Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What a bunch of race facers

• 17-02-2010 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

I didn't have to work till twelve today, so I dropped the kids to school and took myself for a little training ride in preparation for this 100k Bray malarkey on Sunday. Up Howth I went and then back down and then back up from the other side. Beautiful day. Felt great.

On my second descent, and on the bike path along the coast I passed a total of sixteen riders going the other way. I waved hello at every single one. I got one backwards nod in return. I was not, I should point out, wearing my 'Cyclist Are Filthy Scum' t-shirt.

I'm not looking for a American levels of joviality and friendliness. I can live without a shouted 'Beautiful morning!' But people, would it kill you to raise three fingers off the bar for a microsecond?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Perhaps those cyclists were once wavers, but found the lack of response discouraging and are now unprepared for your gesture.

Ultimately, negativity seeds negativity and it's negativity that has this country where it is today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

I got that reaction sometimes when I am in Dublin and I decide to take a spin up to Blessington on my bike.

Have to say though that the majority of cyclists will say hello or nod/wave.

Down here it is the same : split 75/25 in terms of the acknowledgers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

I didn't have to work till twelve today, so I dropped the kids to school and took myself for a little training ride in preparation for this 100k Bray malarkey on Sunday. Up Howth I went and then back down and then back up from the other side. Beautiful day. Felt great.

On my second descent, and on the bike path along the coast I passed a total of sixteen riders going the other way. I waved hello at every single one. I got one backwards nod in return. I was not, I should point out, wearing my 'Cyclist Are Filthy Scum' t-shirt.

I'm not looking for a American levels of joviality and friendliness. I can live without a shouted 'Beautiful morning!' But people, would it kill you to raise three fingers off the bar for a microsecond?

You didnt really want 3 fingers off the bar.... we all know you wanted something like this

http://media.thestar.topscms.com/images/44/4b/2d4b0a484c318c6bca47a69115aa.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

Lumen wrote: »
    Perhaps those cyclists were once wavers, but found the lack of response discouraging and are now unprepared for your gesture.

Ultimately, negativity seeds negativity and it's negativity that has this country where it is today.

Actually I think that was Fianna Fáil and the Catholic Church. But I shall continue to wave and smile regardless, in the face of race facing. For the good of the country!

dario28 wrote: »
    You didnt really want 3 fingers off the bar.... we all know you wanted something like this

http://media.thestar.topscms.com/images/44/4b/2d4b0a484c318c6bca47a69115aa.jpeg

Actually, I can't post what I really wanted. But yeah, three fingers is never enough...

One shall NEVER, under any circumstances, acknowledge the presence of a cyclist riding a bike costing less than 2000€ in ANY public place. This may be severely detrimental to one’s image. If such a situation cannot be helped, it is CRITICAL that the Euro Cyclist regard his “acquaintance” with a patrician mixture of disdain and SEVERE condescension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Waving protocol is byzantine in its complexity. Without a full description of your attire, your bike, the attire and bikes of the wavees, the context (time of day, exact location, lunar declination, etc.) it's very hard to weigh in...

...i wave (nod really) to fellow roadies when I'm in roadie mode, and to felow fixiers when in fixie mode. Crossing these boundaries tends to confuse people. I never wave to high-viz hybrid man, simply because past experience has shown that it clearly confuses him. I do this nodding in the full knowledge that I'm as likely to be met with a derisory sneer as a reciprocal greeting, but I continue to nod regardless.

tour_of_california.basso.bettini.jpg

edit: what the hell is Bettini doing with his glasses underneath his helmet straps? Is there some kind of exemption for Italian national champions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I always wondered about this too.

When I'm driving no one expects me to acknowledge them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm walking no one expects me to acknowledge them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm having a piss at in the jacks in a pub no one expects me to wave and say hello to them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.

When I'm running people expect me to acknowledge them even though I don't know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm cyclingpeople expect me to acknowledge them even though I don't know them just because we doing the same activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

tunney wrote: »

When I'm driving no one expects me to acknowledge them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm walking no one expects me to acknowledge them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm having a piss at in the jacks in a pub no one expects me to wave and say hello to them unless I know them just because we doing the same activity.

Have ya never left the Pale.....ya cant do any of those activities with out saying hello outside of Dublin !

We don't consider ourselves to be better than everyone else when walking or driving or taking a piss. When exercising though it's like: 'Yeah, you and me buddy! We're the only not quite obese, well cultured souls left on the planet! Wave me baby!'

