Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignoring advice you should have taken

• 19-02-2010 3:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭

On my my into the gym earlier i passed a fella parking his van just outside the entrance to the gym car park. The small road leading to the entrance has double yellow lines and cars are forever being clamped on it. The guy got out and i told him about the clamping and that he should just move it inside. He was literally 50 feet away from a legit space in the lot. Upon coming out an hour later i noticed he chose to ignore my advice and now it was going to cost him 90 Euro to remove the clamp. I don't get why he didn't move it the fúcking idiot. 30 seconds more driving and he would have saved himself €90.

Anyone any stories of when you gave advice that was ignored and they paid the price. Or vice versa.

I ignored advice not to take a short cut through bushes in Panama due to snakes and sure enough i got bit and needed emergency treatment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I shouldn't have got in the van!
    "all that wrote is not always true"

2u3upuu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

Study hard in school and university. Tired old cliché but great advice in hindsight.

I sailed through with Cs and lived the party lifestyle from about 5th year of secondary school to end of university.

Then I noticed that every graduate job wanted a minimun 2:2, usually 2:1 before considering you. D'oh!!!!!

Took me 5 years of working my way up from the bottom of the career ladder to graduate job level and salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

My brain advised my hands not to click on my mouse to open this thread...

It didn't take it.:o:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 El Futurismo

I told them not to go into the long grass.

Wait a while before buying a house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Dont go near her, she's riddled ourlad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Stop doing that or you'll go blind..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Me: "Willie, Don't talk to that journalist, you'll end up regretting it!"
    Willie O'Dea:"Sure, ill be grand".

I might as well have been talking to the wall.

Stop doing that or you'll go blind..

Do you have a braille keyboard. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Do you have a braille keyboard. :pac:

:.:::. ...::::..:.:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Advice I regret not taking.

I was holding a girl's boobs once (yes, just the once .. hence the regret) and she said to me:

"If you leave me now, you'll take away the biggest part of me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My mother told me not to hurry love but I ignored her and took this one home, only to end up living separate lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

Don't eat the yellow snow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭eddie the eagle

don't eat the yellow snow

EDIT: can't believe i ate it after bryanjf. slushy seconds :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I never built it..... and they never came. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

I always remember being told, enjoy your school days - they're the best days of your life. God how true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I told them not to go into the long grass.
    Did they get jumped by a wild Pokémon? Amateur mistake really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Measure twice-cut once..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Don't mix grape and grain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Dont move out of Dublin...You will never buy back in...:(

Jesus how right they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

"Don't be **** buddies with your ex".

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

My oul fella told me that marraige was the maximum of loneliness married with the minimum of privacy. Jaysus he was on the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I tend to be the opposite.:(

5 years ago: 'Gowan meet her, ya wont be a frigid anymore, ya wont get slagged'
    I met her,
    Last week whilst drinking: 'Hey Baz, remember dah fat burd wih dah ronnie? Stayyte a hurr!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

"Use an extra club if playing across water"..........

If you ignore that advice you may find that you use an extra ball instead:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Arthur: You know, it's at times like this, when I'm trapped in a Vogon airlock with a man from Betelgeuse, and about to die of asphyxiation in deep space, that I really wish I'd listened to what my mother told me when I was young.
    Ford: Why, what did she tell you?
    Arthur: I don't know, I didn't listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

You're in danger of failing this subject. Ended up repeating the Leaving Cert because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

'Don't turn on the radio while I'm doing the shopping in Dunnes, the battery is low'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Don't play with matches.
    Still have a mark on my hand :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

dont get a 7euro haircut if its more complicated than 'short back and sides please'

I now look like Mr T

I always remember being told, enjoy your school days - they're the best days of your life. God how true

no they werent, being in school was the ****test thing ever, being young was good tho in some ways, dont call it school days, call it youth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

dont get a 7euro haircut if its more complicated than 'short back and sides please'

I now look like Mr T

I pity your foolishness.

But really it sounds awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

*Thinking to myself*

Should I go down on her?
    I dunno, Dug, I say leave it out this time!
    Hmmmm........
    Duggy, no.................ah, screw it!

*Undoes knickers*

*wretch*
    :(

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I pity your foolishness.

But really it sounds awesome!

you wanna see it? I used a razor on it when I got home because I didnt like how it ended up, then later I realised I had a Mr T

All I wanted was an 80's themes haircut, oh god Im only getting the irony now, I wanted more of a mild mullet type thing tho

Yes please, lol!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Yes please, lol!

lol ok here ya go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Not changing my CAO when I had a chance. One year completely wasted.

Nice one Kumate, get all the gold jewellery you can find!
    Not changing my CAO when I had a chance. One year completely wasted.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Shoulda gone to Specsavers...

only gold jewelery I have is a fake Rolex I got in Tijuana, I could throw snickers bars at random people tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

When I was young, I was bored at my grandmother's house and so I was playing with pepper. Yes.

My mother came in and was like "Janey mack! Don't get that pepper in your eye, it'll burn you! :eek:"

So I thought "yeah right", shook a good lot of the pepper out of the thing, and threw it directly into my eyes.

Turns out, she was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭silver_surfer

I was told I'd regreat not learning to swim when I was younger and I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

That's potentially lethal for a surfer. Best get to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I learned to swim the hard way.

I was drinking bottles of San Miguel in Santa Ponsa and laughing at people getting thrown into the pool by some mad lads from Palmerstown, you can guess the rest .. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I should have taken the blue pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

"That bitch is crazy. Avoid"

Wax finally out of ears now