Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm looking for a cheap used bus

• 10-02-2010 2:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Anyone know where i might get one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭andgoodbye

Thanks but I meant like, REAL cheap. Preferably for a double decker, preferably old between 0 and 1500 euro

@TestTransmission
    Well done :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Try the buyandsell perhaps? or the UK?

I've had a look around the net and some magazines and nothing really within my price range. I'm holding out hope for dublin bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

If you wait long enough i'm sure 2 will come along.............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

You will be very very very lucky to get a double decker for €1500. Your more likely to get an old merc 16 or 24 seater for that money.
    Try ringing local coach companies and see if they have one parked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

http://www.staffordbuscentre.com/Service-Buses-For-Sale.html theres open top double deckers available for £2500

http://www.znreizen.nl/verkoop/verkoop_bus.php some reasonably cheap buses available here (would need to import from netherlands tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

http://www.ensignbus.com/

All you'll need right here ;)

I'm more looking for closed top bus, and i'm not adverse to coaches either, thanks for the tip :)
    See, its sort of a pipe dream that i'm putting into action, i'm planning to make a session bus :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

If you going to buy a double decker bus, be sure to check out the usual trouble spots before buying:

- Puke on the rear seats of the top deck,
    - Hot rocks burns on all the top deck seats,
    - A worn out bell on the ground level from someone leaning on it,
    - Drool/hairgel stains on the windows.
    - Yellow stains on the "give up for elderly" seat,

An ex-Nitelink bus might be cheaper in the short term, but, like it's passengers, has probably seen harder mileage. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Dades wrote: »
    If you going to buy a double decker bus, be sure to check out the usual trouble spots before buying:

- Puke on the rear seats of the top deck,
    - Hot rocks burns on all the top deck seats,
    - A worn out bell on the ground level from someone leaning on it,
    - Drool/hairgel stains on the windows.
    - Yellow stains on the "give up for elderly" seat,

An ex-Nitelink bus might be cheaper in the short term, but, like it's passengers, has probably seen harder mileage. :)

That sounds exactly what the op is lookin for....all those extras ..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Try Ulsterbus, they're withdrawing loads of 1989-1991 Leyland Tiger single deckers. Can be picked up for around £1000-£1500.

There's very few double deckers for sale around the country. I had a few old Atlanteans and Bristol VR's parked up but weighed them in as I lost interest in them. Give some of the film catering guys a ring, they have loads of 1970s and 1980s ex-UK Double Deckers coming off the road. Bear in mind, the film lads run them into the ground.

Dublin Bus are selling off their old Olympians (1997-1999), but they're fetching around €30,000 a piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Bombardier wrote: »
    Try Ulsterbus, they're withdrawing loads of 1989-1991 Leyland Tiger single deckers. Can be picked up for around £1000-£1500.

There's very few double deckers for sale around the country. I had a few old Atlanteans and Bristol VR's parked up but weighed them in as I lost interest in them. Give some of the film catering guys a ring, they have loads of 1970s and 1980s ex-UK Double Deckers coming off the road. Bear in mind, the film lads run them into the ground.

Dublin Bus are selling off their old Olympians (1997-1999), but they're fetching around €30,000 a piece.
    I believe some of those earlier busses like the Atlanteans contained asbestos, there was a salvage yard full of them near Hill town Co Down for a long time. What ever happened to the Ghost bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

andgoodbye wrote: »
    I'm more looking for closed top bus, and i'm not adverse to coaches either, thanks for the tip :)
    See, its sort of a pipe dream that i'm putting into action, i'm planning to make a session bus :D
    I like your style, let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭jimogr

What ever happened to the Ghost bus?

Still on the road, doing tours - saw it last night in christchurch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

I believe some of those earlier busses like the Atlanteans contained asbestos, there was a salvage yard full of them near Hill town Co Down for a long time. What ever happened to the Ghost bus?
    Molly 1 is still going strong. Only used as a back up for the current one Molly 2. They're in the process of converting a new bus into a new Ghost Bus which will probably see Molly 1 off the road and sold into preservation.
    andgoodbye wrote:
    I'm more looking for closed top bus, and i'm not adverse to coaches either, thanks for the tip smile.gif
    See, its sort of a pipe dream that i'm putting into action, i'm planning to make a session bus biggrin.gif
    Quite a few session buses doing the rounds - The Cube and numerous Limo Buses. You'll probably be better off looking for a single decker as it would be easier to keep control of the punters as the Gardaí are taking no prisoners when it comes to checking buses. Basically whilst on the move all of the passengers need to be fully seated and belted, if you're vehicle is stopped by the Guards and the passengers aren't fully seated and belted then you're liable to prosecution. I'm not sure what the story is with selling/serving alcohol on a bus.

