Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny calls for Dermot Aherne resignation over his confidence motion conduct

• 20-02-2010 9:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭

heard this on a couple of news today. Might be going a bit far calling for his resignation, but Aherne's conduct during the motion was scandalous. Id expect better from a child in kindergarden. Snigering, laughing and getting digs in at such an important time. Very very low of the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

What can you expect from a hog but a grunt?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

heard this on a couple of news today. Might be going a bit far calling for his resignation, but Aherne's conduct during the motion was scandalous. Id expect better from a child in kindergarden. Snigering, laughing and getting digs in at such an important time. Very very low of the man.

Fair play to Kenny. Aherns conduct as Minister for Justice was a disgrace given the issue being debated was one of perjury, and misuse of Garda information to smear a political rival.
    Ahern showed himself up to be someone other than the mild-mannered, quiet spoken he likes portrays himself as

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

I posted here myself on Ahern's behaviour during the confidence motion. And it is something that has been given media attention in the past. There's no question that his behaviour - particularly as a senior Minister - was out of order.

I do think Enda Kenny is playing to that however, and it won't be a resigning matter. But yes, Dermot Ahern should learn how to conduct himself and treat his office with respect.
    I refer particularly to his rhetoric about party loyalty when defending a man who has sworn an untruth to the High Court of this country, an institution whose integrity Ahern has been appointed to uphold.

The man is a political oaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

sesna wrote: »
    ... to smear a political rival....

Which is what Enda did a few weeks ago on the LLS without an iota of evidence to backup his accusations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

dlofnep wrote: »
    Which is what Enda did a few weeks ago on the LLS without an iota of evidence to backup his accusations.

Which politician did he smear? I missed that one.

Trotter wrote: »
    Which politician did he smear? I missed that one.

He smeared a party - which as an entity is a political opponent. He had no evidence to backup his claims. What he did was wrong, and to judge people for smearing other political opponents is hypocritical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

He smeared a party - which as an entity is a political opponent. He had no evidence to backup his claims. What he did was wrong, and to judge people for smearing other political opponents is hypocritical.

Ah right, I thought he'd mentioned a particular TD.

Nope, just a party and Tubridy grilled him for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Not to derail the thread but briefly what did he say and about which party?

accusations.
    Name the accusation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Thats a bit strong could he not have microwaved him instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

amcalester wrote: »

I think it was SF?

goose2005 wrote: »
    I think it was SF?

Thanks for that, any idea about what he said? Dont get to watch the Late Late where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

did he not also state that bertie was without original sin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

I didn't particularly like Aherne's conduct either but I think its a little disingenuous for Kenny to call for his resignation. .

Truth is, they all behave in an appalling manner, shouting down speakers, sniggering, making snide remarks and jibes across the floor . . It's time they all grew up a little and showed a little more respect for the seat they are sitting in.

amcalester wrote: »

He was questioned on pre-party pacts prior to the possible entry into Government - When asked about Sinn Féin he said he would not go into Government with them, due to "activities" in the North - Tubridy asked him what activities, and he responed along the lines of "Republican activities" - Tubridy asked him to clarify his comments and he couldn't. He made a stab at Sinn Féin, with intent to attack their character - much like Willie O'Dea did with Maurice Quinlivan.

The video is available here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-iqGmIFdC0

He was wrong with his statements, and he wasn't expecting Tubridy to call him on it.

He was questioned on pre-party pacts prior to the possible entry into Government - When asked about Sinn Féin he said he would not go into Government with them, due to "activities" in the North - Tubridy asked him what activities, and he responed along the lines of "Republican activities" - Tubridy asked him to clarify his comments and he couldn't. He made a stab at Sinn Féin, with intent to attack their character - much like Willie O'Dea did with Maurice Quinlivan.

He was wrong with his statements, and he wasn't expecting Tubridy to call him on it.
    So again, what's the accusation? SF have been engaged with republican activities, that's a fact.

Interesting and fair play to Tubridy for pulling him on it but I have to say I wouldnt be in favour of FG (or any other political party in Eire) entering into a coalition with SF because they have been involved in Republican activities but I would expect the DUP (and other Unionist parties in the North) to do so.

So again, what's the accusation? SF have been engaged with republican activities, that's a fact.

He was asked to clarify his comments and he couldn't. His intention was to smear SF, and had nothing to back up his claims when he was called on it. I'm not going to hold your hand and explain why what he done was wrong. The audience were wise to it and so was Tubridy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

Tubridy asked him 'What activities?'

