Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tanaiste Mary Coughlan Plays The Gender Card

• 25-02-2010 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

More Dail shenanigans.

Earlier, Mary Coughlan played The Gender Card when she called comments from Charlie Flanagan "condescending and sexist" after he implied she wasn't up for the job of the Company Law Consolidation Bill with the comment " it's too big for ya".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Blah blah blah Mary Longcock blah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

She obviously isn't if that's her comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

condescending ... yes
    sexist ... no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Is it cos I has a fanny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

She can't do her job, because she's **** at it. What has she actually done? Stand aside and let someone else have a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Gender is fecking irrelevant, she is one of the most useless and incapable ministers and deserves to stripped of her title as soon as possible.

I'd love to punch her in the gee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Silly bint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd love to punch her in the gee balls.

Post censored for sexism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Wait, Mary Coughlan is a woman?

stovelid wrote: »
    Wait, Mary Coughlan is a woman?

I believe that she's supposed to be the female of her particular species, but I doubt that they call them women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

OutlawPete wrote: »
    More Dail shenanigans.

Earlier, Mary Coughlan played The Gender Card when she called comments from Charlie Flanagan "condescending and sexist" after he implied she wasn't up for the job of the Company Law Consolidation Bill with the comment " it's too big for ya".

I wish to God she would **** off right now. She is an absolute waste of time and fresh air.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Let us never forget that Mary Coughlan failed to secure an easy 500 jobs for Ireland.

O'Leary: "I can creae 500 jobs for Ireland if you give me that hanger and if I dont have to deal with the DAA. Should be an easy thing to do. Are you up for creating 500 jobs?"

Mary: "No thanks"

The Irish nation: "WTF?"

Nothing to do with her being a woman, everything to do with her being an awful policitian and Tanaiste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Apart from Coughlan's idiotic "waaaa" comment, can Seamus Kirk not keep any order whatever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Rabies wrote: »
    right ... yes
    sexist ... no
    fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If i had a gender card, id stay home and play with it all day

Perhaps she'll be shuffled out sometime very soon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

ejmaztec wrote: »

yep, but hopefully cowen doesn't die in the meantime, because that means she ends up as taoiseach!

That sounds vaguely sexual! I was locked last night, guess what happened...... shuffled out mary coughlan!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

He was being donegalist........ auch aaayyee!!!

That sounds vaguely sexual! I was locked last night, guess what happened...... shuffled out mary coughlan!:D

Only to a pervert.:eek:

genericguy wrote: »
    yep, but hopefully cowen doesn't die in the meantime, because that means she ends up as taoiseach!

Are they still having trouble finding volunteers for the Brian Cowen lookalikes team?

Only to a pervert.:eek:

Point taken.
    Ill go get confession;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Mary, O Mary, whats the point of it all! God, she is just so useless, watching her general Performances in the Dail just makes me cringe. It will be interesting to see if Cowan shuffles her. How did she ever get such a prominent position, it wouldn't be so bad if she was on the back benches, i could tolerate a little more, but not much. Bring Back Mary O Rourke I say, no fear of sexist comments here i suspect.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

How did this woman ever manager to secure the job of Tanaiste. Whats happened with Ryanair is a debacle. 500 people would have been taken off the dole if she had made a proper effort to sort this problem out. These jobs were not just Dublin jobs but these 500 people would have come from all over the countlry. What a shambles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

How that womanperson got into politics is a mystery.

She should go back to doing the voiceover for Charlie Brown's teacher - she was good at that.

How did this woman ever manager to secure the job of Tanaiste. Whats happened with Ryanair is a debacle. 500 people would have been taken off the dole if she had made a proper effort to sort this problem out. These jobs were not just Dublin jobs but these 500 people would have come from all over the countlry. What a shambles.

As much as i dislike her, Michael O Leary has been acting the Maggot, these Jobs were never going to happen and even if they were, i doubt the SRT workers would have had a fraction of the terms and conditions they once had. O Leary found a weak spot (Namely good old Mary) and went on yet another publicity stunt.

Hate to be cynical about this but i just can't see Ryanair willingly creating 300 Jobs with no catch. I actually think O Leary is fantastic but on this occasion i feel he played on the hopes of all those who lost their Jobs at SRT

Point taken.
    Ill go get confession;)

If you confess that to a priest, he'll say "me too" and reach for the holy vaseline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Dempo1 wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see if Cowan shuffles her. How did she ever get such a prominent position, it wouldn't be so bad if she was on the back benches, i could tolerate a little more, but not much.

I fear Biffo may consider himself as losing face if he does shuffle her (as the opposition and the entire country has been calling out for it). And, by all accounts, she got that position because of being a buddy of Biffo not through ability.

Hopefully she goes but the depths of stupidity displayed by this government it wouldn't surprise me if she doesnt :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

How long before someone plays the Sniper card on her?

Fair Point about Biffo (He's actually my Local TD, what a thought?)

Yes, i agree he will probably be anxious to save face, good knows he has a big enough one! LOL:D

All in all, its a mess from Dempsey, Ahearn and Smug Cullen, Cowan has plenty to choose from in a reshuffle me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Dopey

I hate to spread rumours but a friend of a friend saw Mary and Brian Cowen dirty dancing at the Fianna Fail Christmas party in 1996.

Mary AKA "The Cock" could have some dirt on him.

Dopey wrote: »
    I hate to spread rumours but a friend of a friend saw Mary and Brian Cowen dirty dancing at the Fianna Fail Christmas party in 1996.

Mary AKA "The Cock" could have some dirt on him.

YUCK, perish the thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

i'll play the nepotism card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Dopey wrote: »

I'd say it's been longer than 14 years since that fat useless pindick fúck could do the dirty dance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

sceptre wrote: »
    Apart from Coughlan's idiotic "waaaa" comment, can Seamus Kirk not keep any order whatever?

Well, he couldn't hear anything over the sound of how awesome he is...

Proof...

As for mary, would she just hurry up and die or something...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

I believe that she's supposed to be the female of her particular species, but I doubt that they call them women.

Well....That's what they call them in Donegal...I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Oh Mary,

Why dont you have some sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Oh Mary,

Why dont you have some sense

I'd have thought the next line might be more appropriate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

there all politicians.. poli= greek word for many.... tics= greek word for bloodsuckers so.................

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

She's not the brightest yoke in Dail. I bet she could burn water!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

"Dell are going to move their Irish factories to Poland Mary. Shouldn't we be talking to Michael Dell?"

"Already have. I had a jolly in Texas and put a few f**ks into him but he had a hissy fit and moved them anyway. It's all part of the government's strategy to deliver a high-tech economy."

"Ryanair want to create 300 jobs. Aerlingus are looking for 1,000 redundancies. What should we do Mary?"

"Tell Ryanair to f**k off. We are shareholders in Aerfungus!"

"Kraft have taken over Cadbury and transferred some of their UK operations to Poland in spite of the UK trade minister trying to talk them out of it. Shouldn't we be talking to Kraft Mary?"

"Nah. Chocolate making in Ireland is not sustainable anyway. Tell 'em to f**k off to Poland!"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

4 politicans gone in around a month! Should she go next!

Anyone see her dribbling performance on Prime time tonight, this women really needs to be sent away, its hard to believe this is what 400,000 unemployed people have to depend on for motivation. She seems to be getting worse by the minute, she also claimed on the BBC last week young people emigrated from Ireland "To have some fun", extraordinary and not a mention of the thousands forced to emigrate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Are we 100% on the subject of Mary Coughlan actually being a woman? :pac: