Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Query on angry white van man

• 10-02-2010 3:52pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Guys a quick question, was driving yesterday in a 1.0 corsa. coming down the slip at blanch shopping centre heading citybound.

Trying to move out of the lane to go northbound to go citybound, clown in a white van was level with me, indicating all the time i sped up as did he, i slowed down as did he.

So i was blunt in my movement into the lane as my other option was crashing:eek:.
    Anyway he pulls up beside me with both my window and his passenger window closed and starts talking, i just ignore him cos i cant hear eventually he realises this and rolls down his window. So he asks what I was playing at, I said you sped up and slowed down to stop me entering the lane etc. He says then he seen me on the phone (which i wasnt) so i said try and prove it so he said he was gonna call the Gardai.

I'm going to presume they wont actually do anything??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

they might...

..laugh at him or ignore him :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

The guy has probably since been a tool to ten other motorists and long forgotten you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I agree, but when i seen him write down my reg i started to wonder :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ignore him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I agree, but when i seen him write down my reg i started to wonder :)

Tell the Gardai he was writing while driving.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭allisbleak

Guys a quick question, was driving yesterday in a 1.0 corsa. coming down the slip at blanch shopping centre heading citybound.

Trying to move out of the lane to go northbound to go citybound, clown in a white van was level with me, indicating all the time i sped up as did he, i slowed down as did he.

So i was blunt in my movement into the lane as my other option was crashing:eek:.
    Anyway he pulls up beside me with both my window and his passenger window closed and starts talking, i just ignore him cos i cant hear eventually he realises this and rolls down his window. So he asks what I was playing at, I said you sped up and slowed down to stop me entering the lane etc. He says then he seen me on the phone (which i wasnt) so i said try and prove it so he said he was gonna call the Gardai.

Moral is don't play speed up and slow down next time with crazy people. You will lose. Mind your own business and stay out of trouble, and stay off the phone.

allisbleak wrote: »
    Moral is don't play speed up and slow down next time with crazy people. You will lose. Mind your own business and stay out of trouble, and stay off the phone.

did you even read the OP's post?

stupid stupid post.(yours that is)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

moral acually is men are now emasculated to the point where angry white van man now pretends to write your number down and lies about telling on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I wouldnt worry about it OP. If (its a big if) he complains, the Gardai still wont and cant do anything. They have to witness your wrongdoing to prosecute you. Otherwise any old Tom, dick or Harry could complain to get you fined or put off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I'm sure the other party to this will have just as plausible an account of the events.

It takes 2...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

He could still report you...provided you've been a good boy/girl and have'nt done anything else wrong lately that the guards might have on their database (:)) you might have gotten away with it...next time dont get involved..especially with a childrens entertainer.....two wrongs an all that....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It is not a right of a man in a van to assume to moral high ground and attempt to act in the capacity of the AGS.

The Gardai will tell him the same and suggest that he makes a report against her dangerous driving and NOT to try to police the roads himself in future.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

He could still report you...provided you've been a good boy/girl and have'nt done anything else wrong lately that the guards might have on their database (:)) you might have gotten away with it...next time dont get involved..especially with a childrens entertainer.....two wrongs an all that....;)

Actually was in Garda HQ last week (on non criminal related business though :))

Berty wrote: »
    It is not a right of a man in a van to assume to moral high ground and attempt to act in the capacity of the AGS.

The Gardai will tell him the same and suggest that he makes a report against her dangerous driving and NOT to try to police the roads himself in future.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:..who said "her".......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

:eek::eek::eek::eek:..who said "her".......

The 1.0l Corsa gave it away.........:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Garda: (picks up the phone) Hello Gardia Siochana (insert station)

Crazy Van Driver: I'm a white van driver and....hello? Hello?

Muppets the lot of them.

SV wrote: »

did you even read the OP's post?

stupid stupid post.(yours that is)

Yes.

They drove down the slip road while on the phone and pulled out in front of a van. Happens every day at every slip road.
    T-Maxx wrote: »
    I'm sure the other party to this will have just as plausible an account of the events.

It takes 2...

Exactly

Yes.

They drove down the slip road while on the phone and pulled out in front of a van. Happens every day at every slip road.

Well I didn't think you could make a post stupider than your first but fair play, ya managed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yes.