I was riding an entry-level Trek and wearing winter running gear. It all comes clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

That's a very negative attitude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Was out from Dublin to Blessington and nearly Baltinglass on Saturday, and was getting nods from ALL the Tracktor drivers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Rules aside, I wouldn't lose sleep over it. Sometimes you can be chatting to people in the bunch, wondering why the bike in front of you is making odd noises or even thinking about food. At any rate, I don't think it's personal, unless someone spat at you, then it was probably personal.

enda1 wrote: »
    That's a very negative attitude!

It was a failed attempt at an ironic reference to the contents of the OP's sig. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

When I'm running people expect me to acknowledge them even though I don't know them just because we doing the same activity.
    When I'm cyclingpeople expect me to acknowledge them even though I don't know them just because we doing the same activity.
    I take it you are not much of a waver tunney. Disrupts your aerodynamics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Hi everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

hokusai_wave_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

blorg wrote: »
    I take it you are not much of a waver tunney. Disrupts your aerodynamics?

I remember when a relative from the back ar$e of nowhere came up to Dublin and was walking down Grafton street. She said hello to every single person she passed because that was what she did at home and it was only being polite.

The belly and the wing mirror on the bars do the aero distruptions :)

It was a failed attempt at an ironic reference to the contents of the OP's sig. ;)

And the OP failed to get it too. How embarrassing for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Just my observation of wavers from a year or two of cycling

Phoenix park - Unusual to receive a wave
    Howth Cycle track - Again unusual
    Howth hill - Higher frequency of nodding and waves
    Wicklow area - Again more likely to get a wave or nod

Then theres the case were both parties just look at each other waiting to receive the wave instead of giving it resulting in nothing. Classic mistake. It could of be the case that you miss the discreet 3 finger elevation from handlebar salute. For the most part im not a giver, that may change this year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marvinthefish

I passed a total of sixteen riders going the other way.

Are riders different to cyclists? As in, is there a greater expectation that people in proper cycling gear, shades and a on road bike should wave/say hello/whatever, than, say, commuters or BMXers?

I was on that cycle track going from Clontarf to Howth this afternoon. I passed a number of "roadies", if you will, but I didn't feel at all obligated or inclined to wave or say hello for a number of reasons: I was just going home on my bike, not out for a recreational cycle ; I was wearing jeans, tshirt and wooly hat ; I was on my hybrid con mudguards and panniers, not a shiny road bike ; I was going over Baldwin's rules (don't ask) in my head. Would I have been an example of one of the 16 riders you saw or no? Should I wave to roadies in future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭redmaxi

I was doing a solo 100km spin the other day. I saluted about six riders that I passed along the way and not a response from one of 'em. The last fella just kinda sneered at me. I was on the racer and euro clad to the hilt so no excuse there.
    Now I'll always salute another rider and if they don't salute back I don't mind but six in a row had me a bit pi**ed. So when I passed another one when almost home I didn't bother saluting and he nearly fell off the bike enthusiastically waving at me. Faith restored.
    I think it's about being the minority. Like you pass someone on the empty street at 7am - they salute. Pass the same person on the same but now busier street at 12pm and they don't of course salute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭coolbeans

I'm still getting used to the drop bars so don't like to wave like a goon when I'm out as I'm afraid I'll fall on me arse. It's not cool either, or euro for that matter and I am coolbeans after all :p I find a knowing nod does the job plus you don't feel like a complete tool if you fail to get a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Garlic Suplmnt

I hit a rich seam last Saturday. Everyone I passed from Saggart to Celbridge had a Hokusai (see above) sized wave for me - and got one right back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Likewise, I was out on Sunday- Dunshaughlin, Navan, Trim sort of areas. All waved bar one. Dublin thing perhaps? (Braces self for backlash).

