Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you written your Will?

• 04-02-2010 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

...I have....and if & when my self and the wife die my kids get the lot. basically with the life policies and a few other bits they will be well taken care of and I feel great about it.

Myself and my wife work really hard...but we do it to build something to hand our kids when our time is up...to me that seems like the most natural thing in the world and we wouldnt have it any other way

But more and more I hear people commenting that kids these days are too greedy..and that parents shouldnt be expected to have to keep their hard earned assests for the sake of thier kids inheritence...that if they want to go out and spend it they should.
    Bollox is what i say to that attitude...totally wrong!!

But what do others think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Once you don't deprive yourself of too much then of course you leave it to your kids.

However, memories of you been happy spending and enjoying your hard earned money might mean more to them than been left money.

Ps .. you wanna adopt me? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

it costs money...solicitors etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Voltex wrote: »
    ...I have....and if & when my self and the wife die my kids get the lot. basically with the life policies and a few other bits they will be well taken care of and I feel great about it.

Myself and my wife work really hard...but we do it to build something to hand our kids when our time is up...to me that seems like the most natural thing in the world and we wouldnt have it any other way

But more and more I hear people commenting that kids these days are too greedy..and that parents shouldnt be expected to have to keep their hard earned assests for the sake of thier kids inheritence...that if they want to go out and spend it they should.
    Bollox is what i say to that attitude...totally wrong!!

But what do others think?

wait till your kids bang you off to a retirement home because you're too senile/grouchy etc to look after :D
    We'll see then what you think ;)

Mousey- wrote: »
    it costs money...solicitors etc....

nah it doesn't.

You can get a garda to witness it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Im single,have no kids and no worldly possessions so until i get a life there's no point making a will :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

Hope you evenly distributed the funds - i.e. no favourites. I won't get a penny. And ya I am angry about it. :mad:

On topic - You can't bring it with you I suppose. I wouldn't say allow them to change the name on the deeds before you die.

I'd prefer if my children were independent first like I wouldn't give them anything until both me AND my OH were dead.

Of course you need to make sure they aren't going to put you in some OAPs home where those monsters leave you with bedsores and never feed ya. And where your children only visit for 5 min once a year if at all, cause they already have your money so they don't care about you anymore.

Lets just say its a little incentive to make sure they look after you properly when your old and frail until you die :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

"Ooooh, Ducky, I write every day, but wither or not 'e gets 'em is another thing."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

All my posessions shall be left in my tomb. My house will be burnt to the ground. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, when I was travelling oversea's with the Defence Forces it was compulsary to make a will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Corkfeen wrote: »
    All my posessions shall be left in my tomb. My house will be burnt to the ground. ;)

That tells us nothing....... your not giving much away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Im single,have no kids and no worldly possessions so until i get a life there's no point making a will :D

Ye im pretty sure no body wants my bajaxed old xbox...

Aternative to a will..you could have you kids fight to the death around the world in order for you to determine the strongest..it would make great tv aswell:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

i havent bothered to make one either has may aul lad although the two of us are going to now, since my da's mate died after just retiring he had no will and his family was told that it goes into probate with the legal eagles taking a nice chunk of the $$$. rather see it go to someone i know than a complete stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

My will stipulates that all my wealth be turned into cash and distributed among all my family so they can slowly burn it note by note in front of homeless people. If they don't agree then the homeless people will slowly burn it note by note in front of them while being allowed to keep 3% of the cash for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

No point. You gotta have shit before you can bequeath shit to someone

In case you haven't guessed, I ain got shit:(

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I plan to avoid death, seems like a better alternative

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Corkfeen wrote: »
    I'd love to put that in my will. And then have a second secret will that gives all my stuff to the child that doesn't lose the rag in the solicitors office. Or if they all do, gives it all to the cat shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

We did one when we had our son. I think the house and whatnot goes to him by default anyway, but it's more to nominate a guardian for him (and executor of his, er, estate :)) if we both died before he becomes an adult.

It's not great sitting in some stuffy office discussing your possible early death, frankly. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

I'm 17 should i have a will? Am i even legally capable to write one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Mine just has a list of instructions.

