Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NAB Cup 2010

• 13-02-2010 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭

Great start for the Eagles last night with Nic Nat looking super. Kennedy and Le Cras look to have picked up where they left off last year and it was good to see Kerr out on the ground again.

Hawks battered the Tigers tonight and Richmond look like they have a long season ahead.

In a bit of a surprise, Port beat a much fancied Adelaide side quite comfortably.

nicnat-star-turn246a.jpg
    franklin-nab-mark-hero246a.jpg
    salter-nab-cup246b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Didnt get to see the Eagles game, glad they won though. Nic Natanui is gonna be one to watch out for this season.
    Caught 2 quarters of Hawks v. Tigers, Tigers were terrible. Couldnt do anything right. Hawks were good though, although im not sure whether thats because of how bad the tigers were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

I see Tommy Walsh is named in the provisional Saints squad for Friday against Collingwood. By all accounts he was a bit lost in the intra-club last week so we're unlikely to see too much of him, if at all.

Xavi, Nic Nat looked awesome last week, don't think I've ever seen a player with his physical size dominate so much in contested play on the ground. How do you reckon the Eagles will manage him and Cox during the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

SSK wrote: »
    Xavi, Nic Nat looked awesome last week, don't think I've ever seen a player with his physical size dominate so much in contested play on the ground. How do you reckon the Eagles will manage him and Cox during the season?

Well it all depends on Cox's fitness. We need someone to share to load though. Lynch was wasted in the ruck last year and Seaby had his heart set on leaving so we struggled.

Nic Nat will get his fair share of ruck work but I can see him spending a bit of time in the forward line as well. Either way he's pretty damn special. Saw him out in a club the other week and he doesn't look like much at all really!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Well it all depends on Cox's fitness. We need someone to share to load though. Lynch was wasted in the ruck last year and Seaby had his heart set on leaving so we struggled.

Nic Nat will get his fair share of ruck work but I can see him spending a bit of time in the forward line as well. Either way he's pretty damn special. Saw him out in a club the other week and he doesn't look like much at all really!

Yeah he sounded like a very humble kid when I heard him interviewed after he kicked those 3 goals against the hawks last year.

How do you see the Eagles fairing this year. I like how they're shaping up, with a young midfield, Kennedy LeCras and Lynch up forward and one of the best full backs in the league. Possibly Top 8 this year but give it a couple of years and they'll be seriously in the mix again.

I think we could go well this year. Top 8 is definitely in sight.

Kerr is back now and we have so much energy in the midfield. Dalzell is a great signing and Tom Swift looked good last year. Throw them in with Masten, Priddis, Rosa, Ebert and Embley and you've got a lot of depth.

Le Cras will kick over 50 again and Kennedy looked good last week.

Also great to have Beau Waters back. The guy is an absolute legend.

I think we could go well this year. Top 8 is definitely in sight.

Kerr is back now and we have so much energy in the midfield. Dalzell is a great signing and Tom Swift looked good last year. Throw them in with Masten, Priddis, Rosa, Ebert and Embley and you've got a lot of depth.

Le Cras will kick over 50 again and Kennedy looked good last week.

Also great to have Beau Waters back. The guy is an absolute legend.

Ah yes Beau Waters, probably the biggest fantasy footy tease ever! You reckon he can keep himself fit for the whole season? A good player if he can.

Not sold on Dalziell personally, its not as if Brisbane are overloaded with quality mids and they still let him go. Suspect disposal as well. I reckon Schuey could be the one to watch there, along with Swift, who was touted as a top 5 pick but had injury issues afaik.

I reckon the 8 will be last years top 6, with the Hawks recovering from the mess they had with injuries last year, and the last spot being a toss up between WCE, Carlton and Sydney, who'll surprise a few I reckon

Ah yes Beau Waters, probably the biggest fantasy footy tease ever! You reckon he can keep himself fit for the whole season? A good player if he can.

