Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pull -Push Steering

• 18-02-2010 12:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

Right Pull-Push steering .... alien to me, was showed it on the second lesson... 3rd lesson and well I still cannot get my head around it, I'd gone for so long feeding the steering wheel through my hands & I was comfortable with that and got around just fine with it.

Yes I know I have to master the pull push method, I just need to know am not the only one struggled with it in the beginning and anyone that did, how many lessons before you mastered it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Right Pull-Push steering .... alien to me, was showed it on the second lesson... 3rd lesson and well I still cannot get my head around it, I'd gone for so long feeding the steering wheel through my hands & I was comfortable with that and got around just fine with it.

Yes I know I have to master the pull push method, I just need to know am not the only one struggled with it in the beginning and anyone that did, how many lessons before you mastered it

the three p's= Practice, Practice, Practice

Don't just do it in lessons, do it all the time. You won't pick it up easily by just doing it in lessons and going back to your old routine when you get back out on your own.

The point of lessons is to learn how it's done, then when on your own you should keep doing it until it all comes naturally.

Then when you pass your test go back to driving however the hell you want and coast the hell outta your car ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭ha-ya-said-what

Well Cloneslad, that's another issue too cos there is no car to practise in at the mo, won't be one available until a couple of weeks! by then I'll prob be on my 5th lesson.

.... and with regards to the test & after driving ...:D that's why I booked one the min I got my permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

.... and with regards to the test & after driving ...:D that's why I booked one the min I got my permit.

you know you must have your learner's permit for 6 months before you can do your full test?

Note: you don't need to have it 6 months before you can apply, just the day of the test must be 6 months after receiving your permit.

cloneslad wrote: »
    you know you must have your learner's permit for 6 months before you can do your full test?

Note: you don't need to have it 6 months before you can apply, just the day of the test must be 6 months after receiving your permit.

Ahh here lol I ent a complete ditz, It's booked/paid for whatever you wanna call it lol it should be up around aug/sept ..... wonder could i just drive as I normally would to hell with learning new methods and just scare the be jaysus outta the tester on the day so they pass me so as never have to risk seeing me again.. hhmm

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

At first I found Push-pull steering awkward, and a slow way of doing what I could do before. But after a while, it becomes second nature and you can do it every bit as fast as you could with any other type of steering.

Cheers Timbuk2, that's all I wanted someone to say so I don't feel like a complete eejit not being able to master it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

The weird thing is that this is the correct way you are taught to do it in a car, while this is a disadvantage while doing it on a truck.It is better to cross your hands while turning. I know they are too different vehicles but strange all the same.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Cheers Timbuk2, that's all I wanted someone to say so I don't feel like a complete eejit not being able to master it.

No problem. Most people find it awkward at first, as it's not really instinctive, especially when trying to turn fast (e.g. parking). However, if you make an effort not to cross your hands over when driving (not just in lessons), it will come to you after a while (it won't take that long, just stick with it).

If you're having trouble getting it during the lessons, you could always practice with a circular bread board at home, but I don't think there is really any need!

Nah I'd get the rolling pin and mount it to the bread board and sit there at it and every so often going toot toot to scare the others outta the house :D .... provide myself a nice tranquil setting then.

Ahh I'll get it I was only shown it this week and in a fuzzy frame of mind all week sorting stuff out so it hasn't been the easiest to take in and it's frustrating cos am grand with everything else & the person teaching me to drive years ago did all their tests in the UK so they had not a clue what I was on about pull push

The whole hand at the top, pull down, push up ... after that it's been laaa laaa laaaa laaa laaa.

Like I said it's just nice to have someone say it is awkward at first. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Just do it the way you find it comfortable.
    At first it does feel awkward but soon you'll get used to it and it becomes second nature. Actually you'll never cross your hands once you've gotten used to the method.

Just stick to it for a while, go slow, no need to rush things. Make small movements. Don't try to "work" the wheel, just move (or "feed" as the instructors like to call it) it gently. Soon you'll get used to it.

Take it easy and don't develop any bad habits like using just one arm to steer or holding the wheel in the wrong place or crossing your hands. Cuz once you develop the habit then its hard to get rid of it.

Take it easy and don't develop any bad habits like using just one arm to steer

Already had that habit lol I just don't do it or cross hand with the instructor cos he'd kill me or ever since cos I've been trying ever since to get the hang of pull push & use only that. I haven't had a lesson dedicated to just steerin where I could be shown at a nice slow pace over and over until I got it. I'm always being told to pull from the top, down to 6, bring the other hand down and push up and by that stage it feels real awkward to me cos it feels too shape and impossible for me to straighten quick up quick enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Already had that habit lol I just don't do it or cross hand with the instructor cos he'd kill me or ever since cos I've been trying ever since to get the hang of pull push & use only that. I haven't had a lesson dedicated to just steerin where I could be shown at a nice slow pace over and over until I got it. I'm always being told to pull from the top, down to 6, bring the other hand down and push up and by that stage it feels real awkward to me cos it feels too shape and impossible for me to straighten quick up quick enough!

Well a whole lesson dedicated to just steering would be a bit of a waste though cuz its something you get with practice.

