Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to a concert alone

• 28-02-2010 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What are peoples opinion here of going to a concert alone. I bought myself a ticket for a concert. I don't think I would have a problem with going alone but family are saying it is sad.

I fainted when I heard that Michael buble is to play dublin. I just had to get a ticket. I got a ticket and got a very good seat up front. I'm delighted. I know its ages away and I'm looking forward to it.

I asked a person or two if they wanted to go, tickets on me, weekend on me. Not being fans they said no. I know my mum likes buble and I asked her if she would be interested and she said no. Then I considered buying her a surprise ticket but I know her all to well - she wouldn't go.

To be honest, if I was to wait for someone to come with me, it wouldn't happen. And I have to go! I think I would prefer going alone. I didn't have the stress of begging a person to come with me. I didn't have to get multiple tickets and didn't have to take orders about what ticket one would want and where one would like to sit. I don't have to worry about what if one lets me down and decides not to go. So I Just went ahead and booked a ticket and signs by I got a very good seat. I suppose closer to the time I will probably get a little nervous about going alone but so far I am happy with my decison.

However family are saying its sad going to a concert on your own. But what am I supposed to do? Sit down and wait for someone to hold my hand? I know its ages away but a family member has even tried talking me out from it. And this is coming from someone who gets drunk at concerts. They would go to concerts in a large group. I have seen it happen where they would try and organise things for a concert and try and get everyones cooperation. They try and please everyone and its hard on them especially when people keep changing their minds. Like last year they wanted to get a helicopter. That plan didn't work out. Then they wanted to get a limo. And people pulled out at the last minute. They ended up getting a bus. And then some of them wasted their tickets and didn't go at all. Theres nothing worse than to get your hopes up for something just to be let down. I don't have any of that stress. I only have me to please. I'm going to plan so much for that weekend.

Those remarks from has totally knocked me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I would have found it sad when I was 16. If I had kept that attitude til now, I'd have missed a lot of great concerts.

Just to add: I've go concerts alone and enjoyed it (and met some great folks). I've also actually met up with people I didn't know over the internet (including via boards.ie) to go to concerts and had a great time. There's now the Gig Buddies forum explicitly for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

You should definitely go on your own. If you really want to see him then there's nothing to stop you. I know people that say its pathetic to go to the cinema on your own, yet I do it every weekend. I much prefer to see a film on my own without all the noise another person brings. A concert isn't much different. Plus, I'm sure you'll meet people there to talk to if you want company.

Let them say it's sad if they want. Come September you'll get to see Michael Buble in concert and they won't, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Nothing sad about it in the slightest. Infact, some gigs are better going on your own imo. Its kinda of akward for awhile when you're waiting for the concert to start but once it does its great.

There's a thread in the Gigs & Events forum discussing this.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055794298

Hope it helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

I did it once purely out of not wanting to miss the concert. Im glad I went along because I met someone who was in exactly the same boat and is now a good friend of mine.I'd do again if I had to.
    Besides, it's not like your constantly talking to anyone who goes to the cinema or a concert with you, so I don't see the problem. I think that those who would consider it "sad" are somewhat insecure to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

I went to oxegen with my friends 2 years ago. but we've a completely different taste in music, if i stayed with them i wouldn't have seen amy winehouse or the verve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭mateo

I definitely don't think it's sad at all! I've done it twice, mainly because nobody else wanted to see those artists. OK the first time I went I thought it was going to be awkward and that everyone was going to stare at me but it was no problem. You're going to be enjoying the concert and Michael Buble, so who cares if there's no one you know there? Just go and enjoy the concert!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

As someone who has never gone to a concert on my own, I don't see anything wrong with it. In some cases, looking back, I wish I had gone on my own.

I've been to concerts with people who keep running off to the smoking area and then ringing me to come find them cuz they've gotten lost, I've been to concerts where the person I went with has gotten so drunk they can't stand and had to be looked after by me, and then there's the fact also that you can't speak to people at a concert because you can't hear them! So why bother?

I think to go on your own saves you a lot of hassle in the long and short term. You only have to rely on yourself to get there and yourself to get home. I wouldn't pay any attention to your family members OP, maybe they are jealous that you actually have the guts to do it on your own.

CR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Your family sound very strange trying to convince you not to go!! How weird.