You will also have to factor in cost of conversion, storage, insurance (inc. public liability), a driver, additional support staff, fuel, tax, maintenance, stock as well as getting it through a PSV test and you yourself will have to undergo an operators CPC course. To get an operators license you will need to register the business and have a business account with enough money to operate the business. I'm unsure of how much exactly.

The PSV officers will want everything perfect too. They check everything from the wipers, seats, seat belts, brakes, steering, down to the quality of the finish (i.e. nothing anybody could injure themselves on).

The reason why there are not many double deckers on the roads is because they can't pass the PSV test without substantial money spent in strengthening the upper saloon floor for the seat belts. Single deckers usually are strong enough to support the seat belts and pass the pull test, but some may require the seat frames to be strengthened.

Bear in mind that the coach & bus transport industry is a cut throat business. Especially in the present times.

Well thing si right, it's not a commercial session bus, it's a private one. For me. And my friends. In the middle of nowhere. Tim Leary style. And yes, i am still working on this, I'll make it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Maybe try the commuting and transport forum?
    Or the Irish Road Transport one if you google that.

I think Dublin bus are selling their old 1995ish stock. No idea what the prices are there but those forums could be a good place to start looking. EDIT: 30,000 grand eh? :p

EDIT:
    Just read the post about the Leyland Tigers. Bus Eireann must be getting rid of their stock slowly but surely, and some other types due to rust developing. I assume you could get yer R in there you might get one cheap.

Is this session bus just gonna be parked in a field for the rest of its life? A rust bucket Bus Eireann could work. If it is gonna be going places the Tigers seem to have always been solid.

bbk wrote: »
    Is this session bus just gonna be parked in a field for the rest of its life? A rust bucket Bus Eireann could work. If it is gonna be going places the Tigers seem to have always been solid.

I'm not 100% sure to be honest like. I can't legally see it being allowed to move really, so it may wel be in a field, but it all depends on if i'm arsed goin to the back arse of nowhere, know what I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

andgoodbye wrote: »
    Well thing si right, it's not a commercial session bus, it's a private one. For me. And my friends. In the middle of nowhere. Tim Leary style. And yes, i am still working on this, I'll make it happen.
    Don't you mean Ken Kesey, rather than Timothy Leary? :D I saw Ken Kesey (and Ken Babbs) in Whelan's about 10 years ago. A once in a lifetime experience. www.intrepidtrips.com

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    Don't you mean Ken Kesey, rather than Timothy Leary? :D I saw Ken Kesey (and Ken Babbs) in Whelan's about 10 years ago. A once in a lifetime experience. www.intrepidtrips.com

Yeah man, you're right man :P check out dun laoghaire library for a book called hippies in about two weeks, after I return it. Amazing. It's a complete record of everything psychedelic from 1960 to 1972. It's so incredible and there's some pretty epic pictures :) But yeah, I had this idea before I saw the bus but that bus has further inspired me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭DJKAV

hi guys ,
    i am looking for a salvage bus of coach which i can convert out my back into a playroom for my kids . once it`s @ my house it won`t be moved it will be it`s place of rest forever .. always wantet to have a big bus out the back of the house which would be a playroom maybe a television take out the seats and have a place for the kids to play when the weather is bad ... any suggestions ? where i mught get my hands on a bus which needs a home ...

kind regards

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Try a few coach companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭DJKAV

any suggestions ?. what would i say would i be bold enough just to ask can i have a coach how would i transport it my friend has a licence how would i work out with getting it insured for the day to transport it ? .
    has anybody know a person who has got a bus and set it up for the kids and modified it ?... sorry about all the questions just really excited about this project .. can`t wait to post pictures all going well i get a bus or coach ... does anybody know a friend who has one or seen one just parked up that they would be getting rid of it ..

??
    thanks for the help ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 pinkypaw

Hi, did you ever get the bus you where hoping for? Im currently looking at the moment, However I just want the shell really as it will be parked up and never moved again- any suggestions? Thanks Pinkypaw!