Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rusty nissan

• 22-02-2010 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭

looked underneath the car at the weekend! rust is slowly starting to take over. Just wondering any reccomendations of what to treat the rust with? and where to get it more importantly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

What car, how old, is it surface rust or more serious, where abouts is the rust, the floor pan, chassis, exhaust???....
    More info please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭muddle84

200sx, 10 years old. surface rust mostly on the subframe and arms,some on the floor pans and some on the sills. not the worst i've seen shouldn't need welding i hope! its a pain though cuz my brothers e30 is twice the age and bugger all rust underneath

muddle84 wrote: »
    200sx, 10 years old. surface rust mostly on the subframe and arms,some on the floor pans and some on the sills. not the worst i've seen shouldn't need welding i hope! its a pain though cuz my brothers e30 is twice the age and bugger all rust underneath

Nice car. Sounds like fairly normal rusting to be honest. Your brothers car probably had a layer of waxoyl or something similar applied to it years ago. Possibly before he owned it? Who knows.
    Looks like you have a date with mr. wire brush & the underside of your motor!:)
    Then slap on a bit of the old waxoyl. No worries.

I plan to do the same this summer for my own car. Not looking forward to it:(

http://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/18305-waxoyl-vs-hammerite-vs-underseal.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Is it a jap import? If it is, I'm not surprised it's starting to rust. Jap domestic cars are generally not rustproofed when new and so they rust after a while. European versions of jap cars Are rustproofed, even if they are built alongside JDM cars.

I've seen some fairly rusty 8 year old Imported Evos. I wAs looking at one yesterday in fact.

no the 200sx is the european version of the japaneese silvia s14. its an english car originally! so anybody know where to get stuff for rust treatment?

ianobrien wrote: »
    Is it a jap import? If it is, I'm not surprised it's starting to rust. Jap domestic cars are generally not rustproofed when new and so they rust after a while. European versions of jap cars Are rustproofed, even if they are built alongside JDM cars.

I've seen some fairly rusty 8 year old Imported Evos. I wAs looking at one yesterday in fact.

My hilux surf is a Jap import & its practically rust-free & its a 14 year old car. Honestly. I couldn't believe my eyes the first time i took a look underneath, the guy i had check it over was gob smacked as well.:)

Muddle84 just about any car accessory store or motor factors will have a range of anti-rust or rust prevention solutions.

thats the difference between toyota and nissan

what you drive foncrusher??? yeah i have the wire brush and the drill ready to go! gonna put some time into it and do it right!
    Was looking at this thread yesterday back to factory finish, unbelieveable work!!!
    http://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=283826
    makes a good read and full of advice too, but its in the uk so is very hard to get the same stuff over here!

Its a 3.0 td 1996 toyota Hilux surf & ive been talking about rust-proofing the thing for 6 months.
    Ah here if the underside of your car looks the same as the one in those pics then i don't think you've much to worry about. Sure thats feck all rust.
    Not unless your one those headcases that cleans his car with a toothbrush for hours!!!:D

oh no its worse than that! that lads starting point for a re-furb is just about what i'll be finishing with haha! bit ott but nice work all the same!!!

Sure just tear into it with a wire brush & see how you get on? Thats what im going to do as soon as the weather gets better.
    Im not doing it in the pissing rain.
    Thing is i can get in under my car easily. You'll need to raise your car up a fair bit.

SS850767.jpg

DSC01411.jpg

A fair bit is an understatement! axle stands all round:D going to attack it on my easter holidays!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I've a 20 year old Nissan Micra and the rust issue isn't as bad as that!

Do you live near the coast? The salty air can cause premature corrosion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

One word. GOGGLES.

yes i live near the coast! right beside the atlantic!!!

I know what causes rust and i have an idea how to treat it, just looking for reccomendations for what to use to treat it and what to re-paint it with and where to get it :)

muddle84 wrote: »
    DSC01411.jpg

A fair bit is an understatement! axle stands all round:D going to attack it on my easter holidays!!

Very nice. I always liked the 200sx. Understated yet its a fast brute.:)
    Like the way you've kept it fairly standard, unless theres all sorts of upgrades under the bonnet which is the best place for em!

yeah i've kept it bog standard on the outside!one or two sensible mods under the bonnet :D