Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rás UCD

• 25-02-2010 4:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭

Little short notice but UCD are hosting a 5k race for anyone who interested on the 27th of Mar.

Details can be found here and if any questions i will do my best to answer (for the record i am not the one organising the race :p)

http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

ecoli wrote: »
    Little short notice but UCD are hosting a 5k race for anyone who interested on the 27th of Mar.

Details can be found here and if any questions i will do my best to answer (for the record i am not the one organising the race :p)

good man ecoli, was looking for a 5k around then, that i ll do nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Fiver for UCD students? I'm in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

where is the "beautiful UCD campus" they are talking about. Surely it's not Belfield :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

where is the "beautiful UCD campus" they are talking about. Surely it's not Belfield :D

I dunno, there's a lot to be said for a few cans at the secret lake on a hot sunny day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

Nice and local for me but just looked at the course - is the course not very narrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Nice and local for me but just looked at the course - is the course not very narrow?

As far as i know it does narrow but i think the organisers are working it so that the start will be wide enough and by the time it narrows to road width so this will not be a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Just registered online – I really wanted to tick the ‘Dr.’ title box! Do you just pay on the day for this? I wasn’t asked for any payment details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Just wondering, before I suggest this one to some of my clubmates, does this race have a permit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Will be avoiding this one.
    Won't be accurately timed and it's three laps of a short circuit, doubtful it's accurately measured either.
    Bit steep to ask for €15 from people considering the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Won't be accurately timed and it's three laps of a short circuit, doubtful it's accurately measured either.

What are you basing this on? Why do you say it won't be accurately timed or measured?

Was speaking to someone handing out flyers for it after the St. Patricks 5k in town last sunday.
    Was flustered to say the least when I questioned him about timing and accuracy of the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Some bloke handing out flyers may not know all the details.

The site says there's electronic timing for all athletes, which I presume means chips.

RayCun wrote: »
    Some bloke handing out flyers may not know all the details.

The site says there's electronic timing for all athletes, which I presume means chips.

Thats the first question I asked him, he said there wouldn't be, but as you saiy he may not have known.
    I don't have a problem with organizers not having electronic timing but a lot of other runs which aim to attract upwards or 800/1000 people have the option these days.

Hi ecoli - just wondering if you had anymore information on this race? Really just want to figure out the exact route - is it all on the road? I can't really see from the mapmyrun map. And do you know what the story is with timing? Website doens't seem to have much info. Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

With the really good road race-The Dunboyne 4m the day after can we get some technical info on this race before we make a decision on which race to do.

Is it measured correctly at 5k?
    Is it on open road?
    What is the prize structure-top 10 etc? 1500e prize fund is a bit wishy-washy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

Just entered. I'd probably be up there training so thought i might as well race.
    My first road race ever :eek:

Looks like its 3 one mile (and a bit) laps on a fast course. No hills worth talking about.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/edit_route?r=190126461769446622
    If my map reading skills are correct then its all on roads except from B to A which is a path/cylce lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

The thing I immediately notice about that course is that there seems to be a lot of very sharp turns, specifically a point B, C, E, G and I. Considering we have to repeat the lap x 3 that is 15 sharp turns in a 5k circuit. Point G looks particularly tight (about a 270 degree turn) can someone tell us more about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

menoscemo wrote: »
    The thing I immediately notice about that course is that there seems to be a lot of very sharp turns, specifically a point B, C, E, G and I. Considering we have to repeat the lap x 3 that is 15 sharp turns in a 5k circuit. Point G looks particularly tight (about a 270 degree turn) can someone tell us more about this?

I train a lot around there and I think that the turn at point G is the road up towards the observatory? If so, I'd usually meet that coming the other way on the main road but I think it should be ok for the race.

Is there any info on the numbers doing this race? A lot of the course seems to be on the pathways & trails; they're a nice surface to run on but are not very wide...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I've entered for this. It will be my first race as well!!! ..And my first time running 5K! :eek:

macinalli wrote: »
    I train a lot around there and I think that the turn at point G is the road up towards the observatory? If so, I'd usually meet that coming the other way on the main road but I think it should be ok for the race.