People used to say the same to me about the cinema - which is even weirder because you sit in silence, in the dark and watch a film - it's the most unsocial event there is! I go all the time by myself and much prefer it.

I've gone to a few gigs on my own. Bit nervous going in, but they were all standing, so that's a bit worse when you have to do the standing, finding a place on your own, waiting around for the band etc, but if you have a seat it would be no problem. Just walk in ten minutes before the start, sit down and away you go.

Anyway it isn't sad at all. I'm not a big fan of it because I am quite shy in situations like that - bizarrely though, if I was in a country other than Ireland it wouldn't bother me at all. I went to a gig in England once. Went over by myself to see my favourite band and it was honestly the best gig I have ever been to. Magical 2 hours. It was great not having to worry about anyone else.

What would be sad is missing something you really want to go to just because your family can't handle the idea of anyone being brave enough to do anything by themselves. Fair play to you, I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

You should definitly go! Like other posters said, you'll probably get to see alot more of the concert on your own then if you were with others who didn't really want to be there and were running in and out all night. Realistically it'll be 95% women (I'm sure there'll be a few reluctant partners dragged along) there and you'll get chatting to other fans on the way in and out and those sitting around you as well. Hope you have a great time!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

I don't see any problem in going by yourself. I've been to a few gigs before by myself and I've really enjoyed it. I've also gone to gigs and gotten separated from friends and had a great time. Going to gigs and the cinema by yourself sometimes means you don't have someone else ruining your enjoyment. Friends in a a mood or not getting into stuff can just ruin an otherwise enjoyable experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Sir Ophiuchus

Nothing wrong with it at all. Have fun!

Besides, you might meet a cute guy also into Michael Bublé. Hard to do that if you're already there with someone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Go of course go.How very odd of your family to tell you it's sad.I do things on my own all the time concerts,cinema,travelling sometimes other people get in the way so i say go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

my OH is going to machine head tonight by himself actually!! He does it all the time cause a lot of his friends and me are'nt really into all that heavy rock music. He has a great time by himself and ends up just talking to like minded randomers! It's all about the music aneways.
    Go and enjoy it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Cato2605

Hi OP,

Fair play to you. I did the exact same thing last year. Was for Tina Turner. I really wanted to go and could not get anyone to come with me and knew that it would not happen. So I just went ahead bought the ticket. To be honest was asking myself the same question was it sad going on my own and what would other people think. In the end I went and it was the best night ever. Got talking to some people sitting next to me who were as big as fans as I was and we had a total blast. Up dancing all night. At the start of the concert i was sitting there thinking what have i done but as soon as the concert started i forgot i was on my own and just got into it and had a blast. GO for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Social norms tell us there is something wrong with being different and many people buy into that. Having the bottle to go do things by yourself is not sad, what would be sad would be to miss out on the experiences you want in life because other people can't deal with your strength and independence!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

I agree with the rest of the posters - nothing at all wrong with going to a concert alone. I've gone to lots of concerts on my own, and always enjoyed them. You get to do what you like, you don't have to look after other people who mightn't like the band or singer you're seeing. Go, and enjoy yourself and ignore your family. I can't fathom their reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Lots go to gigs on their own and as for the smarty comments you get sock it to eemmm. :D

Ps no I'm not endorsing the use off violence.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,805 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

The only awkward part is at the start, but considering you have a seat, I doubt you'd be turning up a long time before it starts.

Otherwise go for it, I don't blame you, its not sad at all, you'll have loads of fun regardless, and if there are nice people sitting next to you, you'll end up making the same remarks to them (this is great, wow, etc) as you would if you went with someone, but you get to go without the worry of going with someone who constantly distracts you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Good on you OP. I don't see what the problem is. You're going to see an artist that you're a massive fan of and you've got a great seat. At most shows anyway nobody's going to take a blind bit of notice whether you're with someone or not. It's great that there are people out there who have the guts to go to things like this on their own and don't feel the need to drag along someone with them just because it's perceived to be the 'done thing'. Enjoy it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭harvardgal2

OP, absolutely nothing wrong with you going to the concert on your own. The people who are telling you it's sad are doing so because they lack your confidence. They wouldn't be able to go alone and are jealous of your ability to do so. If you wait around on other people you'll never do half the things you want in life. Your smart enough to have realised this. Ignore the comments, and look forward to the concert. You'll have a great time. Enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Up until a few years ago i would have thought it was sad and really losery to go alone. But I ended u missing so many decent gigs...in Oz I used to go to the movies alone (I had an odd taste in film and loved the foreign ones but no one would come!)..since then really I will if I want.
    Fair play OP.

