Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spin Sunday 28th

• 27-02-2010 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭

Thinking I'm looking at a 3hr or so from the Phoenix park. Earlier the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

i'd be up for that, how hilly are you intending it to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

it would be fair to say not especially. Nursing myself back to fitness. Wouldn't say no to one decent climb if people are patient at the top ;)

I'm in, what time?

edit- and where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

I may join yis if I can drag myself outta bed

79 KM

Park, Clonee, Ratoath, Dunshaughlin, Batterstown, Maynooth (carton house) Dunboyne, N3, Park

Time?

how does 9 sound?

Grand for me anyway, where we meeting in the pheonix pk?

I'm coming from the city side, so much for muchness to me

me too...

I am coming from Nth County so will prob park @ Whitehall church and spin across to yis

Here?
    Feel free to suggest somewhere easier...

How about the turnstile at the Hole in the wall Pub?

Sounds good, is that here?

Almost but up a little bit further in front of the 'triangle'.

Great, see you there

cool. only the 3 of us......

May also tag along tomorrow if that's OK - will depend on what happens the rest of the evening. Pacewise, will this be a hammerfest or what?

Dónal wrote: »
    May also tag along tomorrow if that's OK - will depend on what happens the rest of the evening. Pacewise, will this be a hammerfest or what?

eh, no. Comfortable cruise at the pace of the slowest (me)

bcmf wrote: »
    Almost but up a little bit further in front of the 'triangle'.

at the Ashtown Road gate effectively?

I suppose it would be easier to meet at the Ashtown Gate right beside the entrance to The old Pheonix Park Racecourse.

uberwolf wrote: »
    eh, no. Comfortable cruise at the pace of the slowest (me)

Grand, that'd suit me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

In. 9am, Ashtown Gate it is.

70KM door to door for me. Decent pace. One week ban for Planet-X for questioning moderator navigational skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Saw Donal on his way to the park on the road on the South Circular road :) I waved. I was on my way to the Club spin, all dressed in black :)

75km + whatever my computer didnt record. good to get out and meet some boardsies

Can't remember if I waved Caroline, though I do remember thinking it might have been you but wasn't sure.

Good spin today. Apologies for upping the pace for a bit, just needed to kick it for a bit! Good amount of people out on the roads today.

No idea about kms or anything like that since I was computerless.

81.5km car door to car door for me.
    Nice spin.
    abcdgg's hope your bike is ok.......oh and you of course.
    Fair play to the motorist for stopping for you.
    Nice to put some faces to names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

There was at least a million people cycling around Howth and out from Sutton to Clontarf today.

The bike is fine, bit of a scoff on the brake lever and RD but other than that i can't see anything wrong with it.
    I'm grand too apart from the annoyance of going over, but sure it had to happen at some stage, was nice of that guy to stop alrite, if he's on here many thanks, things like this keep my belief in humanity alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Don't know if you guy's in north dublin had the wonderful weather today? fog, hailstones, nearly blizzard like snow down in wicklow/kildare sort of way

Not even close, worst i can say is a bit of light fog. Also it was a bit chilly but grand when we were under way.

Glad we went up north after hearing this, even if the route was a bit haphazard

Don't know if you guy's in north dublin had the wonderful weather today? fog, hailstones, nearly blizzard like snow down in wicklow/kildare sort of way
    :eek::eek:
    Was fairly chilly my toes will testify to that.Some patches of freezing fog some patches of frost but dry

ah, lucky sods!

uberwolf wrote: »
    70KM door to door for me. Decent pace. One week ban for Planet-X for questioning moderator navigational skills

How lost you get? if its any consolation i rarely knew where i was for any of todays spin, if i had been dropped i'd have been screwed! ... it involved several flash backs of Blorg 'its not that far' spins ;)

wasnt so much lost. more a case of a road being closed then a bit of improvising (and some us missing turns)

Blorg 'its not that far' spins ;)

That sounds terrifying!

abcdggs wrote: »
    That sounds terrifying!

it generally seems to fall under the X hours later and think 'i should have known better'...eventually get home and am happy that got the push to do the extra distance/hills...