Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chris O'Brien Shamrock Express - all board!!!

• 24-02-2010 10:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

Was in the gym with the Shamrock Express last night and this Sheriff Street Dubliner is eager to hunt down a fight with Stephan Haughian for the Irish welterweight title.

I will be with him for his fight this weekend in Blackpool so will have more then! Also on the card is a young fella called Kieran Farrell whos parents are from Louth - Dunleer I think and he is looking to fight Luke Wilton for the Irish super flyweight title which has never been fought for. Enjoy!

http://boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=451001&cat=boxer

4382631803_ee540fe6cc.jpg4382632331_df7062f44b.jpg

4383391834_77b1984a91.jpg4382997669_51857dd173.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

T-K-O wrote: »

You've obviously never seen Warburton fight. His record doesnt tell the whole story.

Lancashire born Dubliner Chris O’Brien talks to irish-boxing.com prior to his Saturday, February 27 showdown with Jason Nesbitt and outlines his ambitions for an Irish title fight. O’Brien faces the battle hardened Brummie Nesbitt at the Blackpool Tower, which is the home of British ballroom dancing, but ‘the Sheriff’ is hoping that the footwork which sparring partner Kenny Anderson has been helping him improve upon at Kevin Maree’s Stirk House Hotel Gym will be the telling factor in his fight on the undercard of the Brian Rose-Bertrand Aloa bout for the vacant British International Masters light-middleweight title. Nesbitt recently dropped to a points defeat against Manchester Irish fighter Kieran Maher and fought the Joe Gallagher trained Anthony Crolla at the Fenton Manor in Stoke. Crolla subsequently informed O’Brien about what he should expect from the evergreen journeyman who, despite his many losses, has only been stopped once in over 50 fights. Million Dolla Crolla reported that, “Nesbitt will come out head hunting early on, looking to land big overhand rights but apart from that he is not a bad boxer and makes you work. You just need to keep the pressure on him and you should do the business.” Whilst O’Brien isn’t looking past Nesbitt he does have an immediate aspiration burning in the back of his mind. “My goal is to box for the Irish title, if it is against (Stephen) Haughian or in an Irish Prizefighter it doesn’t matter, that’s what I want.” explained O’Brien. “Of course I have been following Bernard Dunne but I generally just concentrate on myself really although I keep an eye on the guys at my weight. Maybe I could get a fight with Neil Sinclair down the line but I especially want Haughian because he has the (Irish) title.” “I’ve heard rumours and I would love to get involved with any Irish version of the Prizefighter Series. There are loads of Irish guys that could make welterweight and that would be amazing to get involved with that, it would be absolutely amazing. I can just picture it, everyone I know would be there - the Culchies and the Dubs!”.....................................http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/february10/feb10_obrien_blackpool.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I see the card has been moved to next week:

http://boxrec.com/show_display.php?show_id=593757

Looks like its been cancelled?

joepenguin wrote: »
    Looks like its been cancelled?

it was - long story! I'll tell ya again. But I think his fight is getting shifted to the Bolton bill next weekend.

O'Brien is fighting an 8 rounder this weekend so he can fight for an Irish title.

Off to interview him now. Article later.

O'Brien wants Irish title shot

18 May 2010 - By Leonard Gunning

Lancashire based Dublin boxer Chris O’Brien 6-0-2 (KO 1) is winding down from a tough training camp before his bout this weekend at the Colne Municipal Hall.

O’Brien considers this the biggest fight of his career because he hopes this can lead him to his dream fight for an Irish title.

The former Dublin Dockland Boxing Club fighter has been ran to within an inch of his life by Scottish training partner Kenny Anderson and his trainer and cousin Kevin ‘Mantequilla’ Maree in preparation for the contest. He has been driven unmercifully up the hills around the Ribble Valley around their Gisburn base in rural East Lancashire for the past four weeks and believes that he is in the best shape of his career.

................rest of the article is here http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/may10/may10_obrien_wants_irish.html

Good article! Thats a few lads sniffin for the irish welterweight title now.

