Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oil Filter i.d. Help Required.

• 09-02-2010 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭

Hi Guys,
    You all seem well informed, and I could use a little help.
    O.K The patient is a 1965 Ford Zodiac Mk 3.
    When I bought it, the guy gave me a box with plugs, filters etc.
    there were about 6 oil filters, Type Crossland 426, I'm down to the last one and cannot find an equivalent.I have tried motor factors (Southside have been most enthusiastic) to no avail. W.ibbley W.obbley W.onder- adds confusion to chaos.
    The Zephyr/Zodiac parts catalogue 1962.> lists the part as:EOTA-6731-A Kit (oil filter element). Pump this into the net you get a spin on (what I have is a cartridge).
    Anybody know the correct type or replacment (for certain).
    Any and all Help/Suggestions welcome.
    Cheers.
    paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Have you tried Bradshaws in Newbridge?

Or maybe http://z8.invisionfree.com/EveryFord_Ireland for a bunch of like-minded enthusiasts

Failing that, Speedy Spares in the UK should be able to help:

www.speedyspares.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭ikb

Thanks 245, will make some more calls today. P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Just get an adapter plate conversion so you can use any spin-on filter...i've got one on mine with a sierra filter..(4 euro in Halfrauds....;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

http://www.flexolite.co.uk/ do spin-on adaptors.

I take it you found this as the cross-references?

EOTA-6731-A
    TJ Filters FP3336
    FORD EFL9
    CROSSLAND 426 Â
    FRAM PH977A? (possibly?)

Crossland 426 appears obsolete, but I get a cross reference on a Ford / Motorcraft EFL9. Outer diameter 73mm. Inner top diameter 22mm. Inner bottom diameter 22mm. Height 106mm.

Is that close in dimensions?

Just get an adapter plate conversion so you can use any spin-on filter...i've got one on mine with a sierra filter..(4 euro in Halfrauds....;)

Thanks Max.
    this machine is quite original, still on dynamo, plugs and points, etc.
    Is no show winner, but would like to keep her as standard as possible.
    for as long as i can.
    will go spin on route if i have to,
    cheers,
    paul.

macplaxton wrote: »
    http://www.flexolite.co.uk/ do spin-on adaptors.

I take it you found this as the cross-references?

EOTA-6731-A
    TJ Filters FP3336
    FORD EFL9
    CROSSLAND 426 Â
    FRAM PH977A? (possibly?)

Crossland 426 appears obsolete, but I get a cross reference on a Ford / Motorcraft EFL9. Outer diameter 73mm. Inner top diameter 22mm. Inner bottom diameter 22mm. Height 106mm.

Is that close in dimensions?

Thanks MacP.
    Found above equiv, am somewhat confused as some appear to be spin on when you look a little deeper. . ?? so Jury at lunch.
    426 dimensions are:102mm high,95 diam,centre hole bout 20mm,
    so efl9 looks a good close match, also its a ford part, and comes up the most in any searches.
    will let yez all know how things go.
    P.

Looking up that FRAM number (PH977A), it's a spin-on - so I guess that's red herring. It looks like a bad cross-reference from another brand's 426.

The dimensions I gave were from cross-referencing the Motorcraft EFL9 and are from a UFI 25.410.00. Wix equivalent of ELF9 is 51300 gives a outer diameter of 74mm and inner of 32mm. I'm wondering though if the middle dimension isn't too critical or that "3" is a typo. Fram quivalent of ELF9 is CH2804 (107 / 73 / 21). Mann don't cross reference a ELF9, but do show an equivalent to UFI 25.410.00 & FRAM CH2804, but not the WIX - Mann H 715/1 n is (109 / 70 / 20)

So the only real difference with an original is that it fills out the casing better and has a greater surface area. Just change it more often if the size bothers you.

Jez MacP,
    You are well informed,..!!!
    Latest is: Went back to Southside (N.B. Havent delt with them much over the years, but I intend to (they RANG ME BACK!!!? Mon eve to say they had my ignition coil in. ( 25 evro))... There was one more number to the above list : Puro MF 517A. They will have one for me Tuesday.
    Will have a look and compare.One more lead also. More Later.
    Cheers.
    P......
    ........The Thick Plottens...!

I don't know nothing about Fords, but I do know where to look for parts, both common and obscure.:pac:

Latest:
    One of the Guys P.M,d me with a name and No. of a chap (who, it turns out, Iv met before)
    Hes a member of the UK MK3Z owners club.He has agreed to get in a couple of filters for me with some stuff Hes getting for Himself. Will take a couple of weeks, but should solve the Mystery.....Will Keep yez all Posted..Thanks to all. P.

Thanks Max.
    Is great to know yous are all looking out for me.:) I am a keen E-Bayer, Fear an Phoist knows my door well.At 8 quid would probably cost 15yo yo to have it here
    grand, if you were stuck, but what about the next time? If I can get a cross ref
    Ill try buy local anymore. Also I have had dealings with that particular ebay vendor before (see PM).:mad: Thanks for the info,
    Cheers,
    P.
    ( ok.. no pm then)