Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

types of tactical lights

• 23-02-2010 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭

i have been looking at tactical lights on ebay for a few days now with the intention of buying one but i have came across two differant types the first one has a Xenon bulb and the other is has a cree led bulb whats peoples toughts on the two types or which one would be the best for bunnies and the odd fox at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭clivej

I'm waiting to hear a good answer to this question as well as I'm in the market for a new hunting torch for fox ing out to 200m.

Looking at this at the moment. It throws a good spot beam. $37 free post

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.6965

sku_6965_1.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

What the story with the batteries for that 250 lum torch??

I have a small 100 lum led torch and its powerful enough for spotting Charlie out to 200-250(eye shine only) and rabbits out to 100 at a push under good conditions!
    I might have a go of this one for under 40 bucks:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I think the problem here lads is that you will be pioneers.

Not many people are using this type of technology for lamping.

It definitely strikes me as something where you will buy one torch, try it out and then buy another supposed better model. In these situations you can never appreciate quality unless you experience the bottom end. So I'd buy a reputable but cheap torch and see how you get on. You can always use it as a house/car/getting over ditches torch if it is not good enough as a lightforce replacement.

I would really appreciate some detailed reviews if you do purchase though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i have a light force spot for lamping with the dogs and its a very good lamp but i am looking for something a bit easier for night shooting i have to buy another light for the gun because its a pain in the hole to try and keep the light force spot on the target and manage the gun aswell and i have heard good reports about the tactical lights with lads reporting shooting mr foxey at 150 or so yards but there is so many to choose from its hard to pick one out thats not a pile of ****

OK I bit the bullet! and bought one! so don't go ballistic buying just yet- as soon as i have it I'll do a review!! and anyone that wants to see it worling is more than welcome to meet up with me!!

Also wouldn't be good if a few of us got together for a torch meeting! Some where in Central midlands! Some night!

no a light meeting would not be good there would be awful stories in the papers the next day all about aliens or ufos

What the story with the batteries for that 250 lum torch??

I have a small 100 lum led torch and its powerful enough for spotting Charlie out to 200-250(eye shine only) and rabbits out to 100 at a push under good conditions!
    I might have a go of this one for under 40 bucks:eek:

Powered by 2×18650 batteries or 4×CR 123A batteries

My son got this Nightsearcher Explorer torch €65 and it looks good at night out to aboput 150ish yards. About 130 lumens

http://www.nightsearcher.co.uk/PRODUCTS/tabid/55/agentType/View/PropertyID/26/language/en-US/Default.aspx

180.jpg

OK I bit the bullet! and bought one! so don't go ballistic buying just yet- as soon as i have it I'll do a review!! and anyone that wants to see it worling is more than welcome to meet up with me!!

Ivan
    What torch did you buy was it the one I'm looking at above????

Output is about 200 -250 lumens. The reviews look good for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

I use an LED Lenser 98 lumens with a pressure switch. Good out to 100 metres. They also make more powerful lamps than mine - 200 lumens, but don't know if they accept the pressure switch.

clivej wrote: »
    Ivan
    What torch did you buy was it the one I'm looking at above????

Output is about 200 -250 lumen's. The reviews look good for it!

Yep that the one 250 lumen's wrote on the side!!
    I'll meet up with you when down in KK after the thing arrives and we compare who's got the biggest!!!:rolleyes:

I use an LED Lenser 98 lumens with a pressure switch. Good out to 100 metres. They also make more powerful lamps than mine - 200 lumens, but don't know if they accept the pressure switch.

I have one of the LED Lenser, its about 5" long an i think it knocks out about 110 but it might only be 100??:confused:
    Great little torch but its a little under powered for me!! Only a little

How many night i cursed the lightforce's bulk and weight until i bought one from cresent sporting.. It see rabbits up to 70yards and fox out to 200 under good dark skys..
    I wouldn't be bother going out without it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

I have one of the LED Lenser, its about 5" long an i think it knocks out about 110 but it might only be 100??:confused:
    Great little torch but its a little under powered for me!! Only a little

How many night i cursed the lightforce's bulk and weight until i bought one from cresent sporting.. It see rabbits up to 70yards and fox out to 200 under good dark skys..
    I wouldn't be bother going out without it!

Just been checking the LED Lenser site and the P7 comes in at 200 lumens. You can pick up a kit with gun mount and pressure switch on ebay for around ST£60 inc P&P. Oh dear, another upgrade beckons....

If she her hears the word upgrade there;ll be uproar.

As far as shes concerned i have too much kit and she cant understand why someone would want all that just for a few rabbits!!

