Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorist escapes more serious charges because of name

• 23-02-2010 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭

FFS :mad:

Link
    Mr Happy appeared in court yesterday -- but he avoided a more serious sentence after the judge became intrigued with not just his name but that of his employer's too.

When John Happy appeared at Naas District Court over motoring offences, Judge Desmond Zaidan heard he worked as a care assistant for a firm called TLC.

"What does TLC stand for?" the judge asked.

"Tender Loving Care (a nursing home)," replied Tony Hanahoe, solicitor for Mr Happy.

"How can I sentence someone to prison who works for a company called Tender Loving Care, and whose name is Mr Happy?" the judge wondered aloud.

Mr Happy, of Church Court, Craddockstown, Naas, Co Kildare, was charged with failing to remain at the scene of an accident after he struck another vehicle in a car park on August 7 last year.

The court heard the incident was caught on CCTV, and gardai were able to trace him from his car registration. When questioned by gardai, he said he was not aware he had hit a car.

"I don't accept that," the judge said. "If you hit a stone, you'd know about it. You would know you hit a car."

The judge said it was a shame Mr Happy did not demonstrate tender loving care in his driving.

The court was told Mr Happy had no previous offences. His solicitor said his failure to stay at the scene was uncharacteristic, a result of "blind panic" in the heat of the moment.

The judge asked what sentence the law provided, and was told he could apply a fine of up to €1,000 or up to three months' imprisonment. Mr Happy was fined €750. Three other charges were struck out.

I wonder if Mr. Bastard would have gotten the same treatment :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Did the judge go easy on him? Does anyone know what penalty a judge would generally impose for this offence? Or is this just another of the Indo's entertainment dressed up as news stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Anan1 wrote: »
    Did the judge go easy on him? Does anyone know what penalty a judge would generally impose for this offence? Or is this just another of the Indo's entertainment dressed up as news stories?
    The judge asked what sentence the law provided, and was told he could apply a fine of up to €1,000 or up to three months' imprisonment. Mr Happy was fined €750. Three other charges were struck out.

seems like it to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Anan1 wrote: »

I would think the latter there Anan. The lad got 3/4's of the maximum fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

So this particular judge finds speeding so wrong that he sends offenders to jail, but lets a guy who smashed someone else's car and ****ed off without a care off with a slap on the wrist?

Yea, 3/4s of maximum fine with no previous convictions seems fair enough to me.. I'd say the judge didn't take into account his name when deciding on a sentence.
    Just another instance of the Indo being a piece of piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

its quite clear the judge was joking and the reporter decided to make a big deal out of nothing

a fender bender in a car park does not lead to jail time :rolleyes: op seriously

PeakOutput wrote: »
    its quite clear the judge was joking and the reporter decided to make a big deal out of nothing

a fender bender in a car park does not lead to jail time :rolleyes: op seriously

750 quid for leaving the scene of an accident is nothing. what about the other 3 charges that were thrown out too, who knows what they were?

EDIT: postd this in AH also, the differences in reply already is quite amusing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Don't see how he got away with anything TBH, fine seems to be pretty standard fare, no mention of the damage done either.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

So this particular judge finds speeding so wrong that he sends offenders to jail, but lets a guy who smashed someone else's car and ****ed off without a care off with a slap on the wrist?

Speeding is worse than careless parking..

firstly your assuming there was alot of damage in my not inconsiderable experience accidents in car parks cause very minor damage due to the very slow speeds

this does not excuse him from leaving the scene

it does however differentiate him from someone who causes a pile up at 120 on a motorway and then tries to drive off as in theory they would be charged with the same thing and must be penalised under the same sentencing structure

the 3 months and 1000euro fine is a maximum sentence not a mandatory one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

What would happen to MR. sad who works for a company called rough as fcuk:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

malcox wrote: »

Probably get away with a warning on showing remorse.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

malcox wrote: »

More sympathy from judge and maybe a councillor..

