Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick vs. Cork

• 21-02-2010 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Who do people think will win this one then? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Orizio wrote: »
    Who do people think will win this one then? :p

No comment, I'll get myself in trouble either way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Limerick.

I fear you're right Soccy, what with Cork not having a center forward line and it being in Limerick. ;)

How much do ye think ye'll win by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Cork are poor, anyone who thinks they'll compete for the AI is deluded.

Look at all the new talent Waterford have. I just know by May the new players tried yesterday will be on the bench and Cork will be back to the same 15 as last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Cork by about 12 or 13 points i should think. The Newtown players are back for them and only maybe 3 of Limerick's B side are actually good enough for inter-county hurling.

I would be very surprised if Limerick's seconds manage to win any game in the league. Justin McCarthy's position is untenable anyway. I dont agree with the players strike actions but the only way they're coming back is if Justin goes. Ultimately that will have to happen.

Cork are poor, anyone who thinks they'll compete for the AI is deluded.

Look at all the new talent Waterford have. I just know by May the new players tried yesterday will be on the bench and Cork will be back to the same 15 as last year.

Spot on Poppy, couldn't agree more. Do you agree with me that Kerry should take Cork's place in the Munster championship in future? There has been some discussion regarding this down south what with Cork hurling being dead as a doornail with everyone and their mother now playing rugby after symbolically burning their hurleys and sliotars in a huge bonfire in Patrick's street.

grenache wrote: »
    Cork by about 12 or 13 points i should think. The Newtown players are back for them and only maybe 3 of Limerick's B side are actually good enough for inter-county hurling.

I would be very surprised if Limerick's seconds manage to win any game in the league. Justin McCarthy's position is untenable anyway. I dont agree with the players strike actions but the only way they're coming back is if Justin goes. Ultimately that will have to happen.

No they aren't.

Stop downplaying Limerick hurling Grenache - I would ask you to immediately delete your post and come back to us when you have something objective and nuetral to say. :)

I fear you're right Soccy, what with Cork not having a center forward line and it being in Limerick. ;)

How much do ye think ye'll win by?

i'm thinking a 1/2 point win. Not getting ahead of myself y'know yourself like. :) (well you'd know anyways..:pac:)

Spot on Poppy, couldn't agree more. Do you agree with me that Kerry should take Cork's place in the Munster championship in future? There has been some discussion regarding this down south what with Cork hurling being dead as a doornail with everyone and their mother now playing rugby after symbolically burning their hurleys and sliotars in a huge bonfire in Patrick's street.

It's Pappy, and I don't remember any such bonfire....

wait, are you being sarcastic?

It's Pappy, and I don't remember any such bonfire....

wait, are you being sarcastic?

*facepalm*

*facepalm*

Thats me being sarcastic. :rolleyes:

I was depressed watching Cork yesterday. Face it orizio, we're not going to beat kilkenny this year, or next year, or the year after at the very least. Theres just no underage talent coming through.

:confused: I never said we would - now what about the Limerick game on Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Thats the big worry at end of day. Football seems to be different at the moment hearing all sorts good prospects coming through. But for Hurling have not heard of one decent player who looks like they will become the next Brian Corcoron or Ben O Connor.

[/B]

Thats the big worry at end of day. Football seems to be different at the moment hearing all sorts good prospects coming through. But for Hurling have not heard of one decent player who looks like they will become the next Brian Corcoron or Ben O Connor.

Once in a generation type players really. Set your sights a little lower.

What we aim for is a competitive squad, just like the footballers.

:confused: I never said we would - now what about the Limerick game on Saturday...

just what i was gonna say!
    I'll be less optimistic for once, 13/14 point defeat maybe for limerick :/
    grenache said it all above really. Only a few hurlers at present on the '2nd string team' that could be starters on the 'A' panel. Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Yeah Cork will win but the Limerick Lads will give it their all despite their lack of skill etc...but we are building a team!Unfortunatle i think Justin will go at some stage but if the new manager takes all the strikers back then ill refuse to support them.Bring back Gav,Hickey the young lads...mix them in with the "b" team, get rid of Donie ryan and that shower of wasters.Then hopefully in a few years we can compete at the top level...and to the people who want all the players back stop deluding yourselves it won't get much better than it is at the moment.

