Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunnes Stores and charity collectors

• 12-02-2010 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭

Ya I like to support and buy Irish as much as possible but Im getting fed up of people collecting money in Dunnes

I can pack me own bags the odd time Maggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Damn chackers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Yea I know what you mean. I was in Dunnes yesterday and had my bag packed. I needed the change though for my bus fare. Your one wasn't too pleased. I wouldn't mind but she was chattin to the cashier about what they are doing for the weekend lol
    Also why is it always for a dance schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I tell them not to do it, they always pack them arseways anyway

The local football club is always in there collecting for some trip or other, I'm not paying for your fcuking holiday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Ever just pack your own bags and you can feel their eyes staring into you.
    I love that stuff.
    I don't really care about The Billy Barry Kids and have no wish to give them my money.
    I'm not going to apologise, I'm sorrry, that's just the way I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I dunno,

There's something not quite right having kids bag my Condoms, baby oil, rubber gloves and vodka for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Running clothesline!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Well if it's an adult doing it then it's not too bad, at least most of them have the sense not to put certain things in the same bag. It's when kids/teenagers are doing it that there are problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't see the problem with it at all tbh; it's nearly always for charity. Fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

By law, if you pack your own bags, they have to give you money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭derekon

Although these people can be a nuisance, its always nice to give a few cents to charity and a lot of them are volunteering of their time

Also a quick tip if you see a teenager or child about to bag your groceries - separate your goods into different sections as you put them onto the conveyor belt (example meat with meat and soap with toilet rolls), that way they are bagged according to your wishes :)

However I did get caught before when buying condoms and lube; the nosey old cow packing my bag asked me what the lube was for. I could not think and told her it was a new brand of hair gel :cool:

Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ya I like to support and buy Irish as much as possible but Im getting fed up of people collecting money in Dunnes

Dont see the connection ?
    brummytom wrote: »
    I don't see the problem with it at all tbh; it's nearly always for charity. Fair play to them

I like to choose which charities I give money to rather than having others make the decision for me
    derekon wrote: »
    However I did get caught before when buying condoms and lube; the nosey old cow packing my bag asked me what the lube was for. I could not think and told her it was a new brand of hair gel :cool:

Wouldnt even have dignified such a question with a response

Certainely not a polite one at any rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Situation : It seems most people are in favour of the charity aspect of this arrangement but are against the intrusion caused by these people (and the incompetent quality) of packing our groceries.

Possible Solution : Perhaps (as before) they could stand at the end of the checkout and if you pay them a small donation they will offer NOT to help you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Charity me hole, where I live it's football clubs and boyscouts

bonerm wrote: »
    Possible Solution : Perhaps (as before) they could stand at the end of the checkout and if you pay them a small donation they will offer NOT to help you?

I'd rather if they were just standing there with a bucket or something.
    At least that way I could avoid them without any real difficulty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I'm not going to apologise, I'm sorrry, that's just the way I am.
    You just did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

phasers wrote: »
    Charity me hole, where I live it's football clubs and boyscouts

Same here. Its not as if the GAA are broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Buy your condoms and lube in the sex shop, no bag packers there!

You just did.

It was a Simpsons reference. ;)
    Lisa Simpson: Dad, is this another one of those situations that could be solved by a simple apology?
    Homer Simpson: I never apologize, Lisa. I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

efb wrote: »
    Buy your condoms and lube in the sex shop, no bag packers there!

Fudge packers though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Fudge packers though.

I knew that would be posted! You line em up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭derekon

Fudge packers though.

:):):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Most of the "charity" packers aren't collecting for charities, but for local sports and dancing groups. These people can go and whistle.

For the proper charities, it's best to pay them not to pack your groceries, unless you want washing powder in your corn-flakes for breakfast, or squashed-flat loaves of bread soaked in egg-yolk and shampoo.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

its never charities in my local dunnes, so far we have had boy scouts, tae kwon do, school trips to belguim etc... these are HOBBIES for pampered, spoiled little fat kids.

i got a pay cut this year. i had to give up gym membership, yoga classes holidays and nights out in order to make ends meet.

im in dunnes buying veggies to make soup so i can eat till payday, im NOT going to pay for your little spawns hobbies to keep them out from under your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

Just tell them you'll do it yourself. It's no big deal, they don't have some deep desire to pack your bags that will leave them heartbroken if you don't let them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Just tell them you'll do it yourself. It's no big deal, they don't have some deep desire to pack your bags that will leave them heartbroken if you don't let them.

Yeah, but it starts with "Please don't do that", then rapidly goes downhill to a point where you're threatening to impale the scoutmaster on an asparagus tip, and there's children crying, and the manager comes running out and falls over another child, and the scoutmaster is trying to make a reef knot from your baguette, and then you can't remember your pin over the sound of approaching sirens, all because you didn't want the fabric conditioner on top of the plums.

Or so I've heard.

Thoie wrote: »
    Yeah, but it starts with "Please don't do that", then rapidly goes downhill to a point where you're threatening to impale the scoutmaster on an asparagus tip, and there's children crying, and the manager comes running out and falls over another child, and the scoutmaster is trying to make a reef knot from your baguette, and then you can't remember your pin over the sound of approaching sirens, all because you didn't want the fabric conditioner on top of the plums.

Or so I've heard.