Gavin Prunty, Kieran Maher, Willie Thompson, John O'Donnell and of course Chris O'Brien all chasing Haughian's title.

I would rather watch 1 fight with two Irish guys facing each other rather than 10 fights against Eurobums.

Myself and 'joepenguin' are going up to cover and support his fight tonight. I shall return with arms ladden with interviews, fight reports and videos including the man himself 'El Alguacil' and his Dublin born trainer and cousin 'Mantequilla' Maree! :D

However, there has been a change of opponant and is now fighting the fromer British Central Area champion Ben Lawler 6-2 (KO1) but it hasnt fazed him.

I hope ye have all subscribed to my YouTube channel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Myself and 'joepenguin' are going up to cover and support his fight tonight. I shall return with arms ladden with interviews, fight reports and videos including the man himself 'El Alguacil' and his Dublin born trainer and cousin 'Mantequilla' Maree! :D

However, there has been a change of opponant and is now fighting the fromer British Central Area champion Ben Lawler 6-2 (KO1) but it hasnt fazed him.

I hope ye have all subscribed to my YouTube channel!
    What's your Youtube Channel Name?

http://www.youtube.com/user/BoxingIrelandDotCom

Website of the same name currently in development!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Thanks Vintagekits

O'Brien gets the W!!! :D

Report, photos and videos to follow!

4631749642_744d1bb2ac.jpg4631150199_50d7ea04b4.jpg

4631746358_7d149f8ca7.jpg4631149197_44cd3a68db.jpg

O'Brien O'Bliges

23 May 2010 - By Leonard Gunning

On the hottest day of the year Chris O’Brien improved his slate to 7-0-2 (KO 1) and turned up the temperature on his march towards an Irish title as he pushed past Ben Lawler in a tough six round contest at the beautiful Municipal Hall, Colne in east Lancashire.

The welterweight was originally to face Brummie novice Keith Sheen in an eight round bout which would have seen ‘The Sheriff’ qualify for a shot at the Irish title, however, Sheen pulled out in the lead up to the fight citing an injury to his bicep.

In stepped the tough and busy Ben Lawler 6-3 (KO 2) to fill the breach. Lawler, who just lost to Dean Harrison, a former foe of Derry’s Paul McCloskey, was keen to take the fight but the bout was now scheduled for six-threes instead of the original eight, so O'Brien will have to wait until a later date to qualify for a pop at the Irish title.

The V.I.P. Promotions show was staged in one of the best venues for boxing that I have had the pleasure of visiting. The small but perfectly formed hall provides an ornate balcony which wraps around the three walls and there is hardly a bad seat in the house, the full bar facility also ensured that the locals were kept in good spirits – promoters take note! Despite being aesthetically pleasing, the heat in the hall soared on the balmy evening and the lights added to the sauna like humidity.

Bounding to the ring in the colours of the newly relegated Burnley FC adorned with shamrock, O’Brien looked fresh and eager as the final bars of Johnny Cash’s ‘Ring of Fire’ played out, pretty apt considering the sweltering day.

the rest of the article is here ................. http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/may10/may10_obrien_obliges.html

4631152705_45315b8ec4.jpg

Been a while since his last fight now and should be steppin through the ropes soon. He's looking for an 8 rounder to qualify for an irish title fight, is willing to mix it with any rated irish welter, has a big fan base in Dublin and wants to fight in Ireland. If only there was an ideal scenario? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

Been a while since his last fight now and should be steppin through the ropes soon. He's looking for an 8 rounder to qualify for an irish title fight, is willing to mix it with any rated irish welter, has a big fan base in Dublin and wants to fight in Ireland. If only there was an ideal scenario? :pac:

Well Gavin Prunty is on the bill on the 11th in Dublin and O'Brien would take that fight.

Haughian is on the McGuigan bill in Belfast on the 18th and he would take that as well.

Seems all the boys in the welterweight division are ducking the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Well Gavin Prunty is on the bill on the 11th in Dublin and O'Brien would take that fight.