Maybe i should have bought a sako quad for an easy life!!:rolleyes:

My son got this Nightsearcher Explorer torch €65 and it looks good at night out to aboput 150ish yards. About 130 lumens

http://www.nightsearcher.co.uk/PRODUCTS/tabid/55/agentType/View/PropertyID/26/language/en-US/Default.aspx

180.jpg
    Hang on a minute there sir! I'd like to ask you a few questions about this device! Could you please step out of the vehicle!!
    Now sir does this devise emit light in the from of a beam? !! Commonly known as a light beam!!
    Yes garda
    Well its down to the barracks with you!!!! then!!:rolleyes:

I already have this Surefire torch for the 22lr and it's good to 100 yards MAX. It has a tactical thumb pressure switch on the stock and has a Xenon bulb that runs off 2 CR 123 batteries.

Surefiretourchoncz22lr.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'll suggest candlepower forums again, but I don't think anyone will pay attention, again :D

johngalway wrote: »
    I'll suggest candlepower forums again, but I don't think anyone will pay attention, again :D

Tut Tut :rolleyes:
    I took your advice and read through some good posts there.

Good read here:-

I need narrow beam and big distance flashlight
    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=262936

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Goosie

I use a Fenix L2D....good beam to 100yds and cheap to feed. Bought it off the bay for about 40€.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I need narrow beam and big distance flashlight

I ain't no expert, but, that sounds expensive :D

What's wrong with the Lightforce?

JMO, I don't think you'll find a torch to beat it for near the same money.

johngalway wrote: »
    I ain't no expert, but, that sounds expensive :D

What's wrong with the Lightforce?

JMO, I don't think you'll find a torch to beat it for near the same money.

Son sold the lightforce 170 scope mounted lamp on me. :mad:

I have the 170 hand held and wanted something to put on the scope to see where I'm aiming. :eek: See post #2 above that's looking like the hot favorite at the moment, Ivanthehunter has ordered one in so I'll see how it handles.

I also have the Lightforce handle yoke that can go through a car/cabin roof, attached it to some plywood and can now jam it with the sun roof in the car. No cold hands for me :D

10012010054.jpg

Well it has just arrived:)

Wow what a little demon of a beam! Its the tightest thing I've seen in a long time-- tightest beam that is!!

Money well spent!! So far so good!!..
    The torch has 220lum wrote on the side!! Its defo made in People republic of China!:rolleyes: There is no indication marks as to the correct polarity for the auld batteries but i put them in with the positive terminal going in first and its all good!:rolleyes:

The beam is fantastic!! its about 12' wide at 120 yards:eek: and it seems to be four times brighter than the little led lenser!!

Its about 28cm long and very light due to a Aluminum construction.
    It has rubber seal rings in all the right places..

All i need now is a remote pressure switch and a similar torch with an IR beam similar to this one!!

I suppose if it helps me get away from the Light force FIAT lights (Fix It Again Tomorrow) I'll be happy....
    I feed it Cr-123's bought from ebay at $16 for 16 lithium batteries:eek:
    So it will be fun to see how these cheap batteries last! Id they do its going be great!! With a refill only costing $4:cool:

I'll play with for a while but would I buy a second one or recommend one to a friend!! Yes FFS get it now!:cool:

If anyone does know of a remote pressure switch that fits this unit please let us know!!

Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Thanks for the review, I have a pressure switch on the P7 and tbh it's only a midlen job as if you have it on the stock you i have to put adequate pressure and it's annoyin to say the least as it can throw your zero point. But can be used between teeth also but thats just too much multitaskin :D

Wow what a little demon of a beam! Its the tightest thing I've seen in a long time-- tightest beam that is!!

The torch has 220lum wrote on the side!! Its defo made in People republic of China!:rolleyes: There is no indication marks as to the correct polarity for the auld batteries but i put them in with the positive terminal going in first and its all good!:rolleyes:

The beam is fantastic!! its about 12' wide at 120 yards:eek: and it seems to be four times brighter than the little led lenser!!

All i need now is a remote pressure switch and a similar torch with an IR beam similar to this one!!

I suppose if it helps me get away from the Light force FIAT lights (Fix It Again Tomorrow) I'll be happy....
    So it will be fun to see how these cheap batteries last! Id they do its going be great!! With a refill only costing $4:cool:

I'll play with for a while but would I buy a second one or recommend one to a friend!! Yes FFS get it now!:cool:

If anyone does know of a remote pressure switch that fits this unit please let us know!!

Ta

i have a pressure switch that i got off deal extreme just to see if something small would get delivered before i bought a big light so if you would like to try it and if it fits your light you can have it i think i was only 4 or 5 euro but i will get another one that would suit the light i am buying send me a pm to organise something

Ta

Ivan which torch did you get???
    Was it the Nightsearcher (your link above) OR this one from DealExtream with 220 lumens and the long throw beam @$37?