Is there any info on the numbers doing this race? A lot of the course seems to be on the pathways & trails; they're a nice surface to run on but are not very wide...

Pathways and trails is sounding a bit "amateur and slow time-ish for my liking"

I think I'll do a lap on monday after speedwork on the track and report back. I don't see there being too big a problem with the trails as long as the field has thinned before hitting them (and I don't think the field will be too big).

menoscemo wrote: »
    I think I'll do a lap on monday after speedwork on the track and report back. I don't see there being too big a problem with the trails as long as the field has thinned before hitting them (and I don't think the field will be too big).

yeah post something here about it so:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

ucdras.jpg

Hope that picture works^^^^
    The trails run along side the road so should be plenty of room for everyone :)

The turn at G looks worse than it actually is. Unless you're going world record pace you shouldbe grand.

Jinka sounds like you're looking for 5k downhill on a straight road. Its not a real race if it doesn't have a few twists and turns!

VR46 wrote: »
    ucdras.jpg

Hope that picture works^^^^
    The trails run along side the road so should be plenty of room for everyone :)

The turn at G looks worse than it actually is. Unless you're going world record pace you shouldbe grand.

Jinka sounds like you're looking for 5k downhill on a straight road. Its not a real race if it doesn't have a few twists and turns!

Good image there.
    No never mentioned anything about turns. Just not a fan of pathways and trails mixed in with a road race. If I want a downhill 5k I'll pop down to rathdrum 5k:)

http://www.mapmyrun.com/run/ireland/-ucd/830126910946552617

Did a lap of the course today. Doesn't seem too bad. Assuming the course is clockwise (it was mapped as anti-clockwise before) it looks like it starts on the main road which is pretty wide. The first turn (formerly known as point G) is about 300m in so the field should be thin enough by then to make the turn comortable. There is a decent tarmac road as well as trails round the back of the observatory so that should be fine. The paths running paralell to Wynnsward Dr are plenty wide (much wider than the paths used in Phoenix park for the Adidas Half Marathon). My only doubts are that that the 100m or so strech from the back of the Pitches to the paths along wynnsward Dr is very uneven. I am also unsure where we cross from the paths to the road near the start line at the end of each lap, but other than that it should be a decent fast lap. I would have to assume the course is accurately measured and will be well marked/marshalled as there will be plenty of opportunities for people to take shortcuts and cut corners if not.

Overall a thumbs up assuming the race is well run.

Sounds good-thanks for posting this-:)

Hey Guys
    Sorry havent been around to respond i have been away. Like i said dont really have an involvement with it just came across it in college. As far as i know the prize fund has been increased slightly and as for timing etc i not hundred per cent certain to be honest. Do a few of my training runs there and mostly on roads which run along side trails so large enough and the turns arent too bad. As far as i know you pay on the day when collecting the number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭actwithoutwords

So what did people think? Lack of chip timing was a disappointment, though really should have expected that. Serious lack of prominent mile/km markers as well, that was quite annoying. The course seemed fine in general, though that one turn was a bit tight, particularly as the turn was on a sudden upward slope. Lovely day, and good fun. The food provided afterwards was a nice touch, and it seemed to be relatively well organised apart from the previously mentioned issues.
    20.17 on my watch here, which I was absolutely delighted with. *waits for someone to declare that the course was short* Particularly given that I went out stupidly hard on the first lap. Definitely glad I did it. Should definitely do more races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I thought it was great!

My first 5k and my first race. Came in at 31.30. I just can't believe i actually ran 5k!!!

I thought it was well run but then I've nothing to compare to!

Loved the sambos at the end as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Good race managed to shade the 25 min mark so slight improvement on my first 5k race two weeks ago so happy days there.

