Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Struggling At Uni

• 22-02-2010 1:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

I'm basically struggling with my course, I've allowed myself too much free time and now i'm faced with a workload that seems insurmountable to me.

I got my first essay result back and failed it by five points, which was fairly disheartening to be honest.

I'm feeling a little low about the whole experience, and i'd much rather be out working (i'm a mature student), deep down I know i'm never going to be an excellent academic, but there's not a hell of going on the job market and I do like the course i'm doing.

I'm really just in the wilderness a bit. I wonder does anyone else share a similar situation ATM.

Thanks for reading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Does your course have continous assessment where your first year grades count towards the marks in the final year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

Call into the careers center and have a chat with them, it might be that the course isnt right for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I'm struggling with University this year as well, European Studies is ok, but German is ruining my life. Even last night I could barely sleep due to fear of failing my summer exam. I speak pretty good German, but the way it's taught is destroying my confidence and my experience of the subject. Such is this lack of confidence, I've been to just 2 of my translation classes this year, as I just can't bear to sit there nearly freaking out in every class for fear that I'm going to be asked something and get it wrong.

And now the German department are on my back for poor attendance in some of my classes, it's hardly ****ing surprising seeing as I nearly have a heart attack even going into these classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Yep, feel the same OP. Only my problem is while i'm well able for my course, i'm just apathetic towards the whole 'study' bit. :) Its not too late at all though, i knucked down big time for the April reading month last year and got so much work done. Up to that point i'd barely lifted a finger. So a pass/merit in your course is still very achievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

First off, to the OP, if you're feeling low about the 'college experience' maybe its because you're not participating in it by allowing yourself too much free time.

It seems to me that a few people here want to get a degree but dont want to put the effort in. If you think you'd be better off working, then work. Dont go to college and take someone's place if you dont want to be there. As for not going to class because you dont like it, boo hoo. I didn't like most of my classes, but I went, and the things I was weak on, I studied that extra bit hard.

People get degrees, masters and phd's because they work very, very hard. A college education isn't an entitlement which some people seem to think it is. I've worked my ass off for 6 years so far and it really p****s me off when people moan about not getting work done because they were messing around the whole year then ask for help.

My answer is, decide to do the work, if not stop complaining and quit. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

First off, to the OP, if you're feeling low about the 'college experience' maybe its because you're not participating in it by allowing yourself too much free time.

It seems to me that a few people here want to get a degree but dont want to put the effort in. If you think you'd be better off working, then work. Dont go to college and take someone's place if you dont want to be there. As for not going to class because you dont like it, boo hoo. I didn't like most of my classes, but I went, and the things I was weak on, I studied that extra bit hard.

People get degrees, masters and phd's because they work very, very hard. A college education isn't an entitlement which some people seem to think it is. I've worked my ass off for 6 years so far and it really p****s me off when people moan about not getting work done because they were messing around the whole year then ask for help.

The OP came in here looking for advice, not a pissy lecture.

Take a few weeks off and get back to us when you have something non-judgemental and positive to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Max001

lol, very supportive. Is that the Budda's 'tough love' sutra or merely one of your own?

Tony, first thing to realise is you're not alone and there's help at hand. Oops, thats two things!
    Lots of us, if not everyone of us go through the, why am I here?, why am I putting myself through this? whats the point? phases. You said something important. You said you're enjoying the course. Focus on that and focus on the positives. Not a lotta point in focusing on the negatives, cause that ain't gonna help ya ;)
    Talking to the careers people is one option. PM me and I'll give you the name of an excellent lady to talk to in that office, who really helped me, by acting as a sounding board.
    You might consider talking to one of the people in the counselling office. They deal with this kinda thing all the time and will help you figure out the right thing to do. You have the answer within you, all they'll do is listen without judging and help you find the answer.
    Soon as you've collected your thoughts, go and talk to your course director, or course tutor. Again, every year they talk to loadsa students in your position who party hard and then wake up to reality and they'll want to help you. Hold up your hands, say I f**ked up and ask for their help. I bet you, if they're not ***holes, they'll be pleased to help ya ;) As someone else said here, its far from too late to turn things around. All you gotta do is 'free your mind & yr ass will follow' ;) The people I've suggested are all paid by you, to help you, so use their support and expertise :)
    You're doing exactly the right thing - upskilling in a down turn and you're not alone in this. You'll go back to work, older, wiser, hopefully with a new degree and be able to ask for lots more money! :)

Seek out some help Tony. Even just the act of talking things through can help clear your mind and keep going back for as much help as you need, as and when you need it. UCC doesn't want you to drop out, it ruins their stats :) They'll try hard to help you, but you gotta reach out a little and ask for it :)

Good luck! (In posting here, you've already taken the first step!)

PS Its a cliché, but its kinda true. If you think what you've gotta do is as tough an 'ask' as swallowing an elephant....think for a moment......you'd never contemplate attacking a whole elephant with a knife and fork would ya? You'd take it in small bites! I suspect thats part of your answer. Don't think about ALL the work you gotta do. Break it down into bitesize bits and take it a day at a tiime. When you start making progress, you'll soon get your 'mojo' back! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

Great post Max001. :)

Tony, remember you are not ALONE!! Like what Max001 said - it is no harm to ask for help/notes etc.
    Ask your lectures for your help - most of them will be happy to hear from you.