750 quid for leaving the scene of an accident is nothing. what about the other 3 charges that were thrown out too, who knows what they were?

you think he should go to prison?

this is clearly on the lower end of the seriousness scale for leaving the scene of an accident grow up ffs

the reason you are getting different replies on after hours(i havnt checked yet ill take your word for it) is because they arepeople who really dont know what they are talking about, cant comprehend a judge having a sense of humour and believe everything they read in the newspapers as gospel

edit; nvm i should have read the after hours thread first i take it all back

the reason you are getting different replies on after hours(i havnt checked yet ill take your word for it) is because they arepeople who really dont know what they are talking about, cant comprehend a judge having a sense of humour and believe everything they read in the newspapers as gospel

yeah but at least they have a sense of humour and take things lightly

EDIT: postd this in AH also, the differences in reply already is quite amusing

I'm getting so confused posting in both....

is because they arepeople who really dont know what they are talking about,

and the motors forum is different how ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

We'd know if the reporter included that information in the article, but we'll have to trust the reporter's judgement and assume the other charges are not as important as the defendant's name.

yeah but at least they have a sense of humour and take things lightly

ye i misunderstood what you meant about the after hours thread but you cant change your tune now it is quite obvious from your op and your replies that you think the judge was wrong, i dont

RoverJames wrote: »
    and the motors forum is different how ?

because the ratio of people who post in the motor forum who have experience in the industry in one form or another is higher than in after hours, i would have thought that was obvious, but i already admitted twice that i jumped to conclusions about the ah thread

True :)
    Plenty of posters in here know shamefully little about cars and all things car related though. I reckon many of them would pop into a factors and ask for spark plugs for a 1.9tdi Passat if you asked them to :D

ye i misunderstood what you meant about the after hours thread but you cant change your tune now it is quite obvious from your op and your replies that you think the judge was wrong, i dont

he hit another car, left the scence and then lied to the gardai about it, so no, I don't think €750 is a sufficient fine, why not the full €1000?

There should be minimum fines for this kind of thing, not maximum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

What surprised me when I read this story was the fact he crashed into a car but didn't know he crashed into a car. HOW THE FECK would you not know you hit a car?

he hit another car, left the scence and then lied to the gardai about it, so no, I don't think €750 is a sufficient fine, why not the full €1000?

im sure he did lie but you cant prove that also if you fine him the 1000 what do you fine the guy who writes off two cars and leaves the scene? the maximum is for the most serious of offences this isnt that serious no matter what you think

Berty wrote: »
    What surprised me when I read this story was the fact he crashed into a car but didn't know he crashed into a car. HOW THE FECK would you not know you hit a car?

course he knew, he just lied about it to try get away with it
    im sure he did lie but you cant prove that also if you fine him the 1000 what do you fine the guy who writes off two cars and leaves the scene? the maximum is for the most serious of offences this isnt that serious no matter what you think

probably dangerous driving plus leaving the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Im afraid this is the usual penalty handed down in a case like this. I suspect he pleaded guilty in court which would also have been in his favor. Whether he settled for damage already, if the damage was minor and the fact he gave an early plea would have gotten him this penalty.

On the other three summons being struck out. Hit and Run is broken into part summons. One for failure to remain at scene, failing to give information at scene etc etc. He was summons for 4. Convicted of one and the rest were more than likely convicted but taken into consideration.

Dont believe everything that you see in any paper......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

FFS :mad:

Link

I wonder if Mr. Bastard would have gotten the same treatment :pac:

E750 is a lot to pay for a "Happy Ending" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

RoverJames wrote: »
    Plenty of posters in here know shamefully little about cars and all things car related though. I reckon many of them would pop into a factors and ask for spark plugs for a 1.9tdi Passat if you asked them to :D
    Why bother? I'm sure you could get OE ones cheaper from a main dealer..... :cool:

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Mr.Larch