Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol Free February

• 04-02-2010 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Seeing as I failed the January test, I'm going to start an alcohol free February thread. I hope the mods don't mind.

Did you give up the booze for January and are you keeping going with it?

Did you fail like me but want to give it another bash?

Post your experiences here. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭SuperCereal

I decided to give up alcohol for the year. I stopeed on December 31st 2009 as I knew there was no way I'd drink til mid nite and stop after twelve. Well that satement is only partially true. With suppport and encouragement I could easily have had a few beers before 12 and have stopped after mid nite but I knew all my friends would be drunk and in the mood to tempt me or pressure me so for their benefit and to avoid any kind of confrontation I just veteod drink for the whole nite.

January was tough to get true on certain nights, Saturdays at parties or the odd snowy night in with tv and a fire. But now its over I one twelevth of the way to my goal and feel it will be easier from now on. Days are getting longer and my sport/atletics has improved immensely.

Il will join you for Feb and apart from the 14th I cant see it being too tought.

Only 24 days to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Excellent. I'm also trying to stay off it for the year and I'm pretty worried about Paddy's day to be honest. I'm off work that week so I might head away to a place that has little to no temptation.

I was thinking of starting one of these threads each month, as each month is a milestone really.

I'm glad you are joining me SC. Out of curiosity, what sports are you in to?

Running, Swimming (badly), Cycling and weights.

Not an athlete or buff beef cake by any means just a fairly fit, healthy guy for the first time in my life (I'm 27)

I do Marathons and smaller races

Just joined triathalon ireland so thats another ambition

And now hopefully Surfing!!

I live on the West coast, you are welcome in my car.

Running, Swimming (badly), Cycling and weights.

Not an athlete or buff beef cake by any means just a fairly fit, healthy guy for the first time in my life (I'm 27)

I do Marathons and smaller races

Just joined triathalon ireland so thats another ambition

And now hopefully Surfing!!

I live on the West coast, you are welcome in my car.

Good man! I used to be very fit in my teens. I played soccer at a county level, had trials with Celtic too. I dropped pretty much all sports when I started college at 18. Such a shame! I'm 27 this year and I really need to get fit again. The difference this year is amazing, only a month or so in and I'm going to the gym 4 times a week and eating properly, plus pretty much no booze. I should have done this sooner. :)

I've a few mates over from England this weekend and we're all going out Saturday night. My mates are really cool about the whole not drinking thing though so it won't be an issue, thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

Just wondering here - are you both talking about zero alcohol. A complete ban on it?

I say I don't drink. In honesty, I drink rarely. 14th for example, I haven't made plans, but I'm fairly sure I'll be having a glass of wine / champagne. The difference between last year is now when I drink, I don't get drunk at all. Not even tipsy.

I'd say since Jan 1st, I've drank twice or maybe 3 times. These would all be one glass of wine with dinner.

I personally don't see any need for me to cut out drink alltogether. I think the way I'm going now is the best way for me. I'm also quitting smoking at the min. Not doing too good though.

Hopefully I'll be off smokes completely by month end and see my fitness improve.

I wasn't a major drinker before this so I haven't noticed much of a difference in energy levels etc (probably because of the smokes though). Maybe I just need a kick up the ar$e to get out and do something!

Yeah I'm talking about a complete ban on it because I was a seriously heavy drinker and there's a history of alcoholism in my family.

That's fair enough.
    Now here's the question - if we all met up, surf trip for example, and there were a couple of people having one or two drinks, would you think that defeats the purpose of the non-drinkers meeting up?

Don't get me wrong, I'm most likely not going to drink at any events (since they're primary function is for non-drinkers to meet up and have the craic without drink) but just curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Shayman

[-0-] wrote: »
    Excellent. I'm also trying to stay off it for the year and I'm pretty worried about Paddy's day to be honest. I'm off work that week so I might head away to a place that has little to no temptation.

I was thinking of starting one of these threads each month, as each month is a milestone really.

I'm glad you are joining me SC. Out of curiosity, what sports are you in to?

Maybe you and Supercereal would benefit from AA? If, as you say, your struggling to stay off the pop the support really helps. It worked for me.

Ciaran187 wrote: »
    That's fair enough.
    Now here's the question - if we all met up, surf trip for example, and there were a couple of people having one or two drinks, would you think that defeats the purpose of the non-drinkers meeting up?

Don't get me wrong, I'm most likely not going to drink at any events (since they're primary function is for non-drinkers to meet up and have the craic without drink) but just curious.

It doesn't bother me either way to be honest. I often go out with drunk people (I'll be doing it this weekend).... I'm easy going. If other people have an issue with it then I would like to respect whatever they feel/have to say about it.
    Shayman wrote:
    Maybe you and Supercereal would benefit from AA? If, as you say, your struggling to stay off the pop the support really helps. It worked for me.

I've thought about it in the past. I want to see how I get on first. Trust me if I touch a drop again I'll go to a meeting. I'm very confident I can do this though. It's not just a no drinking thing for me, it's also a lifestyle change and that's what's important. I've changed lots of aspects of my life, and each one benefits the other.

Good luck [-0-] ! I know it sounds cliche but do take it one day at a time. Think about today only. Forget about Paddys day etc for now. Concentrate on today and you'll find it much easier.

Yeah, take it handy. Hopefully once we get an outing sorted, people will be more pumped to get the next one planned. Imagine having the mountains to ourselves on paddy's day. I'd say that would be magic.

Thanks guys. :)

I went out in Limerick with my mates last night. One of them kept at me for a bit because he hadn't drank with me in years. The same fella went off the drink for ages so I was surprised he had an issue with it. I got him to shut up though, and we ended up having a great night.

The things you see when you're sober is hilarious. Some fella robbed my mates jacket, and a very expensive one at that. It had his car keys, house keys, work keys and his parents house keys in it as well. We got the jacket back off the guy anyway, and later on we met him on our way to a club.... poor fella could barely walk or say his name. Just as well we are a nice bunch of lads because he was very vulnerable and if he had taken it from people who weren't so easy going he could have ended up in lots of trouble.

On the way home in a taxi I saw the same guy and several of his mates trying to start fights outside Burger King. You have to wonder sometimes....

Anyway, I had no issues chatting to girls or dancing while sober last night. To be honest it was a really great night and all the lads are in bed sick while I've been up all morning and I'm off to the gym in a bit.

So far so good. :)

Nice! I finished helping my brother move to a new apartment yesterday and his room mate decided beers were the way to celebrate. Kept at me to have one. Ended up taking it and holding the same bottle 2 hours later! Once i had one in my hand no more was said.

Ciaran187 wrote: »
    Nice! I finished helping my brother move to a new apartment yesterday and his room mate decided beers were the way to celebrate. Kept at me to have one. Ended up taking it and holding the same bottle 2 hours later! Once i had one in my hand no more was said.

Nice trick. I'll remember that one. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Didn't drink from around the 10th of january so going to give feb a go......

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

del 88,

well done so far, how have you been managing, do you still go to pub and do you still meet the people you knew in the pub.

So far so good. :) Last night was pretty tough but I survived. I was in my friend's house playing darts. There was 4 of us there and I was the only one not drinking. For about 5 minutes I found it really hard but I didn't cave and I'm really proud of myself as they were drinking my favourite beer (Leffe blonde).

13 days sober and loving it.

Well done. As I said before take it one day at a time. Deal with today now. and tomorrow when it comes.

Thank you. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Just wanna say congrats to everyone's progress :)

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Howdie,
    I'm new to this posting in this place but i occasionally have a look at what's going on here. I've cut way down on my drinking this year. I was spending a fortune and my health and sporting ability was suffering. i gave up for 3 weeks last month. Gonna stay off it until Paddy's day at least. Glad to see some sober-minded people getting together and discussing things to do. Pity there isn't more traffic here though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭CatchLight

Hi!!

I also read this forum but have never posted before!

I dont drink and never will but I wanted to say to you guys fair play for giving up the drink, its great to read your stories!

I wish I had some friends who wanted to do something other than drink... it's getting pretty crazy now that I think of it I have lost contact with most of my friends because no one ever socialises outside the pub (I used to go quite a bit but the pressure to drink wore me out and I'm sick of being the minder/driver)!

Enough about me... keep up the good work!

Hey,

Feb has been going splendid for me don't even miss drink? Weird it used be so vital to having the craic now it's not even an absent thought.

Well done to all for making it this far, Feb is a short month but 4 weeks off booze is tough for anyone starting out and for [-0-] I think going out on the dry in Limerick was a great achievement.

Im gonna post on sober surfing surfing in a min but for the guy who suggest AA meetings, thanks for the advice and support but Im off drink for a year to improve my sports side of life and get away for the pressure of drinking Ireland not because im co dependent on drink or cant function normally when drinking.

As for the would drinkers be welcome to a non drinkers event, this is a tough one but after careful consideration I see nothing wring with drunkers attending. I suppose if they got wasted and we had to look after them that would be counter productive but if people want a glass of wine or a few cans after a days surfing why not, as long as they don't mind me drinking apple juice or cidona. If I hang out wiuth vegetarians they dont ban me form eating meat, were I to attempt to slip some ham in their dinner they might get cross but otherwise akuna matata.

OK onto sober surfing!

Thanks SC! I'm actually finding it way easier than I imagined. :)

Another weekend down. Had about 15 mates up from home this weekend. If I can survive that I can survive anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Wingman2010

[-0-] wrote: »
    I went out in Limerick with my mates last night. One of them kept at me for a bit because he hadn't drank with me in years. The same fella went off the drink for ages so I was surprised he had an issue with it. I got him to shut up though, and we ended up having a great night.

The things you see when you're sober is hilarious. Some fella robbed my mates jacket, and a very expensive one at that. It had his car keys, house keys, work keys and his parents house keys in it as well. We got the jacket back off the guy anyway, and later on we met him on our way to a club.... poor fella could barely walk or say his name. Just as well we are a nice bunch of lads because he was very vulnerable and if he had taken it from people who weren't so easy going he could have ended up in lots of trouble.

On the way home in a taxi I saw the same guy and several of his mates trying to start fights outside Burger King. You have to wonder sometimes....

Anyway, I had no issues chatting to girls or dancing while sober last night. To be honest it was a really great night and all the lads are in bed sick while I've been up all morning and I'm off to the gym in a bit.

So far so good. :)
    I can so relate to the things you have said above. I'm 25 and I havent drank in around 2 months. I have never felt so good and I have a few extra bob in my pockets on Sunday mornings which is great. I'm still going out every weekend. Just some mates cannot accept my non-drinking. It can get so annoying sometimes to be honest.

4 days til march and thats 2 months down ten to go for me.

Well done all who stayed oof booze for Feb and if it was your plan to drink again after this month enjoy it heartily.

to [-0-] hope you are getting on fine ithout thwe grog, you up for the surf still?

4 days til march and thats 2 months down ten to go for me.

Well done all who stayed oof booze for Feb and if it was your plan to drink again after this month enjoy it heartily.

to [-0-] hope you are getting on fine ithout thwe grog, you up for the surf still?

Thanks mate. I might have to cancel the surf but I'm not 100% certain yet. I'll let you know as soon as I am though. I've that week off and I'm thinking about going to Spain for a few days.

Just a couple of days to go. :) How did you all do?

Last night was very tough. I went out with some guys I used to work with. They were all let go yesterday so the mood was pretty down and they were all just looking into their glasses. I left the "party" after about two hours; I really just couldn't take it anymore.

I came back home to my mates and went out with them, but I have to admit I am getting bored of this nightclub craic pretty fast. The usual happened, I met people I know who were all ****faced and had a chat... but it wasn't a nice experienced seeing people in that state and trying to converse with them.

I might give the nightclubs a miss soon I think, but that's going to be a bit difficult as I'm a single 26 year old male.