Haughian is on the McGuigan bill in Belfast on the 18th and he would take that as well.

Seems all the boys in the welterweight division are ducking the kid.

Add Kieran Maher to that list of fighters ducking him, there's no way he'd be put in a ring with O'Brien anytime soon.

Willie Thompson has a fight coming up in Scotland soon enough, if Thompson wins that(or even if he loses I suppose) O'Brien could look for to the BUI for an eliminator against him. That would force Stephen Haughian's hand and he'd have to either fight him or vacate the belt.

They're not exactly queing up to fight him since he outclassed the super fit Ben Lawlor over 6 in May.However Haughian has a fight coming up (O Brien needs and 8 rounder before he can fight for the title anyway), Maher wont be let in with him yet, thompson has a fight in September. That leaves Martin Sweeney, Niall Diamond and Gavin Prunty.( http://www.boxing-ireland.com/100704_irish_weight_rankings_15.html )
    So ideally a prunty fight on the 11th or if there is no interest a fight with Sweeney in Colne on the 24th of September as both live within a stones throw of the venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

They're not exactly queing up to fight him since he outclassed the super fit Ben Lawlor over 6 in May.However Haughian has a fight coming up (O Brien needs and 8 rounder before he can fight for the title anyway), Maher wont be let in with him yet, thompson has a fight in September. That leaves Martin Sweeney, Niall Diamond and Gavin Prunty.( http://www.boxing-ireland.com/100704_irish_weight_rankings_15.html )
    So ideally a prunty fight on the 11th or if there is no interest a fight with Sweeney in Colne on the 24th of September as both live within a stones throw of the venue.

Let's call a spade a spade here, Prunty isn't nearly experienced to get in the ring with a fighter of O'Brien's calibre yet and everybody knows it. Anything said by Prunty, or on Prunty's behalf or by a certain fan of Prunty's named Paddy is just banter and trying to draw some interest in Gavin Prunty and while I don't have anything against that let's not take it as being serious.

Prunty is even less experienced than Maher and Maher's team wouldn't let him within an inch of Haughian, O'Brien or Thompson. Maybe Billy Walsh would be willing to fight O'Brien if it's in Ireland ?

If he can't get the 8 rounder against an Irish fighter I don't see that as a problem, it doesn't have to be. All he needs to do is get that 8 rounder and inform the BUI of his intention to contest the Irish title and try and have them force Haughian into defending against him in the near future. If Haughian can't be bothered with the fight I'm sure the BUI would sanction O'Brien vs Walsh/Thompson for the vacant title and I reckon at least one of those two will be interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

Mark Heffron-Chris O'Brien added to Haye-Harrison bill

Should be a decent contest for the highly touted Joe Gallagher trained prospect.

I also heard about one more fight that is going on the bill which should please punters.

http://www.boxing-ireland.com/20101030_mark_heffron_chris_obrien_5.html

And what other fight would that be?
    In all fairness ya have to hand it to O Brien, he was in full swing there a few months ago comin off a good win and training hard. He called various fighters out with the goal been winning an irish title. No one wanted to know about him and left his calls un answered. Then he gets a call from a relativly unknown hard hitting tipped prospect and takes the fight in a second at late notice. He has been saying he'll fight anyone and is now proving it by fightin heffron at 2 weeks notice after a lay off with injury.
    If every fighter had this approach it would be a better sport.

O'Brien falls to first defeat as Heffron marches on

article and fight video here

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101115_heffron_beats_obrien_40.html

The Heffrons really look to be going places! So young and talented.
    Fair play to Chris for taking the fight. He has been callin irish ranked fighters out for months, guys that are on his level or above. Then Heffron (unknown hot prospect) calls him out and he accepts even though he had 2 safer options lined up. It shows balls and ambition on O Briens part.
    Look forward to seeing both lads in the ring soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

I'm hearing that O'Brien is closing to getting an 8 rounder which would mean that he will qualify for an Irish title shot.