Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'Condom Train' to Maynooth 1991

• 08-02-2010 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

From 1991 in Maynooth....
    condomtrain.jpg

Theres some more details of the Condom Train and the events leading up to it in this post

There was a referendum on Condoms also (In 1990 I think) where one of the posters was the wonderful...
    "Self Control - Not Condoms"
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

The train took longer then even though there were less stations :D

Brilliant find though, fecking priests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Cheers for that, great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Deadly read! Just imagine if the Sabbats these days did that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Madness, had my first day in NUIM today and the amount of religious stuff still knocking around there is pretty off-putting.

When did they actually agree to let condoms be provided on site?

Madness, had my first day in NUIM today and the amount of religious stuff still knocking around there is pretty off-putting.

When did they actually agree to let condoms be provided on site?

Last week, if you look up at second floor of Logic you'll see all the free balloons dangling from my office window. Unused of course :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

It was possible to buy condoms from the SU Bar in the 1992/93 academic year (they were hidden under the counter!).

Christ I feel old...

That's because you are clearly ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Tenderloins1

I was a student in Maynooth at the time. I didn't go on the Condom train though.

During one of the 'Condom Referendums' I ended up doing an hour or so manning the polling booth/station, crossing off voters names, stamping ballot papers etc.
    I arrived home that evening and rather than the usual 'how are you, how did you get on today?' greeting from my Parents it was
    'you just had to get involved with the condoms didn't you!'

There had been a report on the 6 o'clock news from Maynooth on the Condoms issue and who was sitting there behind the reporter stamping ballots, only myself....
    The shame!

Its hard to explain how 'contraband' condoms were certainly in the 80s. A few years back a friend told me a story of how in the late 70s himself and his mate went up North (it may have been a school trip) and the brave lads they were, bought a packet on condoms to bring home. (They were just really for show as back then you'd have little or no chance of actually using them!).
    Anyhow yer mans mother found them and there was war, absolute war. He was sent to talk to the Priest about it and all. There was a big investigation in the school too as to who may have had condoms.
    There would have been less fuss had he had cases of whiskey and smokes.

Anyhow the OP had a link to my blog... and I was wondering where the traffic was coming from.:)
    There should be more Maynooth related stuff up from that period, although nothing as good as 'The Condom Train'.
    I think I have one of those self control, not condoms posters somehwere which I will post.

Heres a Christian Principles Party Leaflet from 1991 that mentions Condoms you may enjoy. Sean Clerkin just missed out on being elected too.

What a sexy beast that fella is. Let's hope he used protection cause if he didn't there's so seriously ugly spawn of his out there polluting the gene pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

OMG, weren't they part of USI then? This must mean *quickly does some calculations* that part of usi=in favour of STIs and unplanned pregnancies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Duffy7 wrote: »
    "Self Control - Not Condoms"

they must have been fans of the withdrawal method :cool:

Jobs for youth - not condoms. WTF! that makes no since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The Workers Party.

Calling this one a 'Sticky issue' would be a republican joke gone too far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

A regrettable pun in retrospect. Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Hmmm, relying on the Workers Party for condoms... no doubt counterfeit and likely to split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Tenderloins1

I just posted another Maynooth related leaflet
    From 1992 - Are Students Getting Value for Money

What size was Classhall D?

Seats about 30 or 40 maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

Amazing... the first two points could still apply today :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Duffy7

Not quite a condom train, but a Join Maynooth Fianna Fail leaflet from the same era
    http://irishelectionliterature.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/from-1990-join-fianna-fail-maynooth-college-leaflet/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

CnaG wrote: »
    Amazing... the first two points could still apply today :-/

Good we have an exam appeals board now.

Shame the other two never change...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Well in fairness, the library is getting an upgrade. Overdue though. (No pun intended)

Unfortunately, the grants will only get worse. Chap in the fees and grants office told me there was a 40% increase in applications for grants this year.

Expect cutbacks. We won't see fees, but we will see (probably) a small increase in the registration fee. The big cost-effective measures will probably be behind the scenes in the form of cutbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

Well in fairness, the library is getting an upgrade. Overdue though. (No pun intended)

Unfortunately, the grants will only get worse. Chap in the fees and grants office told me there was a 40% increase in applications for grants this year.

Yeah, I know the Library is getting upgraded, but it will be too late for most of us.

The Grants system in this country is pure and utter bureaucracy. (I'm sorry but if I am a major shareholder in a company... why would I need a maintenance grant)

My advise to most of you if you get in trouble with it, call your local (Labour) TD.
    banquo wrote: »
    Expect cutbacks. We won't see fees, but we will see (probably) a small increase in the registration fee. The big cost-effective measures will probably be behind the scenes in the form of cutbacks.

If we knew how to get the most bang for our buck in the first place, we wouldn't have as big of a problem.

Alt_Grrr wrote: »
    If we knew how to get the most bang for our buck in the first place, we wouldn't have as big of a problem.

I unbelievably agree. See my thread from a year ago.