But back to the point cork by 9...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

I suppose Cork will go for a hiding to show solidarity with the strikers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

I agree with what The Specialone has pointed out above... but I would love to see Limerick win on Saturday night. We need a win like this to bring back the faith in Limerick hurling amidst all this negativity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

If McCarthy goes it will be a disaster for Limerick hurling. Limerick hurling has been rotten for the last 15 years. We got to the all ireland in 07 and had a decent year in 01 beating Cork by a point in Cork and coming back from 4 goals down to beat the Deise before losing narrowly to Tipperary the eventual all ireland champions.(God it shows how bad it has been that I can remember all that like it was yesterday).

Hurling in the city has died a slow and painful death and our club championship has been extremely lacklustre with the likes of Bruree and Garryspillane winning it in recent years. Adare are a good club team but they won it last year without getting out of 3rd gear.

It looks like the clubs are going to side with the players out of fear of getting more hidings in the leagues. But realistically what have these striking players ever done for us?? Last year they themselves got there arses whipped by Tipp in Croker (No one seems to be mentioning this at all) and should have lost to Laois in Thurles aswell. Limerick hurling can't get any worse and at least at the moment we have players that want to play for their county. The shower on strike always look to blame someone else for their short comings. Look at how many managers we have had over the last 10 years. All of them surely can't be wrong can they???

Yeah Cork will win but the Limerick Lads will give it their all despite their lack of skill etc...but we are building a team!Unfortunatle i think Justin will go at some stage but if the new manager takes all the strikers back then ill refuse to support them.Bring back Gav,Hickey the young lads...mix them in with the "b" team, get rid of Donie ryan and that shower of wasters.Then hopefully in a few years we can compete at the top level...and to the people who want all the players back stop deluding yourselves it won't get much better than it is at the moment.

would the likes of hickey, o mahoney and co. not likely return though if the players that were dropped aren't brought back either? Your idea is preety much a dream scenario unless they see some 'sense' of the sort. But yea, mixing some of 'b' team with the young ones that left (if they ever decided to return) would be one of the better things for limerick hurling, long term.

Anywaysss.. predicted a limerick win in the pools (but that's just in hope). Expect a big enough margin for cork like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

would the likes of hickey, o mahoney and co. not likely return though if the players that were dropped aren't brought back either? Your idea is preety much a dream scenario unless they see some 'sense' of the sort. But yea, mixing some of 'b' team with the young ones that left (if they ever decided to return) would be one of the better things for limerick hurling, long term.

Anywaysss.. predicted a limerick win in the pools (but that's just in hope). Expect a big enough margin for cork like.

If a new manager came in then they would come back the main issue is their supporting the players on strike who felt the way they where dropped by Justin was poor...if a new manager came in and dropped them by informing them, then they can have no complaints annd the boys will be back.This Strike is a joke led by joke players who have no respect for the county supporters or the county management....but then again whats new!

No they aren't.
    Are you shuuuure? I thought they were back for this game. And if not, why aren't they back?
    Stop downplaying Limerick hurling Grenache
    I didn't think this level of irony was even possible :)

- I would ask you to immediately delete your post and come back to us when you have something objective and nuetral to say. :)
    nuetral.....hmmmm, perhaps you mean neutral :pac:

I agree totally with TheSpecialOne and Browney. The jokers in the pack need to be dispensed with. What ever manager succeeds Justin, i don't want to see him selecting the likes of Donie Ryan or Stephen 'i spent seven years in UCD' Lucey. Blend the new starlets (Hickey, O'Mahony, James Ryan) with the young guys like Nicky Quaid and Cathal Mullane. Get rid of the wasters with big mouths and even bigger egos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Im always quite amazed when people are listing the ''jokers in the pack'' within Limerick hurling that Mark Foley seems to escape, because I got to tell you looking in from the outside this guy is the worst of them all, a fine hurler maybe in he's day but the guy has so many notions of himself im suprised he's able to fit he's head in the dressing room door, I have personally witnessed him ignore managers instructions on the field and to start making switches himself during a game, personally I feel untill he's gone permanently Limerick will never move on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Of course the Jokers should go and not be allowed back, but, is every hurler in Limerick that is on strike a Joker or is a Pal/friend/squad/musketeer thing. Or simply a personality clash á la McCarhty in Cork recently.
    Cork by 14+pts - although I hope it is competitive until at least half time.