Are riders different to cyclists? As in, is there a greater expectation that people in proper cycling gear, shades and a on road bike should wave/say hello/whatever, than, say, commuters or BMXers?
    Yes very different.
    I was on that cycle track going from Clontarf to Howth this afternoon. I passed a number of "roadies", if you will, but I didn't feel at all obligated or inclined to wave or say hello for a number of reasons: I was just going home on my bike, not out for a recreational cycle ; I was wearing jeans, tshirt and wooly hat ; I was on my hybrid con mudguards and panniers, not a shiny road bike ; I was going over Baldwin's rules (don't ask) in my head. Would I have been an example of one of the 16 riders you saw or no? Should I wave to roadies in future?
    You are not obligated to wave, indeed you should NOT wave and if you do wave you will be ignored. Them is the rules.

redmaxi wrote: »
    I was doing a solo 100km spin the other day. I saluted about six riders that I passed along the way and not a response from one of 'em. The last fella just kinda sneered at me. I was on the racer and euro clad to the hilt so no excuse there.
    Now I'll always salute another rider and if they don't salute back I don't mind but six in a row had me a bit pi**ed. So when I passed another one when almost home I didn't bother saluting and he nearly fell off the bike enthusiastically waving at me. Faith restored.
    I think it's about being the minority. Like you pass someone on the empty street at 7am - they salute. Pass the same person on the same but now busier street at 12pm and they don't of course salute.

I think Michael McIntyre used something similar in one of his routines, about country life versus city life. The gist of it was that in the country everyone waves and says hello because there might be 10 people in your village, if you got onto the tube in London and started saying hello to every single person, you would look like a bit of a simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

I reckon that the chance of recieving a wave back is directly proportianal to the number of girls in your group.

I was reciting Ulysses backwards in my head. In the Polish translation. I still waved.

And although the majority of the sixteen were 'roadies' there were a couple of flat-barred commuters too. But I wave at everyone on two wheels. Well, apart from recumbent riders. They make me feel funny and incapable of digital manipulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭buffalo

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I think Michael McIntyre used something similar in one of his routines, about country life versus city life. The gist of it was that in the country everyone waves and says hello because there might be 10 people in your village, if you got onto the tube in London and started saying hello to every single person, you would look like a bit of a simpleton.

Doing Galway-Dublin, I would've loved to have counted and graphed the number of one-fingered waves* I got from drivers, never mind cyclists and pedestrians; they steadily declined as I headed east toward Dublin.

Though that was without lycra nor a road bike, so perhaps they thought I was a local.

*not the rude kind, but where the index finger extends from the steering wheel in acknowledgement.

buffalo wrote: »
    *not the rude kind, but where the index finger extends from the steering wheel in acknowledgement.

The farmer's wave.

Around here people don't wave when you let them pass, reverse out of a parking space. Or at least rarely.

If I got upset about it I'd probably have to pull over and cry every 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭lamai

you are living in the city too long. I wave at everyone I pass.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

It's a bit more complicated than that. I live in Kilkenny City but we've a farm a few miles out. When you're in the true country, as in where you can smell slurry, you wave to everyone you pass if you're on a road that leads to your area. This is to make sure that you don't upset any neighbours i.e. people that could potentially do you a turn in the future by not waving at them, so it's best just to wave at everyone. I could be out on the weekend in town and someone could say to me, "you're an awfull ignorant bollix, I passed you in the car the other day and you never waved back" or worse still someone could call you an ignorant bollix in the village on a Saturday night and sure you wouldn't be around to defend yourself at all and the whole place thinking you're some ignorant bollix.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Yer man Jersey Eire, now there was some ignorant bollix. Whatever came of him, haven't seen him around these parts for quite a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

blorg wrote: »
    Yer man Jersey Eire, now there was some ignorant bollix. Whatever came of him, haven't seen him around these parts for quite a while.

He may not have waved much but when you were cycling with him he used to talk you into submission:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

My perspective.
    From Limerick (no one waves). Lived 15 yrs in Dublin. Mostly roadies wave to other roadies but not always and never to Pobs or trufflehunters.
    Now live in Kerry. Everyone waves. The bus driver, truckers, white van men, farmers on tractors, kids in souped up cars, grannies, joggers, walkers, roadies, trufflehunters, councilmen leaning on shovels.
    The waves are the one raised finger or nod if acknowledgement. Its nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    The farmer's wave.

Around here people don't wave when you let them pass, reverse out of a parking space. Or at least rarely.

If I got upset about it I'd probably have to pull over and cry every 5 minutes.

I sometimes like to try this one out to pedestrians and other cyclists when I'm driving, see how many wave back, and occasionally even stop turn round and wonder, 'who was that? I feel very guilty for not recognising them...' Does this make me a bad person? I live in a Dublin suburb, where people who know each other are expected to say hi to each other unless they're hiding some sort of desperate housewives style drama.

When on the rothar I tend to say hi to most other cyclists, even if it's just a nod. Initially, I think I might have been too friendly, but I have stoped offering water to POB's who pull up at lights beside me, nobody ever said yes...