Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Results from 1st weekend of Irish road season 2010

• 27-02-2010 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

Annaclone GP: 1st Thomas Martin Eurocycles 2nd Ryan Connor Usher 3rd Jonny Cole Madigan

Is Thomas Martin based here this year?

Good to see Ryan Connor back in action - didnt he have health problems last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Good to see Ryan Connor back in action - didnt he have health problems last year

what health problems were these?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

He has but in all fairness to him please leave it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Rob,

What's the hush hush - I nearly sure from what I recall if you go through the www.cyclingulster.com news sections from last year there's details on it.

Rob,

What's the hush hush - I nearly sure from what I recall if you go through the www.cyclingulster.com news sections from last year there's details on it.

I thought it would have been somewhere, so out with it or PM if you prefer.

me@ucd wrote: »
    I thought it would have been somewhere, so out with it or PM if you prefer.

I couldn't be arsed thrawling though the old news on that site to find it but if I recall correctly - he had fundraisers etc to raise money for a procedure on his heart!? - again I am open to correction.

yes I was arsed, but just long enough (and lucky enough) to stumble across the fund raisers, something about needing a loop something or other for his heart, as you said whats the hush hush :confused:

the guy was Ill, he got treatment, and he's back racing sounds like a story to share not keep hushed up :confused:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Philip Lavery won the Paddy Neary in Dundalk today.

Orwell's Martin Ridge won the A4 race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Lacey Cup, Tralee-80kms
    Details:

1 S. Lacey (The Edge Racing);
    2 P. Griffin (Earl of Desmond);
    3 S. Barrett (Planet x);
    4 B. Keane (Dublin Wheelers);
    5 M. O Reilly (The Edge Racing);
    6 D. Clifford (Killorglin Credit Union CC);
    7 M. Hennessy (Fermoy CC);
    8 M. O'Loughlin (Dan Morrissey Carrick Wheelers);
    9 V. Clare (West Clare CC);
    10 S. Clancy (Limerick CC);

1st Lady: S. Dervan.

140 competitors.
    Great race, really enjoyed it and got on well too which was nice! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

Great race, really enjoyed it and got on well too which was nice! ;)

Congrats Ballyhoura.Am i right in thinking that you ended up with a top in an open race, that is some going in your first year out of junior ranks.

cunavalos wrote: »
    Congrats Ballyhoura.Am i right in thinking that you ended up with a top in an open race, that is some going in your first year out of junior ranks.

Thanks but I am actually still in the Junior ranks which makes it even better! Haha :D

Some pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Thanks but I am actually still in the Junior ranks which makes it even better! Haha :D

Some pictures

Well done! Great result

me@ucd wrote: »
    yes I was arsed, but just long enough (and lucky enough) to stumble across the fund raisers, something about needing a loop something or other for his heart, as you said whats the hush hush :confused:

the guy was Ill, he got treatment, and he's back racing sounds like a story to share not keep hushed up :confused:

Ryan Connor's heart complaint mentioned here on CU website today:

http://www.cyclingulster.com/?thenewsid=3859&newstable=news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Well Done @Ballyhoura !!

Heh I love the pic of the sheep with the Garda outrider acting as shepard :D

Some pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Ryan Connor's heart complaint mentioned here on CU website today

LET IT GO!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭garminguy

who is yer man in the rock racing gear in pic number 4?

It is Jay/Jason Daly (originally from Mayo wheelers I think) but he's starting up a new 4 man team this year I think but I would say his kit and team bikes haven't arrived yet...some more pictures of the race here for anyone who is interested!

Apparently it's going to be a hit squad modelled on Rock Racing (without the drugs etc i assume) -called Blackthorn racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Well done Ballyhoura, I've been watching you from the time you joined the forum and your talent is as I expected, shining through ;)

sy wrote: »
    Well done Ballyhoura, I've been watching you from the time you joined the forum and your talent is as I expected, shining through ;)

ballyhoura are you racing in the cp cup his sunday?

garminguy wrote: »
    ballyhoura are you racing in the cp cup his sunday?

Yes, I will be there tomorrow please god. Just heading out for a quick spin now to stretch the legs! Best of luck guys, I might see some of ye there ;)

EDIT: I'm back from the cycle now, but I found out that the circuit will not be the same as last years race and it includes a bit of a drag this time! :)

anybody know where the start/finish of cycling pursuits cup is tomorrow?

Broadford Co.Limerick (not the one in Clare!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭jdt101

Yes, I will be there tomorrow please god. Just heading out for a quick spin now to stretch the legs! Best of luck guys, I might see some of ye there ;)

EDIT: I'm back from the cycle now, but I found out that the circuit will not be the same as last years race and it includes a bit of a drag this time! :)

Can you be more specific on "a bit of a drag"....

jdt

I was just talking to a guy who knows the route, and all he said is that instead of going through some tiny little town/village (apparently the only one but I can't remember it, maybe you do!) like last year, we swing a left up a "bit of a drag". Also, we will be actually coming into Broadford town and heading up left on the Dromcolliher road. Honestly, that is all I know and it will be my first time seeing the circuit too. Should be fun.

Oh and he is aiming to have sign-on between 12:00-12:30...best of luck guys!