What kind of a dumb question is that? Tubridy really is a buffoon at times :rolleyes:!

He was asked to clarify his comments and he couldn't. His intention was to smear SF, and had nothing to back up his claims when he was called on it. I'm not going to hold your hand and explain why what he done was wrong. The audience were wise to it and so was Tubridy.
    No that's not what I mean. The question relates to the fact that you said Enda Kenny made accusations.

What accusations?

No that's not what I mean. The question relates to the fact that you said Enda Kenny made accusations.

What accusations?

The accusation was subtle, implying that SF were up to no good in the north. Or was that not obvious to you?

The Raven. wrote: »

What kind of a dumb question is that? Tubridy really is a buffoon at times :rolleyes:!

Why don't you enlighten us then, since Enda couldn't answer. If by Republican activities, you mean - delivering of policing and justice, giving a platform for nationalists to have a voice and creating a framework for true equality in the north - then yes.

Unless you have something else in mind - I'd be more than happy if you'd share them with me.

The accusation was subtle, implying that SF were up to no good in the north. Or was that not obvious to you?
    There seems to be some mistake, you didn't mention implications. You seem to have inferred from the interview yourself an implication that SF have been up to no good.

But the issue here is accusation, and you said Enda Kenny had made accusations.

And they are..?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

SF has smeared itself sufficiently without any input from Enda Kenny over the past 40 years. The only disappointing aspect of (old) Enda Kenny's comment on the LLS was his lack of conviction in stating what their organised criminal "activities" were.
    Way to derail a thread on Ahern's disgraceful conduct. Bad enough voting for confidence in a perjurer, as MfJ, without behaving like a juvenile thug during the debate also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

It's not even about the behaviour during the motion, pathetic and all as that was.

It's the fact that the so-called "Minister for Justice" reckons it's OK to attempt to con the courts.

Mind you, what would you expect from someone called Ahern; I mean, there's little difference between conning the courts and conning a tribunal.

As for Sinn Fein's objectional activities, well, fair play Enda. I can think of two objectionable activities that makes them unfit for office, and both of them relate to someplace called Adare.......not condemning crimes, and collecting criminal thugs from jail.

It's just a pity that Tubridy wasn't as forthright when questioning Cowen and Ahern about their own activities; I didn't see the interview, because I vowed to never again watch that FF hack after the free ride he gave the other Ahern as he laughed and joked his way though anecdotes about corruption and lack of integrity.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

If by Republican activities, you mean - delivering of policing and justice,.

Wow... well done! after how long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Liam Byrne wrote: »

As for Sinn Fein's objectional activities, well, fair play Enda. I can think of two objectionable activities that makes them unfit for office, and both of them relate to someplace called Adare.......not condemning crimes, and collecting criminal thugs from jail.

Quite agree with you . . . shame Enda didn't have the balls to actually say that at the time . . . If he had, he would have come out of that interview with a lot more credibility.

SF has smeared itself sufficiently without any input from Enda Kenny over the past 40 years. The only disappointing aspect of (old) Enda Kenny's comment on the LLS was his lack of conviction in stating what their organised criminal "activities" were.
    Way to derail a thread on Ahern's disgraceful conduct. Bad enough voting for confidence in a perjurer, as MfJ, without behaving like a juvenile thug during the debate also.

I think it was me that brought this up but I agree with you.

Quite agree with you . . . shame Enda didn't have the balls to actually say that at the time . . . If he had, he would have come out of that interview with a lot more credibility.

Credibility and Tubridy interviews with political subjects don't go together - for either Tubridy or the guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

Why don't you enlighten us then, since Enda couldn't answer. If by Republican activities, you mean - delivering of policing and justice, giving a platform for nationalists to have a voice and creating a framework for true equality in the north - then yes.

Unless you have something else in mind - I'd be more than happy if you'd share them with me.

I'm not going to fall for that one dlofnep. Enda Kenny didn't either. The answer is so glaringly obvious it's cringe worthy. One might as well ask why they needed a Peace Process :rolleyes:!

I have no intention of derailing this thread with another NI argument!

The only disappointing aspect of (old) Enda Kenny's comment on the LLS was his lack of conviction in stating what their organised criminal "activities" were.

What organised criminal activities?