...I'll go if you've a spare ticket tho...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Go and enjoy the gig !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭gavney1

nothing sad about this OP. I've done it before

Obviously, would rather go with someone.

It would be sadder to avoid doing something you might really enjoy cause you're embarrassed

Also, loads of people drag other people against their will to things they don't want to go to, just so they're not on their own - that's really annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

You are one million per cent in the right. Do you what you want. Screw anyone else.

• I think it's mean that not one of your friends or family would sit through a couple of hours of something that meant so much to you, but that's a separate issue.

I think it's fine to go to a concert on your own. It's better than dragging someone along who doesn't want to be there. I've never done it but I definitely would if I really wanted to see someone I liked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

the year was 2001. The place, Sydney Australia. The dilemma: a friend of mine offered me a ticket to go see AC/DC with him, except he was working and would just be able to meet me to give me my ticket and then I'd watch on my own.
    the result: One awesome gig that I wouldn't have missed for the world.
    Nobody even noticed I was on my own, and once the music started, neither did I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I can't add anything new here, so I just second what everyone else has said. :)

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I can't add anything new here, so I just second what everyone else has said. :)

Ditto. I've gona to many a concert on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I think the real issue here is why are your family so odd? ;)

Seriously though - Go. Enjoy.

You know you'll have one thing in common with the overwhelmingly majority of people there, you're all fans of the singer. What an easy conversation starter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

You should 200% go. You won't be there on your own you'll be there with loads of others with similar taste in music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭santana75

Absolutley you should go on your own OP. I cant believe your family's attitude, truly shocking and judgemental. In an ideal world we'd always have somebody to accompany us in the things we do like going to gigs, holidays, cinema, but its not an ideal world and sometimes theres nobody available. So then youre left with a choice: Go by yourself anyway and live your life regardless of what other people do. Or dont go and be at the mercy of the actions others.
    I know its scary the first time you do something like this on your own but its grand trust me. Its very liberating and that feeling of being able to do your own thing regardless of what anybody else is doing is an amazing feeling. A lot of people would give in to fear and not go just because theyre too afraid to do anything by themselves. That is no way to live, thats a life lived at the behest of others.
    Go, do your own thing, dont live your life at the mercy of the actions or inactions of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Go!

Missing a concert you really wanna see if always WAY worse than goin alone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

OP, I admire your confidence alot, have a great time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 LisaMe

When I lived in the city centre, once about 2 hours before a concert my brother rang me saying that he had 2 free tickets for a concert with an artist that I really wanted to go to. I texted everyone but nobody could go at the last minute so I just went on my own.

It can feel a bit awkward at the start but as someone else said, your friends could be in the smoking area or getting drunk at the bar.

The sad thing is not you- but the social norms that exist where people think that it's sad to go on our own.

I did a J1 on my own and thought it was ALOT more fun than a different year when I went with with friends. I was in the USA and could do whatever I wanted. I made tonnes more friends and if I wanted some space, I could have that too. I know that's different than going to a concert on your own but I'm just saying that everyone thought I was mad going to America on my own, but if you are the type of person who doesn't need a posse for confidence, you'll have ALOT of fun.

Enjoy the concert :-)

Thanks so much for the replies. There were all lovely. And there I was considering on selling on my ticket. I'll be going and I am looking forward to it. God, I love Michael Buble!
    ...I'll go if you've a spare ticket tho...:D
    I don't have a spare ticket.

Ok, I have a question for those that went to a concert on their own before. Do you how a concert would give you a natural high; what do ye do? Theres no way I would want to go back to an empty hotel room and sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭txt_mess

Your right going to a concert does get you in a great mood for going out but I would make sure the place your going to is going to offer the same taste of music for you .

A lot of venues will put on afterparties to draw in the crowd from the concert maybe there is one for this ? or search the gigs forum maybe there are suggestions in there for drinks afterwards.