I was doing ok when I was in first year - except for two subjects that really put me down so I asked the department for my help. They had a phd student who was v v v happy to help me and I "just" pass in my summer exams. It may cost abit but if you plan what area in a typical exam paper you are having trouble with etc so you are saving time. Go to http://booleweb.ucc.ie/ then select exam papers then you will be asked to insert your student number etc or if you are in college - just select the subject area then module code - (ask me again if you have trouble of getting to it),
    This is what I did and it really helps. I also had "help share" with other students eg I am brill at one thing and crap at the other thing so the other student help me sort out the ones I was hopeless at and I help the "problem area" that this student had problems with. We had a great crack over it. plus it is free!! :P

So do ask around the students too – I am sure they will be happy to help out – try ask them (or email them) to see if anyone would be interested to join in “group studies” say some time in April?? This might help you especially ye will be able to exchange notes as well as getting a rough idea what area might come up.

If i think of anything else I dive back here!

Best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 tonywanda

Cheers to the lads who responded!! I can take a lot from what all you say and believe me it's appreciated.

I'm taking steps to salvage my year and hopefully a fair bit of hard work will go the distance.

I acknowledge that I do actually need support from some external source as I realise that some things are out of my grasp and I accept that.

I suppose it is difficult to reach out, when your used to solving things on your own in a working environment. Unlike some of my peers who all seem to be well rehearsed it the art of studying as their in the mid- 400 to 500 plus in leaving Cert points. And the other mature students bar myself and another guy; have degrees already.

But theres no harm in giving a good go until May day, so thanks again.

What course are you doing?

Just buckle down and be disciplined - get up a certain time every morning, go to the library and finish at a certain time, get a routine going from Monday to Friday plus a few hours on Saturday and relax the rest of the time.

Nova_era wrote: »
    I'm struggling with University this year as well, European Studies is ok, but German is ruining my life. Even last night I could barely sleep due to fear of failing my summer exam. I speak pretty good German, but the way it's taught is destroying my confidence and my experience of the subject. Such is this lack of confidence, I've been to just 2 of my translation classes this year, as I just can't bear to sit there nearly freaking out in every class for fear that I'm going to be asked something and get it wrong.

And now the German department are on my back for poor attendance in some of my classes, it's hardly ****ing surprising seeing as I nearly have a heart attack even going into these classes.

Anxiety attacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Sometimes I get a fright thinking about the summer exam as well. I missed a week of lectures so far because I had an operation done, and now I have to miss another week due to complications from the operation.

And I am a person who never went out on late nights or anything. The only lectures I missed were ones I missed for good reasons. Also I don't drink alcohol so I'd stay at home and read a little bit here and there from the lectures, as it is interesting stuff, but none of it seems to be sticking.

And the course I think I'm going to fail? - 1st Arts

I know people will probably have a chuckle when they see what course I feel I'm going to fail, but I don't find it as easy as people make it out to be.

Perhaps I'm just paranoid or afraid because I'm missing two weeks of college. Hopefully things won't be as stressful as I'm making them out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

Larkin91 wrote: »
    Sometimes I get a fright thinking about the summer exam as well. I missed a week of lectures so far because I had an operation done, and now I have to miss another week due to complications from the operation.

And I am a person who never went out on late nights or anything. The only lectures I missed were ones I missed for good reasons. Also I don't drink alcohol so I'd stay at home and read a little bit here and there from the lectures, as it is interesting stuff, but none of it seems to be sticking.

And the course I think I'm going to fail? - 1st Arts

I know people will probably have a chuckle when they see what course I feel I'm going to fail, but I don't find it as easy as people make it out to be.

Perhaps I'm just paranoid or afraid because I'm missing two weeks of college. Hopefully things won't be as stressful as I'm making them out to be.

You will be grand. Just try and get notes from some of your friends and knuckle down hard and study during the month off. You can be sure that plenty more of arts students have missed more than 2 weeks!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

Orizio wrote: »
    Anxiety attacks?

No, thank god those are behind me in life. It's just a fear of sitting in a small group of people for an hour and fearing that a question is going to be thrown my way, to which I don't know the answer, when I feel that I should.

Hey Orizio

Wouldn't want you to feel I'm tryin to tell you how to suck eggs......but...;).....have you thought about talking to your German lecturer privately and explaining whats going on with you. 'Not used to the teaching style, which you think is excellent obviously, but finding it hard to adjust to.' Flattery and asking for help are hard not to respond to positively :rolleyes:
    Without asking for it, your lecturer may suggest that he not call on you in your tutorial, but when your confidence returns, you can indicate when you'd like to participate etc etc, thus pressure off, attendance up, everyone happy :)
    Realise I'm probably misunderstanding the dynamics of the situation, however asking for help is rarely refused I find. Hope you work this out and if I'm missing the point, this may help you think of a more appropriate alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Max001 wrote: »
    Hey Orizio

Wouldn't want you to feel I'm tryin to tell you how to suck eggs......but...;).....have you thought about talking to your German lecturer privately and explaining whats going on with you. 'Not used to the teaching style, which you think is excellent obviously, but finding it hard to adjust to.' Flattery and asking for help are hard not to respond to positively :rolleyes:
    Without asking for it, your lecturer may suggest that he not call on you in your tutorial, but when your confidence returns, you can indicate when you'd like to participate etc etc, thus pressure off, attendance up, everyone happy :)
    Realise I'm probably misunderstanding the dynamics of the situation, however asking for help is rarely refused I find. Hope you work this out and if I'm missing the point, this may help you think of a more appropriate alternative.
    Nova Era i think. Orizio is doing some faffy history masters degree :D

Oops, sorry :D

Bit out of it today, with pain killers for a back injury :eek:

Please forgive! :o