Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just when you're tipping along nicely...

• 20-02-2010 6:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Friday February 19th

Niall had arranged that we would go to have a look on land belonging to one of his friends family. We met Ultan in the local town and set off. Two sides of this place is surrounded by forestry, the other two by bog and lakes. In the middle of all that is an island of arable land, though I would say one quarter of it is covered by scrub, which is a shame.

Ultans plan was we would set off on foot and walk around the perimeter of the entire area. I have to say, being dosed to the gills with man-flu, over dressed and carrying an 18amp battery and a 13.5lbs rifle, I wasn't entirely keen on the idea. Niall had brought along his new 12amp unsealed battery... Which I had him slightly worried about carrying... and his Lightforce Lance. Ultan had his new shotgun, of Italian make, I am unsure which, Sabati or something similar? Looked the part and it was lovely and light, loaded with 4's.

The night was pretty calm, with only a very light breeze blowing out to the bog. There had been a bit of rain before we arrive so it was partially cloudy which hid the growing moon for most of our time out. It wasn't a good night for walking, three lads crunching around on frosty and frozen ground.

We set off down a stony track and made our way up the side of a hill. I started the caller going and it wasn't long before a fox emerged from around some houses and started coming in. We set up the .223 in a good position, but our fox declined to come in closer and proceeded to ring around us, making for the forestry. He stopped on a hillock and I ranged him at 260 yards. There was a good backstop, I could see the fox and reticle well in the scope, plus I had a nice stable position. I thought I'd have a go and only went and missed him. Great start, can only put it on shooter error as the rifle is set up well enough for that range.

Our next hillock was well down, much closer to the forestry and also a little wood/scrubby area. This would be more my idea of a good place to set up in as the foxes would only have 200 or so yards to fart about in, they can't stay out and look back at you. Sure enough we pulled a fox out with the rabbit distress. She was mooching about on a high spot in some trees, I think there were two foxes together as very quickly a fox was bounding towards us from behind a hill in line with the fox we had been watching.

She came to a fence and slowed up well. I waited for her to come through then put a Vmax into her chest, dropping her on the spot. Niall then spotted another set of eyes to the right which I believe was the other fox we'd seen. It made it's escape though. Ultan was looking happier at this stage, I gave him my Opinel to whip off the tail and off we set again.

fox17ultanvix110.jpg

By this time we were leaving the forestry behind us and heading around the arable land so the bog was in front of us. Eagle eye Niall spotted a fox that had popped up it's head right behind a sheep on a hillock. We waited a minute or so and he showed eyes again and walked up on top of the hill. I handed Niall the rifle and we had a go at calling the fox in. No joy, so I ranged him, 260 yards again!

Niall asked if he should have a go at him or not, I said it was up to himself and Ultan. Yes was the answer so Niall settled down to get comfortable. Just as he was about to let loose the fox went back around the other side of the hill again. A few minutes passed and he re-emerged over to the left. Niall took a shot and thought he hit him, so we stayed put to mark the spot and Ultan set off for a look.

As Ultan was almost halfway there I spotted a pair of eyes out on the flat bog, Nialls fox. We ran for the next hillock. I tried stooping the fox near a fence around 220 yards out but he was having none of it and kept heading away from it. This is going well we thought...

We headed into the scrub next. From here to the end I lost about a stone in pure sweat lol. We passed by a shed and I say eyes behind it under a tree, didn't pass much remarks as I thought it was a dark coloured sheep. Was it fcuk. As we came around the old shed a very dark fox turned tail and ran! He had been no more than 20 yards from us. I could see eyes up in the rushes but when I couldn't see a body I wasn't going to take a shot.

Died going up a steep hill on the way back to the cars. I think it if had been windier we'd have done a lot better. Also having a clue of the ground now I wouldn't be at all keen going back if the half-marathon walks were the idea. There are some gems of hillocks there that we could set up on and pick off foxes coming out of the forestry! Have to say both myself and Niall were pretty disgusted at the two misses. I've shot rabbits farther out than that with the same rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭syconerd

great report love the detail pal:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

fair play, keep the story's coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Very enjoyable read John, as all your reports are.

Mallards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Good story JG thanks again, think I'll sell the guns and just enjoy your story's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tikkamark

I take it you wont be firing at foxes at 260yrds anymore john!:P Only messing good going and great write up.I had a productive weekend on the troublesome foxes-we dug 2 foxes with terriers on sunday and i shot 3 with the tikka on monday night all in an area about 2square miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Howya Lads
    I'm pretty new to these forums and must say that I really enjoy the stories others send in, theyre great.
    My rig is a Remington 700 .223 with an olive green accuracy international stock with a 5 round mag (10 round AI mag ordered from Bauer Arms in the US) and a Bushnell 5-15 X50 scope.
    From some of the photos ive seen on the forums some of you lads have some beautiful rifles\guns -well happy and safe hunting to you all and i look forward to talking to you all !!!