetal grey), and I've never notice any issue with her brakes not having enough reach. They definetely don't come with 105 brakes though, thats for sure :) Just had a look and there's no discerning makers mark on the brakes, but the brake blocks are not even at the full extent of their range. Sounds like whoever you bought the bike from switched them out with something else

I seriously doubt that you need 57mm drops on it though, and would avoid getting them unless absolutely necessary, the longer the brakes the more spongey they will feel, cos they'll be less stiff.

ok thanks for all the advice, always plenty here.

I'll let ye know how it goes - at least it should stop these feckin punctures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Is this your bike? http://www.lapierre-bikes.co.uk/lapierre/fitness-bike/2009/RCR-100-1;jsessionid=B41D2CA059549C5C695FA18DCD602662#

On zooming the picture the calipers do look longer than short drop (39-49mm), if they're just catching the tyre then the cartridges only need a few mms further to drop which would be well within the range of Shimano deep drop (47-57mm).

I would suggest seeing Mr Skeffington again or taking the bike with you to the LBS.

well i've been off the bike for a few days due to injury (taxi + bus stop). took it in to cycleways today but they said they'd "have nothing like" 57mm drop/long-reach calipers. could order them but "it would take weeks" and I'd be "better-off online", shrug & walk off...

humph

I know you have to pay a premium when buying in local bike shops and its something I don't mind too much as its good to support employment in this country but they don't make it easy sometimes with the attitude, you know you have to go out of your way to help them?

so i'll struggle on with the crap brakes while I wait for an online order to arrive.