Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

badger

• 06-02-2010 5:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

lads whats the story with shooting badgers, got one caught in the fox trap last night, but he had died by morning, he got caught in the rope that holds the door open and hung himself, ever happen to any of ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

They're a protected species. You can't interfere with them AFAIK. There maybe a permit available to cull some if they're a serious problem but I am not sure about that. I have found baited fox cages a waste of time in badger areas, as I was always catching and releasing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

its not a badger area at all though, never seen them on the road or when lamping, a bit of an :eek: moment when i saw him there this morning. plus having great luck with the trap 4 red fellas already this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Are you using snares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Valmont wrote: »
    Are you using snares?

Don't answer that! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I thought snares were legal if you are aiming for the leg and not the head/neck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Badgers are protected from my knowledge and shouldnt be tampered with.

If your snaring and trapping there is some good guidance on the BASC website. Basically be very careful of non targeted species