Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people do this?

• 25-02-2010 8:47am

When I say I have no money, it means just that.. It means I don't have savings, parents or anything else to go on and it normally happens in the last week of the month..
    Then there's the people who say 'sure i've only got twenty euro for the next two weeks' and then go buy new jeans or a shirt or an ipod the same day..

It used to happen alot durin college when there were a few of us completely broke nd another one or two wud come out nd say the same.. Almost just ta fit in.
    Wrecks my head for some reason..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because they are idiots, that's why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭nodgienodge

I suggest you get new parents :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Yeah, I've come across this attitude before, although to be fair, most of the time they WERE broke and were using a credit card to buy unnecessary stuff.

We seem to have come full circle from the tiger days when it was a competition to prove how well off you were, now it's a competition to see who's the worst off.

but seriously, do the people who ASK for the money not deserve this kind of dishonest response? If I was more honest with tramps and bums I'd probably be in a wheelchair thats why...

edit: I actually stopped mid-sentence.

that's why I just ignore them, but do make eye-contact. this freaks them out. Hope I never end up on the streets though. PS. theres a Romanian guy who begs on camden street (he has a huge bushy handlebar moustache) and if you see him today do me a favor and kick him. (sorry I mean kick his money cup over gently). This guy probably makes more money than people working in the local centra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

I think it is all a bit of one-up-man-ship. That everyone has it better/worse than you depending on the circumstance.

Typical exchange:

- I'm broke till the end of the month.
    - I've been broke for so long I can't even remember what money looks like.

This the kind of shít you're talking about?

Yeah, that's annoying alright.

I think it is all a bit of one-up-man-ship. That everyone has it better/worse than you depending on the circumstance.

Typical exchange:

- I'm broke till the end of the month.
    - I've been broke for so long I can't even remember what money looks like.

This the kind of shít you're talking about?

Yeah, that's annoying alright.

Exactly what I'm on about.. The same happened when we got overdrafts and loans in college. One of the lads claims he paid for most of college on a massive loan.. Needless to say, the figure changed when he was drunk, his parents are minted and not one person believes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Agree. This sh1t really bugs me when i let it.
    When i say im broke... I am. Typical conversation:

A: Jaysus I am skint
    B: Ya i know the feeling
    A: I hope i find a fiver in some jeans pocket or the bottom of my bag. Must check around the couch!
    B: Oh ya, I have so many bills. You wanna go out this weekend?

A: (in head) Are you ****ting me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Some human beings are LIARS...

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Some human beings are LIARS...

Thats a lie. ALL of them are liars. Students ought to quit bitching. I lived with this guy (a student) who had the cheek to ask me could he use my phone because he had no credit. I was like; But that phone has my credit in it (in my head) so I LIED and said: sorry I've no credit,man.

He's since not bothered me financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 TheBig2010

Thats a lie. ALL of them are liars. Students ought to quit bitching. I lived with this guy (a student) who had the cheek to ask me could he use my phone because he had no credit. I was like; But that phone has my credit in it (in my head) so I LIED and said: sorry I've no credit,man.

He's since not bothered me financially.
    Honestly, that's too far...what if it had been just a 2 second call to his parents? You could have said you only had a small bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

When I say I have no money, it means just that.. It means I don't have savings, parents or anything else to go on and it normally happens in the last week of the month..
    Then there's the people who say 'sure i've only got twenty euro for the next two weeks' and then go buy new jeans or a shirt or an ipod the same day..

****in' scrounger.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    ****in' scrounger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

If my friends ask me on a night out and I say I'm broke, I mean that I have no money available to me ie. in my current account. I do put money into a savings account every week so I have money there but it's not easily accessible and I don't want to take money out of it willy nilly. So when I'm broke, I do actually have money somewhere, just not money I want to spend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It's as bad when some friends insist you come for a pint, despite repeatedly telling them you've got no money. "Ah come on, come in to town for a few." No, I'm broke. "Ah come on now, don't be like that." Are you guys going to pay for all my drinks for the night, for some chips afterwards, and pay for my taxi? No? Thought not. Stop asking me to come out, I've got no money.

Some people just don't seem to grasp the concept of broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Because they are idiots, that's why.

This should really be the auto-reply to pretty much every question asked in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

PS. theres a Romanian guy who begs on camden street (he has a huge bushy handlebar moustache) and if you see him today do me a favor and kick him. (sorry I mean kick his money cup over gently). This guy probably makes more money than people working in the local centra

Second.

He's there every day, I can see him right now, between the coffee shop and the phone booth, if you try and sit outside the coffee shop he looks at you.

There are at least 3 other Roma blokes begging along the Grand Canal between Leeson Street Bridge and Camden Street, clearly they're some sort of a gang.

We'er going to hell in a handbasket!

