Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a family car for 5k?

• 23-02-2010 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭

Hi All,

I`m looking for a family car i.e something with space for two kids aged 6 and 3 mths and a boot large enough to take a buggy and the weeks shopping!

I have alittle over 5k cash( I know its not much) to spend and would like something no older than `00 with engine size 1.6 - 2.0L.
    I`m open to any suggestions but would rather avoid skoda\renault\citroen\peugeot. No offence they`re just not my thing.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

What kind of driving/mileage do you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Volvo S60 2.0T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

PM sent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I have a 01 Audi A4 1.9TDi for sale, I couldn't quite stretch to 5, but 6k would take the car away, she's in mint condition but I'm looking to buy a 1.8TQS in England! I've a link to my advert in my sig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭beetlebailey

Budhabob - Wouldn`t be doing much mileage about 40-50 miles a week.

Dave147 - nice Audi but couldn`t stretch to 6k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Hi All,

I`m looking for a family car i.e something with space for two kids aged 6 and 3 mths and a boot large enough to take a buggy and the weeks shopping!

I have alittle over 5k cash( I know its not much) to spend and would like something no older than `00 with engine size 1.6 - 2.0L.
    I`m open to any suggestions but would rather avoid skoda\renault\citroen\peugeot. No offence they`re just not my thing.

Thanks.
    CHECK OUT WWW.DONEDEAL.IE THEY HAVE SOME GREAT BARGAINS ON THAT SITE

thanks, will have a look there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Budhabob - Wouldn`t be doing much mileage about 40-50 miles a week.

Dave147 - nice Audi but couldn`t stretch to 6k.

The reason i ask is that for that kind of mileage no need for a diesel. I picked up a lovely high spec mondeo (1.8l zetec 05) with low mileage for 5.5k just 2/3 weeks ago. Would be plenty space for two sprogs. (guy i bought it off had two small kids as proof). They are a lovely car to drive and pretty reliable. So that could be an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

budhabob wrote: »
    The reason i ask is that for that kind of mileage no need for a diesel. I picked up a lovely high spec mondeo (1.8l zetec 05) with low mileage for 5.5k just 2/3 weeks ago. Would be plenty space for two sprogs. (guy i bought it off had two small kids as proof). They are a lovely car to drive and pretty reliable. So that could be an option.

Mondeo Estate - 5.5k, I'm sure you'd get it for 5 cash.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201005196797321

Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I just bought a Honda Accord, 2003 (the older shape though so same as 2002).
    Its a lovely car, huge boot, cruise conrol etc.
    under 43k on the clock.

It was €4900 so it was a bargain as far as I am concerned. I got it from Auto Solutions in Baldonnell. I would take a look at them as they seem like a bunch of nice guys. I was looking at a honda HRV out there too which would be a good family car I reckon.

PaddyFagan wrote: »
    Mondeo Estate - 5.5k, I'm sure you'd get it for 5 cash.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201005196797321

Paddy

Thats a lovely motor!! Ghia and all. OP, you'd be hard pressed to find much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

Why don't you buy my Volvo S70 for about a grand and keep the rest in the bank :-)

2cv wrote: »
    Why don't you buy my Volvo S70 for about a grand and keep the rest in the bank :-)

A great car, but I doubt the OP would go for it to be honest.

VolvoMan wrote: »
    A great car, but I doubt the OP would go for it to be honest.

I was just chancing my arm :D
    Well just in case you know anyone Volvoman.... S70 2.0 petrol, automatic, NCT 03/12, tax 04/10
    Surely that has to be worth a grand??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

What's the story with Irish women and "that car's too big for me to drive"...it's not like they have to carry it on their back is it ? :confused:

The wife was giving out to me as well a couple of years ago when I bought a Vito that was doubling up as a taxi. Simple reply was "it's that or walk my dear". Vito shrunk from too big to ok in about 3 seconds flat to now when it's gone the nicest thing she ever drove. And I can well believe her, 2.2 cdi tiptronic with heaps of space...I wouldn't mind having it back either.;)

2cv wrote: »
    I was just chancing my arm :D
    Well just in case you know anyone Volvoman.... S70 2.0 petrol, automatic, NCT 03/12, tax 04/10
    Surely that has to be worth a grand??

Oh, it should be worth more than a grand, don't get me wrong, it really is the irony of our second hand car market that it isn't. We've had a 2.5 10 valve model in the family for nearly nine years now and couldn't recommend it more highly, it really has served us well. The fact that it's worth so little means it makes little sense to part with it, as well as me having a certain emotional attachment to the thing...

How have you found yours by the way, do you find performance to be OK with that engine/transmission combination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Why not buy my wife's Honda HRV ??

It has the space for the 2 prized assets, can take the buggy and the weekly shopping no bother. It's a 2003, 1.6 petrol, Honda reliability and best of all change outta your 5k budget for you to treat the wife !!

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=181814&cat=500

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Oh, it should be worth more than a grand, don't get me wrong, it really is the irony of our second hand car market that it isn't. We've had a 2.5 10 valve model in the family for nearly nine years now and couldn't recommend it more highly, it really has served us well. The fact that it's worth so little means it makes little sense to part with it, as well as me having a certain emotional attachment to the thing...

How have you found yours by the way, do you find performance to be OK with that engine/transmission combination?

Well, i haven't had it all that long, but i'm very happy with it :-) It's a bit like a tank, but a comfortable tank.
    Seats are brilliant, steering is great, breaks are fantastic, and the performance, well it's only the 2 liter version so it's not exactly a Porsche, but i tend to describe the performance as "more than adequate", especially if you switch the auto box into sports mode.
    All in all a brilliant all rounder. The only reason i'm getting rid of it is because i bought something else in the mean time (convertible) so i know the Volvo is just going to be sitting in front of the house doing feck all, especially given the fact that i have about 4 other cars

Why not buy my wife's Honda HRV ??

It has the space for the 2 prized assets, can take the buggy and the weekly shopping no bother. It's a 2003, 1.6 petrol, Honda reliability and best of all change outta your 5k budget for you to treat the wife !!

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=181814&cat=500

Brilliant price for that car. I might have bought that off you if I had not just got the Accord the other week.

Wife likes the look of this, anyone know what they`re like to drive?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/X-Trail/2.0--SPO/201008197026374/advert?channel=CARS

Seems like low mileage for year, its a 2L petrol but not too concerened about that as it wont be doing much mileage.
    Do you think i could get it for 5k cash or is that abit optimistic?

Out of curiosity any idea how much a set of tyres would cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

What's the story with Irish women and "that car's too big for me to drive"

If a mondeo is too big now, borrow an S-class for a weekend. Big is relative.

How did she go from a Mondeo being too big to a massive SUV? :D

I gave up a long time ago trying to figure her out.:D

It was a mondeo estate, which infairness is a big car. The xtrail doesn`t look aslong or as wide i guess.

Anyways are xtrails any good?

Never driven one but I have heard good things about them.
    I would do a little research though since Nissan is just not the same since Renault bought them, or more to the point since Renault started designing the Nissan cars. The newer Primera being a prime example.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

OP, your missis will soon give up her misgivings on driving a "big estate" when she sees how much stuff can be fitted into one easily. And they ain't anymore difficult to drive than a big saloon or SUV.

My missis was dubious about driving the passat estate we bought last year but now loves the thing. (One kid - one on the way)

That Mondeo looks like a great buy - assuming you get a third party to okay it.