Not sure about laps though, while fine for likes of me, it was definitely tough on the elite runners who were trying to negioate traffic on their third lap whilst the likes of me were only finishing their second.

Anyhow onwards and upwards roll on the Great Ireland run now.

Good race managed to shade the 25 min mark so slight improvement on my first 5k race two weeks ago so happy days there.

Not sure about laps though, while fine for likes of me, it was definitely tough on the elite runners who were trying to negioate traffic on their third lap whilst the likes of me were only finishing their second.

Anyhow onwards and upwards roll on the Great Ireland run now.

I think being the first year there was a bit of difficulty in getting the roads closed etc and that was why there laps were introduced but i feel that the race has potential and will be able to work out the kinks and now that they have had a relatively successful race the can use that as leverage in future years to gain more assistance from the college in terms of availabilty of more of the campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭RunningFlyer

I thought it was a good race, although it was my first one so cant comment compared to other races. I arrived early at about 9.30am but had to wait about 20mins before they opened the doors for registration which was a bit annoying considering the email said it would open at 0930am. Other than that I had no major qualms.. I agree with The Wexican about the traffic though... maybe next time they can suggest the slower paced runners stick to one side of the track to leave a clear opening to overtake. But its the 1st year of this so overall I think the organisers did a great job!
    20.17 on my watch here, which I was absolutely delighted with.

Ha, I may have been directly behind you on the final straight; my finish time was 20:19 (running off the race-clock)! :) Also delighted but likewise hope no-one says it was shorter course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭actwithoutwords

Ha, I may have been directly behind you on the final straight; my finish time was 20:19 (running off the race-clock)! :) Also delighted but likewise hope no-one says it was shorter course :D

If it was 20.19 on the race clock you were a few seconds ahead of me. I started my watch as I crossed the start line, rather than when the gun went off. You must have been one of those guys I was desperately trying to catch up with for the last lap.

I thought it was a good race, but found the start a bit chaotic. This seems to be the norm though for shorter races where people just pile in everywhere at the start. I thought the course was fine but a few small changes could make a difference (e.g. people calling times at the km or mile markers).

All in all, thumbs up to the organisers for a good 1st effort and hopefully this will become an annual event in the calendar.

I thought it was a great race. Well organised and good atmosphere. Fantastic work on the refreshments too!! Particularly given that it was the first year. And lovely weather which was an added bonus that the organisers should take credit for! Thought I was going for a sub25 but got a bad stitch :mad: Managed 25.30 though so I suppose I can't complain!! Defo worth staying in last night and getting out of bed for this morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

So what did people think? Lack of chip timing was a disappointment, though really should have expected that. Serious lack of prominent mile/km markers as well, that was quite annoying.

From what I saw there today everything seemed to be well run. Every race doesn't need to have chip timing - everyone crossed the line within a few seconds and provided the time keepers are doing their job at the end of the race there shouldn't be a problem with results. Personally, I find with races that are laps you don't really need that many markings (I did see one and two mile marks). You have 3 laps, do one and you have the same to go twice. No real need for mile markings in my opinion. I do understand that people are conscious of their splits and therefore like to know exactly what they're doing. I'm just not interested in that!

I think this photo from the race is hilarious.

4466993957_a98eb59f19.jpg

I've more photos (but not as funny) from the Rás here

Anybody know if there is results available for this yet? First race of the year - broke the 20min mark so happy with that as it took a bit of thinking about leaving the leaba this morning!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭RunningFlyer

I've more photos (but not as funny) from the Rás here

Some good photos there.. you managed to capture me in one or two! :D I agree those lads with the full suits were a good laugh! Keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Took Part in the race on Saturday, found it the toughest of the three 5ks I've done, but on the upside I ran the fastest time, I think about 26 30. I have to say the atmosphere on the day was great and I owe my race time to a lovely girl running near me who encouraged me on when I was faltering (twice). :)

emmmm - anybody have any results for this yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭t4k30

Pity there isn't a sprint race involved !