If my friends ask me on a night out and I say I'm broke, I mean that I have no money available to me ie. in my current account. I do put money into a savings account every week so I have money there but it's not easily accessible and I don't want to take money out of it willy nilly. So when I'm broke, I do actually have money somewhere, just not money I want to spend.

Well that's grand.. but if you made a point of going on and on about how broke you were like it's a competition, while having savings, it'd piss me off.

I have some money put away that I just pretend I don't have. So yes, I say i'm broke at the end of the month when I run low on funds in my current account. I couldn't even access the savings if I wanted to as they are in an account with a set time frame which cannot be accessed more than once per year or even less I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭candlegrease

When I say I have no money, it just means I have none I want to spend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It used to happen alot durin college when there were a few of us completely broke nd another one or two wud come out nd say the same.. Almost just ta fit in.
    Wrecks my head for some reason..

It's probably because there is very little advantage in letting people know you have money stashed away somewhere. Better to just let all and sundry believe you are barely scraping by whilst in fact you are quite comfortable. As I say there is very little advantage in advertising this information and many more disadvantages , especially when it comes to "friends".

Same reason you say "no" when some bum asks you "have you got spare change?". Of course you have it, you just realise there is absolutely no advantage to you in letting him know that.

Glenster wrote: »
    Second.

He's there every day, I can see him right now, between the coffee shop and the phone booth, if you try and sit outside the coffee shop he looks at you.

There are at least 3 other Roma blokes begging along the Grand Canal between Leeson Street Bridge and Camden Street, clearly they're some sort of a gang.

We'er going to hell in a handbasket!

Well said mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I agree, I don't get people who do this

I heard someone quoting Charlie McCreevy on the radio yesterday: "If I have it, I spend it, if I don't, I don't"

That's generally the principle I follow, though obviously loans are necessary for some things (eg. a house), they usually aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think this mostly relates to going drinking / having the wherewithall to go drinking. In this case its easily explained. For most Irish people, theres broke and then theres really broke! The former implies that you havent much money, but sure, theres always afew quid for a session. The latter implies the person is actually destitute! The former is used ALOT more than the latter obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Lol,think I should show this thread to my mate.

Me " Nah cant go out for a pint,have barely two pennies to rub together"

Him " I haven't even got two pennies to rub together!"

Then how the hell can you go out for pints!

Gillington wrote: »

Then how the hell can you go out for pints!

You could sell your body in the Phoenix Park :P

Who knows you may even get some free pints there aswell ;)

TheBig2010 wrote: »
    Honestly, that's too far...what if it had been just a 2 second call to his parents? You could have said you only had a small bit...

Well my point is the way he asked me... like he had a god-given right just cos he knew I had a few bob... But I haven't been a student in a few years so I guess I kinda forgot what it was like to be constantly skinned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Yeah I know the feeling.

But what gets me is people who are broke but still try to put on a big front of show to everyone....

Sad sad individuals.

It's like taking drugs, you are on a high from spending, getting new whatever, living it up.

It's good when you know when to stop taking drugs to avoid a massive comedown, mental breakdown etc.

The drug dealer comes for his money eventually, same goes for Visa etc.

Live within your means :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

OP what would you prefer them to say:

OP: Man I am skint.
    OP's Mate: Are you? God. I'm loaded. I have money coming out my ears. What time is it? Uh, jolly hockey sticks! Better be off I'm getting a pair of diamond encrusted ivory shoes fitted on Savile Row. Ta-ta!
    OP: (falls down) Why do people do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

Ditto I'm the same as you. I tend to put money away for upcoming bills even if they are some time off.

It does my friend's head in because I rarely go out. There's the usual response of we can have a cheap night out etc... but rarely does a cheap night happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

I can either pay my rent.. or.........go out.... ooo tough call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

I hate people who lie about not having money when they really do, who cares if you have money its not something to be ashamed of. Good example is a friend I have who always says he has no money and no job and needs to stay tight, and then I find out he got 5 grand off his parents and still talks about not having money I really hate that. :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

but seriously, do the people who ASK for the money not deserve this kind of dishonest response? If I was more honest with tramps and bums I'd probably be in a wheelchair thats why...

edit: I actually stopped mid-sentence.

that's why I just ignore them, but do make eye-contact. this freaks them out. Hope I never end up on the streets though. PS. theres a Romanian guy who begs on camden street (he has a huge bushy handlebar moustache) and if you see him today do me a favor and kick him. (sorry I mean kick his money cup over gently). This guy probably makes more money than people working in the local centra

I know the chap your on about,does he sit at the phone box opposite ulsterbank,? He is one greasy little ****

yeah, but the Dublin ones are cheeky ****ers too. I don't give any of them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Man I thought they were given out free money, damn, ive been robbin them fukers for years. Thought they were a good idea when ya needed a pan o bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

So it's true then that there is no money to be made in Ads by Google?