Im always quite amazed when people are listing the ''jokers in the pack'' within Limerick hurling that Mark Foley seems to escape, because I got to tell you looking in from the outside this guy is the worst of them all, a fine hurler maybe in he's day but the guy has so many notions of himself im suprised he's able to fit he's head in the dressing room door, I have personally witnessed him ignore managers instructions on the field and to start making switches himself during a game, personally I feel untill he's gone permanently Limerick will never move on.
    Mark Foley is gone, he's retired along with Ollie Moran. I met him (Foley) today in the passport office in South Mall. He's sound enough to talk to, but i have heard of all sorts of rumours of him encouraging certain players to pull out of the squad. Whether these are true or not i don't know. I would agree with you about him doing what he wants on the field, he switced from left to right half back in the Dublin quarter final last year when David Sweeney and Dotsy O'Callaghan were making lot of inroads down the left side of our defence. McCarthy said afterwords on the radio that it wasn't his decision to switch him, that it was a team decision!!

Cork Team vs Limerick

Coleman

Shane O'Neill Cadogan Conor Sul

Brian Murphy Curran Ray Ryan

Tom Kenny John Gardiner

Fintan O'Leary Mark O'Sullivan Graham Callinan

Fraggie Murphy Michael Cussen Pa Horgan

Subs:

Donal Og Cusack - Cloyne
    Shane Murphy - Erins Own
    Aidan Ryan - Midleton
    William Egan - Kilbrin
    Michael Walsh - Kildorrey
    Cian McCarthy - Sarsfields
    Niall McCarthy - Carrigtwohill
    Aisake O Hailpin - Na Piarsaigh
    Tadgh Og Murphy - Sarsfields

Looks weak, don't rate Callinan as an inter-county hurler, weak center back line, still no Luke O'Farrell. Limerick by 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Our midfield will get eaten alive by Kenny and Gardiner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I hope Limerick win - something the strikers/whingers could never manage when it mattered.

Looks weak, don't rate Callinan as an inter-county hurler, weak center back line, still no Luke O'Farrell. Limerick by 5.

your posts crack me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

Come on Limerick on Saturday...... show us some limerick promise... im sick of the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

cork 1-1 limerick 0-1, seven minutes in
    cracker of a goal by michael cussen for cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Both sides shooting poor. Limerick aren't as bad as I would have thought tho, that Alan O' Conner (no. 15 for Limerick) is handy enough and Lim's general work ethic is good.

cork 6 points up at half time
    reminds me a bit of the waterford - dublin game last weekend
    one team building up a lead without doing anything remarkable
    typical "harmless" league hurling but still entertaining in its own way

ten minutes to go
    cork 1-18 limerick 1-11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A team of makeweights trying their best but being thoroughly outclassed by a Cork team in second gear. All played out in a soulless atmosphere more reminiscent of a wake. Trying times on shannonside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Far from a great game, Cork didnt really have to break a sweat, unless Limerick sort things soon they will definitely get relegated, the wastelands of Div 2 will be hard on them.

I did manage to get the score bang on for the pools tho :)

Poor match. Both teams clocked up a crazy number of wides. justin could be leaving now....

Also hope michael carr gets better. Being taken off on a strecher during a match is not what any hurler would want. Anyone know what happened? I missed it.

after seeing brief highlights of last week's limerick-galway match on this morning's repeat of "seó spóirt" it looked like a decent crowd and atmosphere in kilmallock on sunday, the contrast with tonight's match was striking.
    the hurling tonight wasn't that bad (2-21 to 1-14, that's 38 scores) but the atmosphere was just dead.
    the vast swathes of empty seats in the gaelic grounds didnt do much for the occasion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It looked like a ghost stadium, which was a pity. The result was a foregone conclusion long before the end, but credit to the Limerick lads, they did their best, but it will never be good enough for div.1 though.