What I don't tell them is that said instructions actually boot up a robot copy of myself. I'm not into the whole being dead thing myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Doesn't a large chunk/all your money go to the state if you don't have a will?
    Sounds ****ed up but that's what I read before.
    Anyone confirm or deny?

I should get a will, wish it was a little less confusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The-Rigger wrote: »

Nah, I think if you die intestate they try and give it to relatives. If you haven't got a spouse or kids, it's your parents and then your siblings.

Not sure though, that said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Anyone confirm or deny?

yeah it goes into probate and the legal eagles take a nice chunk of the $$

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭FannyMcGee

Anyone confirm or deny?

A will is fairly straight forward to write & doesn't have to involve solicitors or indeed, a garda witness, as someone else mistakenly said.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][SIZE=-1]The signature, however, must be written or acknowledged in the presence of two witnesses, both present at the same time.

You can read up on how to write a will here - [/SIZE][/FONT]http://www.lawyer.ie/wills.html

And info on Probate Tax, here - http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/cat/leaflets/cat3.html

Anyone confirm or deny?

I don't have any money so that sorts that out!
    But when/if i do end up with a other half or kids or even a house or something i will make a will then. Less hassle for people after i've died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't have any money so that sorts that out!
    But when/if i do end up with a other half or kids or even a house or something i will make a will then. Less hassle for people after i've died.

You have a very valuable scarf though.

Wouldn't you like to leave that to someone special?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

I dont have anything of value... :mad:

But can I leave all my debt to someone?

That'd learn em

Doop wrote: »

But can I leave all my debt to someone?

Thankfully, no. You'll have to take your begruderistic tendencies with you to the grave.

FannyMcGee wrote: »
    A will is fairly straight forward to write & doesn't have to involve solicitors or indeed, a garda witness, as someone else mistakenly said.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][SIZE=-1]The signature, however, must be written or acknowledged in the presence of two witnesses, both present at the same time.

You can read up on how to write a will here - [/SIZE][/FONT]http://www.lawyer.ie/wills.html

And info on Probate Tax, here - http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/cat/leaflets/cat3.html

Thanks. I read that.

How do people know that you had a will? Do you leave a copy with the executor?

Also, the thing I wonder about is, what if you have money tied up in awkward places to access, like an online site. (poker for example).

It can be a site that no one you know has heard of.
    The amount of cash in it can vary greatly.

More importantly, it can be awkward enough to get your funds out at the best of times, let alone for someone acting as an executor of a will.

Thanks. I read that.

Also, the thing I wonder about is, what if you have money tied up in awkward places to access, like an online site. (poker for example).

More importantly, it can be awkward enough to get your funds out at the best of times, let alone for someone acting as an executor of a will.

I have absolutely no idea of how to answer any of those questions. It seems that will making is not always so straightforward as I previously thought. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yep, I've written my Carlton too.

He never writes back :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Yup I have.
    Since I was about 18 I've had a will.

FannyMcGee wrote: »
    I have absolutely no idea of how to answer any of those questions. It seems that will making is not always so straightforward as I previously thought. :eek:

check-MATE!

lol. I'm sure a lawyer talking person would know.
    Time to call Lionel Hutz

check-MATE!

lol. I'm sure a lawyer talking person would know.
    Time to call Lionel Hutz

That reminds me of 'Seanie's Show' - when Sean Hughes caught himself in a bind, he thought, "Hmm, what would Morissey do now?... Ring his mother. Problem solved. Sh*te, I don't have Morrisey's mothers number".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i have, it says " everything i own shall be messed down into a gaint brick.

Said brick will be used to cover adam wests Charley haughtys grave...

he might of got away with steal millions but he cant escape death... not even when being dead "

true story bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Thanks. I read that.

http://legacylocker.com/ should help wiht online stuff at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

I only have debts, so no

OutlawPete wrote: »
    You have a very valuable scarf though.

Wouldn't you like to leave that to someone special?? :)

Oh my God i only have it a couple of days and i was forgetting bout it! Someone get me a solictor quick!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Another purpose of a will is to instruct people on what to do in case you end up not quite dead. There would be nothing worse than being hooked up to a machine just so your family couldn't deal with having to say switch it off - unless of course you have tons of lolly and that would give them a bit of incentive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I haven't made a will but, for some reason, I did tell my mother what funeral arrangements I'd like.