I really hope so. He's hard as fook and a great player as well. Such a pity he's on the sidelines when you consider the shape he's in -

281009spteagles5-15efoi6.jpg

Not sold on Dalziell personally, its not as if Brisbane are overloaded with quality mids and they still let him go. Suspect disposal as well. I reckon Schuey could be the one to watch there, along with Swift, who was touted as a top 5 pick but had injury issues afaik.

I haven't seen much of Schuey myself but a lot of fans are raving over him.

Dalzell is apparently one of, if not the best, runners at the club and could be handy come tight fourth quarter games when others are tired and his distribution isn't as noticeable.
    I reckon the 8 will be last years top 6, with the Hawks recovering from the mess they had with injuries last year, and the last spot being a toss up between WCE, Carlton and Sydney, who'll surprise a few I reckon

I don't think you'll be far off with that. The Hawks looked quality last weekend.

Looking forward Friday Night Football tomorrow night with Collingwood v Sydney :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

anything I saw of Dalziel seemed to be good. And I had thought much of the reason he left Brisbane was to move home to WA. seems to be a good runner and works well around the middle. Eagles have had feck all players in that area worth talking about since Judd and Cousins left.

Pies playing Saints in the Friday night game xavi? Or am I missing an in house joke or something? :o:

bruschi wrote: »
    Pies playing Saints in the Friday night game xavi? Or am I missing an in house joke or something? :o:

Yep that game is on tonight. Missus is heading out so that leaves home alone with the footy. Result! :D

Sounded like a decent game, unusuaal for the NAB Cup.

I reckon Riewoldt is the best player in the league at this stage, gonna dominate with a full pre-season behind him, playing in one of the top teams.

A good comeback by the Pies all the same, were 40 odd points down at one stage. Jolly was a great acquisition, should mean we're there or thereabouts come the end of the year.

That was some finish! Cracking stuff for a first hitout in preseason.

Saints by a point 100-99

Good win by Freo, not the prettiest game. But a win is a win :)

Mackman wrote: »
    Good win by Freo, not the prettiest game. But a win is a win :)

Only saw bits and pieces of the Freo game on a stream yesterday (before my internet died :mad:), but they seem to be developing a solid core of players with some promising youngsters (Barlow was particularly impressive, should probably get a rookie elevation). If they can afford to keep Pav up forward for most of the year they should get a decent amount of wins.

Melbourne looked awful though, skill level of most of the players is absolutely shocking. It'll take a good few years before they're seriously competing again.

Only saw bits and pieces of the Freo game on a stream yesterday (before my internet died :mad:), but they seem to be developing a solid core of players with some promising youngsters (Barlow was particularly impressive, should probably get a rookie elevation). If they can afford to keep Pav up forward for most of the year they should get a decent amount of wins.

Melbourne looked awful though, skill level of most of the players is absolutely shocking. It'll take a good few years before they're seriously competing again.

Yeah, something like 11 out of 18 of freo's starting team were eithe in their 1st or 2nd year. I was impressed with Clancee Pierce too, played a stormer. Freo are looking dangerous in the front line, with Pav and Ballentyne (love that kid, brings a flare to the game).

Melbourne were terrible though, (wooden spoon 3 years in a row looks likely, if they keep playing like that) so its easy to say that freo had a great game. The real test will be against a top 8 team

Delighted Freo got done!

Saints v Dogs in the final. Possible early version of the Grand Final?

Good win for the Eagles over Carlton on Saturday in a challenge game.

Delighted Freo got done!

At least they got to the semi's.

Poor display by the Dockers though. We had no forward line. Ballintyne, Mundy, Mayne, Headland, and Sandilands were missing. If they had the team that bet North Melbourne, it would have been a different game. (Probably still wouldn't have won, but it would have been a better game) I think Harvey now knows what he has to do for the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭No_Deal

Delighted Freo got done!

Saints v Dogs in the final. Possible early version of the Grand Final?

Good win for the Eagles over Carlton on Saturday in a challenge game.

pretty pessimistic regards the blues this year.

Great win by the Dogs this morning in the final. Big Bad Barry kicked seven and won man of the match. I only saw the last quarter but they looked seriously good. You've got to think that if everyone stays fit they'll be very hard beat come the regular season