Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zeroing rifle

• 09-02-2010 2:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭

Good day,
    a couple of weeks ago while stalking , i tripped and fell heavily in thorns while going down the mountains.:D
    The local deer (I didn’t see any that day) must have had a good laugh !
    Shooting stick and rifle (.270) ended up a few meters away. I got soaked and ended up with a badly bruised hand.
    Anyway, i need to zero the rifle but wouldn't like to drive to a place like the midlands range which is too far away.
    Was wondering where you all zero your rifles ?
    I leave close by to bogs where it would be safe to do it but wonder if it is allowed / legal.
    Any tips welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

It depends on an entirely untested legal distinction between target-shooting and zeroing, and where the line lies. One must take place on an authorised range, while the other has no such stipulations (or, for that matter, supporting definition in law). It would be seriously remiss to give actual legal advice, but as to whether I'd do it personally, yeah, I would, since I don't have access to a range that caters for centrefire rifles and it would be ethically incomprehensible to hunt with a rifle I don't know is zeroed. Would I fancy being the test case to distinguish between zeroing and target shooting? Not on your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭endasmail

iwsf wrote: »
    Good day,
    a couple of weeks ago while stalking , i tripped and fell heavily in thorns while going down the mountains.:D
    The local deer (I didn’t see any that day) must have had a good laugh !
    Shooting stick and rifle (.270) ended up a few meters away. I got soaked and ended up with a badly bruised hand.
    Anyway, i need to zero the rifle but wouldn't like to drive to a place like the midlands range which is too far away.
    Was wondering where you all zero your rifles ?
    I leave close by to bogs where it would be safe to do it but wonder if it is allowed / legal.
    Any tips welcome.

go out to the bog set up your targets and zero your rifle
    it wouldn be fair to be going hunting with a rifle that may be shooting off and as a result ya may end up causing unnecessary suffering to your quarry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

endasmail wrote: »
    it wouldn be fair to be going hunting with a rifle that may be shooting off and as a result ya may end up causing unnecessary suffering to your quarry

+1 on that..... 2 or 4 shots...in and out...jobs done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

endasmail wrote: »

I agree go ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭smallfry

Thats what I do iwsf, I always use the same place to zero or test fire my rifles, after a change of ammo or a bump...
    I have a place with a good safe backstop, level spot for setting up a comfortable bench and away I go. I think a bit of common sense and
    a safe attitude go a long way....

smallfry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I always do all zeroing in the local bog. Lovely high cutting banks and straight tree and shrub lines eliminating wind effect. Couldn't ask for better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

Thanks lads
    will zero it over the weekend so that i am ready for my last few stalking days of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

Thanks lads
    will zero it over the weekend so that i am ready for my last few stalking days of the year.

you could buy a lazer boresight kit on ebay dont know if there any good but its worth a try if you anything like me zeroing in scopes click on the link to read more
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/Bushnell-Laser-Boresighter-Kit-Bore-Sighter_W0QQitemZ220545385517QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_SportingGoods_Hunting_ShootingSports_ET?hash=item3

won't need a boresight.
    Printed a few A4 pages from http://www.mytargets.com/
    I like the one with the charging rhino :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

won't need a boresight.

50m Zero if you don't know how far you are off and a big target.
    1 shot.
    If you have a vise you are elected. I'm lucky as I have a very safe enclosed on all sides place to Zero.
    I changed scope once and mounts and was 8 feet high.
    I always try and bring a spotter.
    3-5 shots should do if you are not far off.
    A good scope will take a knock and hold zero.
    I use Byrris 6 screw rings, holds scope tight as a nuns....

Legally, you can not prove your scope is off unless you fire rifle. hence find a safe place to test.Not a field in a housing estate.
    The shorter your zero distance the less likely you are to be miles off.
    If you have the rifle in a vise, if possible or a bench rest put a spirit level on the elevation knob. That will help you naturally align the scope with the rifle. If it looks off level loosen scope and re level as required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭dan17

over a few years and changing scope and just use rifle for hunting found a quick bore sight is easiest to get on paper. i have bipod so i normally put up a orange clay for clay shooting at 100yards, with sand bag under butt get barrel aligned on clay then adjust cross hairs to centre of clay. normally 3-5 shots for perfect zero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

won't need a boresight.

Theres some good targets on this site if ya havnt seen it before
    http://targetz.com/

the cutting banks are fairly high and far from any houses so should be fine.
    the scope took a small knock but shouldn't be to bad.
    Thanks for all the tips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

This looks like a classic and genuine case of 'rifle zeroing' as was clarified by either the minister or some Grand Pooh-Bah in Justice back when the legislation was being formulated: the occasional firing of a few shots at an inanimate target to verify or adjust zero.
    Provided it's done safely and where the shooter has permission to shoot, we're told that Justice, the Range Inspector, and the Gardai have no interest or issue.

We get into shades of grey when it goes beyond that, and no-one has yet tested those shades of grey.