Or at least you get the evil eye before being booed out of the shop on your walk of Catholic guilt-ridden shame, forever marked as one of the meanest bastards in town.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

I never knew they even did it for charities. It's always been GAA clubs where I've been. "Here, in exchange for me inconveniencing you by mixing up all your food, you can give money towards a sport you've never shown any interest in whatsoever".

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Lord ButterSlip

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Or at least you get the evil eye before being booed out of the shop on your walk of Catholic guilt-ridden shame, forever marked as one of the meanest bastards in town.:(

Whats to be sad about that?
    Id rather have my change in my pocket and labelled mean than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

That could never happen, sounds very far fetched to me. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I hate these people. When I see them (it's always in Dunnes for some reason) I turn around and go to another shop.

There should be at least 33% of checkouts where you do not encounter these parasites waiting to put their snot covered hands onto your food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Not just Dunnes though, I've had them in my Tesco two weeks in a row :eek::mad:, I just tell them I'll pack my own bags, if it is a worthwhile charity I might throw a bit of money in but won't let them pack my bags.

Whats to be sad about that?
    Id rather have my change in my pocket and labelled mean than anything else.

My Catholic guilt forced me to put that at the end, but in reality I couldn't give a fuck either.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Far as I can see even the supermarkets dreed them.

Antbert wrote: »
    I never knew they even did it for charities. It's always been GAA clubs where I've been. "Here, in exchange for me inconveniencing you by mixing up all your food, you can give money towards a sport you've never shown any interest in whatsoever".

Thanks.

Greedy feckers - they're the last ones to need any cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ya I like to support and buy Irish
    Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Dont see the connection ?.
    Possibly reference to lidl, where they could not really have packers. I love the lidl setup, pay and get the f*ck away from my till you subhuman, NEXT.

I nearly always have a backpack so they never bother me as it would seem odd to ask to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭franklyshocked

I've been saying this for ages. I'm signing on for the last year, have a mortgage to pay and a family to feed, and every fecking week without fail there's a different group packing bags, can I have a bloody week off or what!
    I reckon its such a lucrative racket for "charities" you have to apply weeks in advance just to get a spot at this stage.
    But you get all sorts from schools looking for funding to religious groups looking to put a new roof on the church.
    I got some looks a few weeks ago when I told one woman I didn't give money to religious groups. She asked why, I said I'm an athiest for a start and secondly I thought god provides ;)
    You're almost pressured into giving these days and for all of you that say "just don't give" you try it in the middle of a shopping centre with they eye's of the world burning a hole in the back of your neck

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

rubadub wrote: »
    Possibly reference to lidl, where they could not really have packers. I love the lidl setup, pay and get the f*ck away from my till you subhuman, NEXT.

I nearly always have a backpack so they never bother me as it would seem odd to ask to take it.

+1, I was in Boots a few months ago and they had 'girl scouts' some other pre'pubescent group of females packing bags.. (I actually ranted on here about this at the time) and I couldn't believe it, whatever about packing peoples spuds and carrots, but a group of kids packing peoples personal stuff.. there was a woman in front of me buying a pregnancy test and the CHILD who insisted on packing it for her was flashing it to her comrades on the next till and having a great laugh.. who the hell organized this stuff..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I've been saying this for ages. I'm signing on for the last year, have a mortgage to pay and a family to feed, and every fecking week without fail there's a different group packing bags, can I have a bloody week off or what!
    I reckon its such a lucrative racket for "charities" you have to apply weeks in advance just to get a spot at this stage.
    But you get all sorts from schools looking for funding to religious groups looking to put a new roof on the church.
    I got some looks a few weeks ago when I told one woman I didn't give money to religious groups. She asked why, I said I'm an athiest for a start and secondly I thought god provides ;)
    You're almost pressured into giving these days and for all of you that say "just don't give" you try it in the middle of a shopping centre with they eye's of the world burning a hole in the back of your neck

I know, I tried saying "it's ok I'll do it myself" and they look at you as if you've just run over a puppy.. I wouldn't mind but they haven't a clue, they just f*ck your stuff into one bag, I worked in Dunnes for a bit when I was in College and I know how you're meant to pack a bag and they obviously haven't even been shown the basics.. Raw meat in with your breat etc.. ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

These people can go and whistle.

Chill out with the vicious insults, FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

ffs they aren't forcing you to give them anything. If you don't want to give them money, well don't. They aren't putting a gun to your head.

"Oh noes they are making me feel awkward...." Grow a pair and walk away if you don't feel like donating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Greedy feckers - they're the last ones to need any cash.

The vast majority of clubs are not submerged in cash, shows what you know

aDeener wrote: »

The vast majority of clubs are not submerged in cash, shows what you know

They should go and get some off the GAA big knobs then, the ones who get handouts from our tax contributions in the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Its wrong in one way! The way the approach and hound you,its right for genuine charities to collect but not stand over your ear with a bucket or rttle the bejesus out of it in front of your face with a face like a bag of spanners

Some charities do hound you which is wrong and they should not be allowed.
    Many a time ive been asked if i wanted my bag packed and id say no because they cant pack them properly.When they continue to pack and say ahhh i will help you anyway that pisses me off big time.

I even resorted to bringing totes like the tesco home deliveries use and the same thing. i get to the till and with spectacular observation "you have no bags"
    Id say yeah well done its so you cant pack any and they will still say ahhh i will give you a hand.

If they were not so "in your face" It would be fine to collect and only at peoples will.

Thats my thoughts anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Dr. Jonathan Crane

I don't give them a cent, they do a sh*te job and are usually standing around talking to their mates at the other checkout.