Don't try to do both the "push and pull" at once, cuz that is very awkward and almost impossible. Do it one at a time. Like say you're turning right, pull down with your right hand and then as you're done pulling, then push up with your left hand. Then as you're pushing up with your left hand, get your right hand up and grab the wheel to do the "pull" again and as you're doing the "pull" get your left hand back down to do the "push" again and so on.

Don't try to do both at once. Turning right, pull with right hand first and then push with left next and repeat. Turning left, pull with left first, as you've finished the pull, get ready to push with right hand and repeat...

You don't need to go from 12o'clock to 6o'clock, just go from 1-5 or 2-4, whatever you feel comfortable with.
    Just keep practicing that and you should be able to develop your own little technique of doing it which is most comfortable to you...

If you go to this page, and scroll down to 'How to Steer Correctly', you can watch a video on the correct way to do the Push-pull method.

http://www.drivingtesttips.ie/Irish-Driving-Test-Video-Tutorials.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

No problem. Most people find it awkward at first, as it's not really instinctive, especially when trying to turn fast (e.g. parking).
    The IAM (the biggest evangelists of pull-push) acknowledge that pull-push isn't really necessary at car park speeds. That said, I would try to keep it up at all times until you pass the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭DrivingsCool

Hey. Push Pull steering is very important on your driving test. Not so much so as from the physical end but of the factors from how the car benefits from it.

If the driving tester asks you about steering, always remember this...

DRY STEERING - Is turning the steering wheel when the car is not moving.
    This increases the wear on your tyres which can inturn form bald patches on your tyres. He can then follow on to questions like, what is the legal tyre thread depth, and how do you check that the thread is deep enough, to questions about braking and aqua plaining.

If you dont understand anything, always ask your ADI instructor.

<SNIP>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

This increases the wear on your tyres which can inturn form bald patches on your tyres.

I wouldn't be so sure about the tyre thing, hardly a cause of uneven wear. How likely is it that you "dry steer" on one patch of a tyre more than once?
    And even if you did, the likelihood of uneven wear is minimal.
    There are other more serious issues which can cause uneven tyre wear e.g. poor steering alignment, incorrect tyre pressures, damaged/mis-shapen tyres, suspension faults etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭DrivingsCool

kazul wrote: »
    I wouldn't be so sure about the tyre thing, hardly a cause of uneven wear. How likely is it that you "dry steer" on one patch of a tyre more than once?
    There are other more serious issues which can cause uneven tyre wear e.g. poor steering alignment, incorrect tyre pressures, damaged/mis-shapen tyres, suspension faults etc.

Your telling me!hahah Its all part of the driving test. Maybe you could take this up with Gay Byrne, as he is the boss of the RSA, Isnt he?

But Gay Byrne didn't post that, you did :confused:
    Unless you're quoting directly from RSA literature, in which case they don't have a great understanding of mechanics. You are more likely to put undue strain on steering and suspension components by "dry steering", I do acknowledge that.
    But causing bald spots? Come on, tyres are not made of putty or plasticine.
    Try it yourself, "dry steer" about 10 turns of your seering wheel, move forward and check to see if there's rubber laid down on the road surface.
    Then pull a little handbrake turn.
    Which do you think causes uneven tyre wear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭ADI34722

Right here is one for you. Rather than trying to do it on the fly, try this. Works all the time.

The Turnabout.

Be hard on yourself. Dont let yourself away with any mistakes. Find a standard size road in a housing estate thats quiet.

Rule 1. You are not allowed to turn the wheel while the car is still on the road. Move the car before you turn the wheel.

Rule 2. Draw an imaginary line thru the centre of the steering wheel from the windscreen to the seat. Your right hand is not allowed across the line to the left and your left is not allowed onto the right.

Rule 3. Use all the steering wheel. Push and Pull.

Rule 4. Keep the speed down. Try just using the clutch.

Do this about 5-7 times completing the turn everytime.

Give it a try. I did this on my ADI exams stage 3 and the tester stated that he never seen a system like it before, to concentrate on clutch control and steering thats so effective. 98% i beleive is an A+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭ADI34722

Hum Dry Steering. Well i dont think it would cause a bald patch on the tyre. Id be more worried about it pushing a nail or stone up into the tyre.

Equally unlikely, although the weirdest puncture repair I ever did involved animal teeth embedded in the tyre.
    Dry steering is no more likely to cause a "foreign object" puncture than normal driving.

Hey. Push Pull steering is very important on your driving test. Not so much so as from the physical end but of the factors from how the car benefits from it.

This increases the wear on your tyres which can inturn form bald patches on your tyres. He can then follow on to questions like, what is the legal tyre thread depth, and how do you check that the thread is deep enough, to questions about braking and aqua plaining.

If you dont understand anything, always ask your ADI instructor.

<SNIP>

I'm aware of all this .... I know farrrr to much about cars been around em all the days of my life, I was just never bothered learnin to drive properly cos I never had the need, I'd only be moving cars around the yard or from A-B out of the garage. I just come with bad habits from my old driving so the whole push pull is bllleeeeahhh to me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭driverite

Guys there is NO Mark awarded for dry steering on a test. When i did my test many years ago there was, But not now.

I'm aware of all this .... I know farrrr to much about cars

Just not how to steer them properly :D

And just not how to not speed lol