Or as I have done before ( for other bands ) become a stalker for a night and camp out at his hotel he may play an inpromptu set in the lobby.

Go for it! If you took into consideration what people think all of the time you wouldn't experience half the things in life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

tbh wrote: »
    the year was 2001. The place, Sydney Australia. The dilemma: a friend of mine offered me a ticket to go see AC/DC with him, except he was working and would just be able to meet me to give me my ticket and then I'd watch on my own.
    the result: One awesome gig that I wouldn't have missed for the world.
    Nobody even noticed I was on my own, and once the music started, neither did I.

Fair play(i won 2 tickets to metallica in 2008 and i went with my day bit i got into the pit so that's kinda going to a gig myself) When your alone it can be more fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

If you want to go then go on your own! Why miss the chance to see Michael Buble and regret it.

Its not sad, its not like you dont have any friends or family to go with... you asked them, they said no, what more can you do?

Just go to it

txt_mess wrote: »
    Your right going to a concert does get you in a great mood for going out but I would make sure the place your going to is going to offer the same taste of music for you .

A lot of venues will put on afterparties to draw in the crowd from the concert maybe there is one for this ? or search the gigs forum maybe there are suggestions in there for drinks afterwards.

Thanks for this advice. Will go over to the gigs forum and have a look. Might even join his fan club to see will there be a meet up.
    txt_mess wrote: »
    Or as I have done before ( for other bands ) become a stalker for a night and camp out at his hotel he may play an inpromptu set in the lobby.

All I need to know now is what hotel he will be at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Your family's comments are based on concern over what others think - THAT is what's sad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Taz86

Just another voice here: GO! GO! GO! and have a fantastic night :D

I've been to a few gigs on my own. I most recently went to see Moz last November on my own. I have to admit I was feeling all nervous walking in alone and then lounging around on my own waiting for the gig to start but then I just thought 'no-one here pays my bills. why would I give a damn what anyone else thinks?!' and so I didn't and had a great night. I had no-one to embarrass (my dance moves are awful), was hoarse by the end of the night and I didn't have to listen to anyone piss and moan about how they didn't have a good night. It was great. I'm definitely going to more gigs and festivals on my own from now on.

Life is short. You like Buble then do not miss him just cos you don't know anyone else who likes him or people are saying you'll look sad. They're sad. If it's any consolation I get the same reaction from people when I say I'm going solo. I also get a kind of worried expression and people saying 'oh that's awful you went alone. you should have asked...' such and such a person. People, presumptions, and silly ideas. Just go and enjoy yerself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Definitely go! Seriously, when you are at a show, its all about the performance, not who is standing beside you. I've travelled to and attended concerts on my own in Netherlands, UK, Finland, USA. You'll get chatting to other people there, and trust me you will not feel alone.

I'll more than likely be going to a gig on my own in two weeks. I can already hear the taunts my friends will give, but it's an artist I will NEVER forgive myself for missing so I definitely think it will be worth it in the end. So I hope you do end up going!

The only thing I'm worried about is not being able to 100% enjoy myself with no one there to share it with. I'll probably just be standing in silence on my own the whole night ohh lawwwdy

QUOTE=milquetoast;64788304]I'll more than likely be going to a gig on my own in two weeks. I can already hear the taunts my friends will give, but it's an artist I will NEVER forgive myself for missing so I definitely think it will be worth it in the end. So I hope you do end up going!

The only thing I'm worried about is not being able to 100% enjoy myself with no one there to share it with. I'll probably just be standing in silence on my own the whole night ohh lawwwdy[/QUOTE]

I know, It seems very daunting so it does. I think I definately will be going. I love Mr.Buble far to much to miss him. I'm so looking forward to seeing him. I love his music. His voice is just amazing, and he is sex on legs. Thank you all for encouraging me to go on my own. I hope you enjoy yourself at the concert milquetoast. Let me know how you get on.

Taz86 wrote: »
    Just another voice here: GO! GO! GO! and have a fantastic night :D

I've been to a few gigs on my own. I most recently went to see Moz last November on my own. I have to admit I was feeling all nervous walking in alone and then lounging around on my own waiting for the gig to start but then I just thought 'no-one here pays my bills. why would I give a damn what anyone else thinks?!' and so I didn't and had a great night. I had no-one to embarrass (my dance moves are awful), was hoarse by the end of the night and I didn't have to listen to anyone piss and moan about how they didn't have a good night. It was great. I'm definitely going to more gigs and festivals on my own from now on.

