Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adare 10k

• 24-02-2010 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭

Anyone got any idea how much the Adare 10k is??
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RunToFart

A bargain at €10. Hopefully there will be a good crowd as its a good course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

I'll be there too. It will be my third time. I came 5th last the first time I ran it but was happy to have ran the whole race. Last year I was injured so walked it. At the finishing line there was a steward taking down numbers for the results. As I got to the end, when he saw my number he actually pushed me out of the way and said 'Oh you're just a walker':eek: I was raging as it was an achievement for me to finish the race after months of injury. Swore I would never go back. However it was just one rude guy and it is a very well organised race so Im back this year with the runners:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Bally8 wrote: »
    As I got to the end, when he saw my number he actually pushed me out of the way and said 'Oh you're just a walker':eek: I was raging as it was an achievement for me to finish the race after months of injury. Swore I would never go back. However it was just one rude guy and it is a very well organised race so Im back this year with the runners:D

Feck sake!! that is unreal! And even if you were a walker you wouldnt have been "just a walker". Fair play to everyone who takes part.
    Sure given your training since this time last year you'll probably finish 5th!

Wouldn't mind having a go at it, all depends on how I am post Viva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Will be making my season debut in Adare - ran it last year and from memory the route is grand with a nice gradual downhill in the last 1k or so. Decent cake and tea after it too :pac:

Half-tempted to do the Castleconnell 10k this weekend too, but need to get a long-very-slow run in.

Finally back running today after 2 weeks out. Slow and sluggish but looking forward to Adare tomorrow. How many boardsies will be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭kevin7

Bally8 wrote: »
    Finally back running today after 2 weeks out. Slow and sluggish but looking forward to Adare tomorrow. How many boardsies will be there?

Yeah I'm planning on being there. Good crowd and good race last year. Hoping for same again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭pudgeydev

What did you all make of it? Enjoyable course, lots of hills for the first 3 miles! The water stop was a bit dodgy though, and no water at the end! I think there was water there for the faster folk but my time was 56mins and everything was gone at that stage.
    Lovely day and enjoyable route all the same.

Very enjoyable day. The weather was fantastic. I agree about the hills, they were tough. By the time I got to the water (maybe 7 or 8 mins after you I reckon) all that was left was some cups that they had picked up from the road and tried to fill from a bucket. One guy got a lump of mud in his. There was a hole in the bottom of my cup and I didnt manage to get a sip before it all came out the end:D. It didnt bother me though as it wasnt really necessary in a 10k. The traffic was the only real annoyance for me. I thought it was very dangerous at times. Apart for that it was a very enjoyable day. I will be back again next year.