Considering the PSNI is only in use since 2001 - and still has not proven to be an impartial policing service - you're going to have to expand on that comment. I'll be more than happy to school you on the issue of policing in the north. We can start from 1922 onwards if you like, or we can pick it up in the 70's, or 2001.

Pick a date and I'll debate the semantics of why nationalists were not enthused at the idea of engaging policing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'd love to see "new" Enda on the LLS show now... He could start off by calling Tubridy on his FF credentials, his obvious bias and maybe hit him a dig before the interview begins to let him know who is boss.

I think the whole "being myself" thing might actually work for him. He certainly has come across as being more forthright recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Fair play to Kenny. Aherns conduct as Minister for Justice was a disgrace given the issue being debated was one of perjury, and misuse of Garda information to smear a political rival.
    Ahern showed himself up to be someone other than the mild-mannered, quiet spoken he likes portrays himself as

Dermot Ahern used to be a guy that I thought had a touch of class about him, but his behaviour in not only supporting Willie, but goading and encouraging Willie was a downright disgrace for such a Minister. Justice bloody Minister supporting and defending the actions of Willie, in****ingcredible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

anyone got a transcript of what dermot said? I missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

DrumSteve wrote: »
    anyone got a transcript of what dermot said? I missed it

there's far too much to post all but here are some samples for you, first about FG
    Deputy Enda Kenny: The former and current Ministers for Justice, Equality and Law Reform are defending this state of affairs around the Cabinet table.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: With pride.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: Unlike Fine Gael Members we do not assassinate people, such as poor old George last week.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: He was used for a couple of months and then he was thrown away.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: The greatest character assassination was carried out by his colleagues after George left last Monday.

Deputy Enda Kenny: The Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform is supposed to stand over high standards.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: It was a character assassination and now he is at it again.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: You got rid of him just because he did not suit your purposes.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: You threw him to the wolves.

and also for Labour!!
    Deputy Eamon Gilmore: The Labour Party has no confidence in the Government as a collective entity or in the Ministers in their individual capacities. This is the Fianna Fáil Government that has brought this country to the brink of economic ruin.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: Here we go.

Deputy Dermot Ahern: We will have the old Stickies in. Never.

Its tame enough stuff on one level, I guess you'd have to see his general demeanour, expressions and attitude to get the full picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Riskymove wrote: »
    there's far too much to post all but here are some samples for you, first about FG

and also for Labour!!

Its tame enough stuff on one level, I guess you'd have to see his general demeanour, expressions and attitude to get the full picture

thanks! He's being fairly surly there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I think the whole "being myself" thing might actually work for him. He certainly has come across as being more forthright recently.
    It took him this long in politics to realise he should be himself. I'm embarrassed for the man frankly and not for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

Yes, because as dlofnep says, the RUC were clearly an impartial police service who didn't openly discriminate against the nationalist community in NI..:rolleyes:

Aidric wrote: »
    I'm embarrassed for the man frankly and not for the first time.

Hey, maybe it's just a tactic......I mean, high-profile members of FF have been an embarrassment for years, and they get votes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

Riskymove wrote: »
    Deputy Dermot Ahern: We will have the old Stickies in. Never.

By "Stickies" is he referring to these?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Official_Irish_Republican_Army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

The Raven. wrote: »

Tubridy knew what he meant but he was right to call Kenny on it. If Kenny's going to make a comment like that he should have the guts to clearly spell out what he means.

I would have respected Kenny more if he had answered it straight out.

However why should Tubridy call Kenny on that, when he left Ahern off with so many objectionable and half-answered utterances ?

Either Tubridy acts fairly to all guests, or he doesn't.

So he was right to pull Kenny up on it, and Kenny was wrong to fudge it.

But it's strange that some people who agree Tubridy should have gone for the jugular claim that that he was good during the Ahern interview.

I wonder why their standards vary so much ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I would have respected Kenny more if he had answered it straight out.

However why should Tubridy call Kenny on that, when he left Ahern off with so many objectionable and half-answered utterances ?

Either Tubridy acts fairly to all guests, or he doesn't.

So he was right to pull Kenny up on it, and Kenny was wrong to fudge it.

But it's strange that some people who agree Tubridy should have gone for the jugular claim that that he was good during the Ahern interview.

I wonder why their standards vary so much ?

In complete agreement. The way he spoke to Kenny was fine but he should extend that line of questioning to alll guests