Life is short. You like Buble then do not miss him just cos you don't know anyone else who likes him or people are saying you'll look sad. They're sad. If it's any consolation I get the same reaction from people when I say I'm going solo. I also get a kind of worried expression and people saying 'oh that's awful you went alone. you should have asked...' such and such a person. People, presumptions, and silly ideas. Just go and enjoy yerself :D

You're right about that Taz86 - If I had forced someone to come with me I probably would not enjoy the concert as much because more than likely that person would make sure to complain about having a crap night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Mrs.Buble wrote: »
    QUOTE=milquetoast;64788304]I'll more than likely be going to a gig on my own in two weeks. I can already hear the taunts my friends will give, but it's an artist I will NEVER forgive myself for missing so I definitely think it will be worth it in the end. So I hope you do end up going!

The only thing I'm worried about is not being able to 100% enjoy myself with no one there to share it with. I'll probably just be standing in silence on my own the whole night ohh lawwwdy

I know, It seems very daunting so it does. I think I definately will be going. I love Mr.Buble far to much to miss him. I'm so looking forward to seeing him. I love his music. His voice is just amazing, and he is sex on legs. Thank you all for encouraging me to go on my own. I hope you enjoy yourself at the concert milquetoast. Let me know how you get on.

You're right about that Taz86 - If I had forced someone to come with me I probably would not enjoy the concert as much because more than likely that person would make sure to complain about having a crap night.[/QUOTE]

Most of your friends are too insecure to go by themselves and have probably missed out on a lot of things over the years because they wouldn't go to them alone.

Go to the concert, you will enjoy it. I do lots of things on my own and it doesn't bother me. I do get strange looks from friends/work colleagues etc if they ask what I was doing at the weekend, and the next question is 'who did you go with?' and I say I went by myself. Many of these friends will say 'Oh, I'd have gone with you if I'd known' but past experience tells me they wouldn't.

For years I've wanted to go to Greenland on holiday just to see what it's like. Not a popular destination by any means. And I went there on my own in February and it was amazing. I got chatting to lots of other tourists for the few days I was there and made friends with a girl who I intend to stay in contact with. Now I could have waited and waited for someone to say they would go with me which would never have happened and I would never have got there or went alone - I'm so glad I did. Go to the concert, you will enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I've been in the same boat OP. There are certain bands and sports that I'm into that my friends basically aren't. It can be annoying at times as you can often think it would be nice to have someone to go with.

But then it dawned on me a long time ago that if I basically was going to wait until I had someone to go with to these events, I'd probably be waiting years, or possibly a lifetime to go. Suddenly it dawned on me that if I was going to wait, I could end up waiting forever and never go.

So recently I've went to various things by myself - concerts, sports events etc. It can be a slight bit daunting I suppose, but I think it would be worse if you were travelling overseas to something. If it's nearby or in a place you know well enough, it doesn't seem like that big of a deal.

I also realised there are benefits to going to things by myself. For one, I don't have to accomodate other people. I'm not sitting there wondering if they'll like the tickets. I'm not sitting waiting on them to show up or have them keeping me late, or hanging around after when I want to leave etc. When I go to things by myself, it's on my own schedule and on my own terms and that's quite enjoyable actually.

Also, there's a good chance there are people on boards.ie who are going so you could possibly meet up with them beforehand in the arena for a chat and drink etc. If it's entirely seated or whatever, there's probably a good chance you won't be able to spend the entire concert with them but it might be good to just meet up and chat beforehand or after or whatever.

I'm into Formula 1 myself and not many other people I know are. I'm going to a race in Belgium later this year by myself and no doubt, I'll be more than a bit nervous in the leadup. But I'm also a member of this McLaren fan club and I've got in touch with a few of the other members and it turns out one or two of them are going to the same race and have suggested meeting up when we are there. So there are other options to sort of avoid being there totally alone if you feel that's going to bother you.

Anyway, don't worry about it and enjoy the concert.

Op here - I had to drag up an old thread that I remember doing a few months ago. I went and it was the very best night of my life - thank you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Yay! Good stuff OP, glad to hear you'd a brill time!