I suggest you stop trolling before you get yourself banned.
    Read the post again like a good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

cormie was the van driver!

Well I didn't think you could make a post stupider than your first but fair play, ya managed it!

Were you in the car with her?

No, but going by the OP which is the ONLY information we have, the OP was NOT on the phone, so why do you keep saying it?
    Other than to be an annoying troll of course?

The post is very clear. She pulled out in front of a car on the motorway. Regulations say you give way to traffic already on the motorway. if you do not understand this and feel its necessary to insult then go ahead if it makes you feel better.

As a mod your behaviour should be above this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

they might...

They can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I read the post. Sounds like a situation where one driver did something so absolutely and horrendously bad that he or she forced another driver to go to the limits of anger. There is something wrong in the OP's post, its a blatant one sided story. In six years of constant driving I have never seen anybody act like that without a really good reason regardless of whether the other person was actually aware of the reason.

The point i was making was relating to allisbleak suggesting the OP was on the phone, which they were not, as stated in the OP. Perhaps i should have been more specific.

Both your first and second post state that the OP was on the phone. They were not. Despite sv already suggesting that you reread the OP after your first post, you again tried to suggest the OP was on the phone.
    If you have a problem with my moderating you can PM me, or you can take it to the Boards.ie Complaints /Assistance forum. This is not the place to discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

The post is very clear. She pulled out in front of a car on the motorway. Regulations say you give way to traffic already on the motorway. if you do not understand this and feel its necessary to insult then go ahead if it makes you feel better.

Funny how you didn't mention she was on the phone there :pac:

I must be missing something here...although the op said she was'nt on the phone why did she ask vanny to "prove it"...surely a comment like that screams "guilty"......i assumed she was, but told a little white one to us.....:confused:

Both your first and second post state that the OP was on the phone. They were not. Despite sv already suggesting that you reread the OP after your first post, you again tried to suggest the OP was on the phone.
    If you have a problem with my moderating you can PM me, or you can take it to the Boards.ie Complaints /Assistance forum. This is not the place to discuss.

Well then PM me. Keep your own opinions and insults to yourself. We still need to hear the van drivers side, she said he said she was on the phone.

To reiterate

She pulled out in front of a car on the motorway. Regulations say you give way to traffic already on the motorway. if you do not understand this and feel its necessary to insult then go ahead if it makes you feel better.

The 1.0l Corsa gave it away.........:pac:

I'm a dude, my other car is a vectra 1.8 :)

Of course it's one sided i'm telling the story!

and no i wasnt on the phone it's something I dont do whatsoever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Well then PM me. Keep your own opinions and insults to yourself. We still need to hear the van drivers side, she said he said she was on the phone.

To reiterate

She pulled out in front of a car on the motorway. Regulations say you give way to traffic already on the motorway. if you do not understand this and feel its necessary to insult then go ahead if it makes you feel better.

Do you drive a white van on the N3 by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

To reiterate

So to reiterate, the van sped up and slowed down in direct mirror of the OP, slowing down would imply he tried to give right of way to the van, do you understand this?

To reiterate

To Clarify.. I came down the slip road, the van was travelling approx 60KPh (its not a motorway btw) I was at a similar speed so I decided to speed up and was indicating, the van decided to also speed up not just a bit but right up in line with me. I then slowed down to allow him go ahead of me.

He then also decelerated. So at this point I sped up again as did he but as I was coming very quickly to a wall I decided to be blunt in my movement into the lane. He then pulled up beside me and started moaning saying i was on the phone, and he was going to call the gardai. Having worked in telecoms for a while the gardai can of course check and of course they will find no activity on my phone for a minimum of 5 mins before and 10 mins after the incident.

To reiterate

allisbleak,

Take a week off. I asked you not to discuss my moderating on thread, and gave you options if you felt the need to discuss.

I'm a dude, my other car is a vectra 1.8 :)

Of course it's one sided i'm telling the story!

and no i wasnt on the phone it's something I dont do whatsoever

;)...think we'll just sit back and enjoy the show then.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

I have... twice. both times I was driving my dads car and it was van drivers that took exception to this is my reckoning as it never happens in my car.... oh but of course might be conincidence:rolleyes: same coincidence when i was younger and in dads car i was always stopped if at a checkpoint...:rolleyes: