Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More pensioners tied up and robbed

• 03-02-2010 3:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭

Four armed raiders tie up and rob a couple in their 60s in Dublin. 2 escape on foot and 2 are captured. The 2 that were captured should be held indefinitely until they give up the names of the other 2, even if it takes 40 years. Then they should all be burned alive. Scumbags.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0203/breaking53.htm
    Gardaí are investigating an armed robbery in south Co Dublin this morning.

According to gardaí, four armed men entered a house at Templeogue at about 10am, tied up a couple in their mid-60s and demanded money.

Gardaí from Terenure were alerted, however, and two men were arrested at the scene.

One man (35) is being held at Rathmines Garda station, while the other (25) is at Terenure - both under Section 30 of the Offences against the State Act 1939.

The other two raiders escaped on foot, and a small amount of cash was taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Four armed raiders tie up and rob a couple in their 60s in Dublin. 2 escape on foot and 2 are captured. The 2 that were captured should be held indefinitely until they give up the names of the other 2, even if it takes 40 years.

And then in 40 years you'll be on here thanks-whoring out the story of two pensioners being held against their will for the last 40 years.
    Nice try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Four armed raiders tie up and rob a couple in their 60s in Dublin. 2 escape on foot and 2 are captured. The 2 that were captured should be held indefinitely until they give up the names of the other 2, even if it takes 40 years. Then they should all be burned alive. Scumbags.

Yeah, Scumbags them cops. Me and me mates went out to do a jobo there the other day. Got some cash off this aul pair and two of me mates were lifted. Tank god they didn't say antin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Yeah, Scumbags them cops. Me and me mates went out to do a jobo there the other day. Got some cash off this aul pair and two of me mates were lifted. Tank god they didn't say antin'

feck all funny about pensioners being assaulted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

True, but this is AH. Just tryin to be light hearted about things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Josef Fritzl's a pensioner. I'd have found that pretty funny tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anyone that purposely burgles a house just because they know the inhabitants can't fight back should simply be shot in the head

and I don't usually say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Anyone that purposely burgles a house just because they know the inhabitants can't fight back should simply be shot in the head

...but be made pay for the bullet and any labour or others costs incurred out of their own pocket in advance.

End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

.. unless it was by clowns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I heard a noise this morning in Mammys house (moving out again this week, I swear ;)) in between snoozes.
    Anyway I had to have a thorough search around every room & the garden before I could leave comfortably for work. I think I'll give her a gun when I move out. Although no doubt she'll probably use it on me if I don't hang up my coat properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Well to be fair, anyone that purposely burgles a house just because they know the inhabitants can fight back should be called Chuck Norris.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus when armed scum break into a house to rob old aged pensioners, what the flying f... is wrong with this country? I really hope they do this with some old geezer with a shotgun. I really do. I'd even reckon many criminal types would look down on this stuff too. In the same way they take a dim view of child molesters. If I found any scum in a pensioners house and I had the chance I would remove their right to breathe again in a heartbeat. Fair play to the cops for catching two of them. Hopefully they'll have a good idea who the other two scum are too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Home invasion should carry death penalty.
    Must be absolutely terrible to have the last safe place in the world broken into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus when armed scum break into a house to rob old aged pensioners, what the flying f... is wrong with this country? I really hope they do this with some old geezer with a shotgun. I really do. I'd even reckon many criminal types would look down on this stuff too. In the same way they take a dim view of child molesters. If I found any scum in a pensioners house and I had the chance I would remove their right to breathe again in a heartbeat. Fair play to the cops for catching two of them. Hopefully they'll have a good idea who the other two scum are too.

Padraig Nally?

The old geezer in question is in prison.

There is something wrong with the Justice system here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

It really upsets me when I see stories like this in the news. It makes me think of my grandparents. If it happened to them I would do everything in my power to find the scum that did it and make sure they suffered for it.

Im not normally violent but when it comes to old people and animals, that involves them being caused pain, it makes my blood boil.

Some scumbags living in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Anyone that purposely burgles a house just because they know the inhabitants can't fight back would simply be acting on human nature

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

syklops wrote: »
    Padraig Nally?

The old geezer in question is in prison.

There is something wrong with the Justice system here.

No he isn't.
    And yes, that would suggest something is wrong, but not what you're thinking.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The Frontline was discussing this the other night. The amount of "putting them in jail is not going to help" people about is laughable. They had a solicitor on the show going about the burglars state of mind etc etc etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

There something about these cases that makes my blood boil.

I mean, rob the house but why give an elderly person a hiding? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

great incentive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They wouldn't mess with these old folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No he isn't.

My apologies. Although, what do you mean by:

Do you think he should be in jail?

great incentive.

Ah, well obviously the burning alive part was an exaggeration, as much as I'd like that to be the outcome. But you just 2 the two that were caught will just sit there stone faced and not give up their low life accomplices.

And regardless, not much will come of this and they'll all repeat offend. It's just a matter of how lenient the "punishment" will be to determine when.

Just p!sses me right off is all, not only that people can behave this way, but that they can show no remorse and pretty much get away scot free to do it again and ruin more lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I usually would say it, so I'm going to give you a big +1 for that, an add a 'and cut off their fcuking goolies first' for good measure.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus when armed scum break into a house to rob old aged pensioners, what the flying f... is wrong with this country?

exactly wibbs ! WTF is going on ?? this is a new low even for depraved crim scum. The powers that be need to stop pissing about here and give mandatory 15-20 year sentences for possesion/use of illegal firearms for everyone involved in this.

They need to send out a clear message that it won't be tolerated under any circumstances.

For example - just in yesterday's paper...

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0202/1224263580717.html
    The deceased was stabbed in the leg and fatally in the chest on November 24th, 2007, after he spent the night drinking with his older brother and Devine, at the accused’s rented house in Lower Grange, Waterford city. Devine (33), who has over 70 previous convictions, was originally charged with Mr Cummins’s murder, but pleaded guilty to manslaughter before the trial was due to start last December.

How can anyone be allowed to amass that many convictions??!!!

And the judge speaking of the verdict, which was of course back dated to last year...
    He said he was also giving consideration to the remorse Devine had shown, although he thought that remorse was not apparent until the trial had been due to begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

If the couple have kids then the lads who did it should be released. I know if it were my Granny that was done to I'd like to know the people who did it had just been let out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Ah, well obviously the burning alive part was an exaggeration, as much as I'd like that to be the outcome. But you just 2 the two that were caught will just sit there stone faced and not give up their low life accomplices.

And regardless, not much will come of this and they'll all repeat offend. It's just a matter of how lenient the "punishment" will be to determine when.

Just p!sses me right off is all, not only that people can behave this way, but that they can show no remorse and pretty much get away scot free to do it again and ruin more lives.
    they've no sense of morality, they'll hardly tell anytime soon. In which case, they should be locked up straight away (assuming they are def. guilty), then told if they can provide names, they'll be left out early. Once that time comes, then they won't be released, until they've served a full sentence. If they like to play dirty by attacking the defenceless, then the law should play dirty with them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

syklops wrote: »
    My apologies. Although, what do you mean by:

Do you think he should be in jail?

Yes.

I don't understand how people can argue on one hand that "people need to be punished for their crimes" and that we're too soft on crime then turn around and argue that Nally should be exempt.

Either the law applies equally or it does not. And more to the point, encouraging people to take the law into their own hands is a very bad idea (TM)

And now, for people to misunderstand everything i just wrote. This should be fun.