Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MacBook pro vs diet coke

• 03-02-2010 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

was working away on my MacBook last night when one of the lads spilt a bottle of diet coke on the table, some of which ran into the gap at the back of my MacBook, which subsequently switched itself off and now won't switch back on!

I have left it in the hot press for almost 2 days now and still not a giggle out of it...

Any body know firstly what may be wrong and where I could get it repaired?
    Rough cost to get it repaired, like will it be more than the price of a new one ya know?
    Can I claim of house insurance or can this be done?

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

There's a place called Mactivate in Blanchardstown that do repairs. It depends on what's wrong... but I'll go ahead and set you up for the worst: the thing could be a write-off.

Usually what you do with such cases is remove any ability to attain power, and pretend there's no "on" button, open it up and stick it in the hot press for a week. Take it out, plug it in and get praying. If it's turned on with water damage it's likely to just short the entire board.

As for house insurance, that entirely depends on what you're covered for. Check the fine print before ringing because either way, they'll try not to pay up!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

srdb20 wrote: »
    Hi lads,

was working away on my MacBook last night when one of the lads spilt a bottle of diet coke on the table, some of which ran into the gap at the back of my MacBook, which subsequently switched itself off and now won't switch back on!

I have left it in the hot press for almost 2 days now and still not a giggle out of it...

Any body know firstly what may be wrong and where I could get it repaired?
    Rough cost to get it repaired, like will it be more than the price of a new one ya know?
    Can I claim of house insurance or can this be done?

Thanks lads

As projectmayhem says, prepare for the worst. Coke, wine, juices are the worst thing you can get inside a computer. WIth water, if you don't turn it on, turning it upside down in the airing cupboard immediately can sometimes work, stuff like coke sticks. A lot of places now seem not to guarantee work on liquid damaged equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

which subsequently switched itself off and now won't switch back on!
    Thanks lads

Best educated guess is that the logic board is fubar, optical drive and hdd are compartmentalized so should be fine, but with only a 3 month guarantee on any repair it may be better to go the insurance route and replace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭displaced dub

coke is sticky... very sticky.

My guess is its Fuc*ed, you might be able to claim under accidental damages of your insurance if you have that cover but your excess could be as high as €750.00.

I spilled a fluid on my keyboard for my imac a month ago and i had to buy a new keyboard when half the keys stopped working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

coke is sticky... very sticky.

Yep, that's the main concern. I've read that a lot of users have success recovering from liquid spills, but when it's a sugary/sticky drink, it's far less likely to recover so like Projectmayhem said, you might have to prepare for the worst and look into getting a replacement machine rather than attempting to repair this one :(.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I spilled a fluid on my keyboard for my imac a month ago and i had to buy a new keyboard when half the keys stopped working.
    Yeah, this happened to me last week. Tiny drop of water fell over the number pad. Most of the keyboard is still working but the arrow keys and lower number-pad keys are gone. Still hoping they might come back to life. I can live without the number-pad but I keep pressing the arrow keys forgetting. Very annoying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah, a ''fluid'' :D

ok i didn't spill it:D:D:D

Yeah, this happened to me last week. Tiny drop of water fell over the number pad. Most of the keyboard is still working but the arrow keys and lower number-pad keys are gone. Still hoping they might come back to life. I can live without the number-pad but I keep pressing the arrow keys forgetting. Very annoying.

i cant live without the number pad and when i had my "accident" i couldn't use the following keys 456+@ as you can see there a bit important especially when im invoicing and mailing.

So i gave apple more money, think i will just give them a couple of grand a year now to save the hassle:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

Well lads, thanks for all the replys... Just an update I've droppedit into mactivate and im waiting for a quote back on the damage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

I dont suppose your house insurance, if you have it, covers it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭meep

Spilled glass of red wine onto my MBP keyboard a few weeks ago. Some keys stopped working, wine went in behind and stained screen, started overheating & shutting down,

Long story short, got 3 year old MBP replaced with brand new model for excess of €150 on house insurance. (I miss my expresscard slot).

Insurance had to take it away to evaluate for about a week before declaring it irreparable.

Good experience overall.

P

Mine doesn't, unfortunately. The next policy definitely will though, I'd advise anyone taking a policy out to specify this, as it cost relatively little extra for what you get!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

This is off topic i know

But ive heard of soooo many people after spilling water on there Mac's

Mine has a water damaged screen (Which i couldn't care about)

Anyway on topic, i know for a fact it's very expensive to replace a Mac's screen/Motherboard/or just normal repairs

Well lads, just an update... Got a quote back for the laptop there it was def the logicboard. And repair came back at just under €1600, and some good news the house insurance will cover if....

Does any one know how long it normally takes to get it fixed?
    Will there be a warranty on the repairs like?
    What happens if I get another problem say a week or two after getting it fixed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

i'm sorry......i just vomited a little when i read €1600.......

forget repairing it.....just get the insurance to buy a new one. the 2.5ghz 13" MBP is 1449 while the same in 15" is 1649......

forget repairing it at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

Yeah just buy a new one under the insurance. 1600 is disgraceful, more than the laptop cost!

Will be contacting the insurance company this morning and will hopefully find out then... I would have thought that the insurance company decide on whether or not to repair or replace it like, any body know????

well you must be from Cork like!!!!

i personally think your mad to even suggest a repair and i think the insurance company will go for replacement.

Dont forget that there are new MBPs due very soon so do your best to wait.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Well lads, just an update... Got a quote back for the laptop there it was def the logicboard. And repair came back at just under €1600, and some good news the house insurance will cover if....

Does any one know how long it normally takes to get it fixed?
    Will there be a warranty on the repairs like?
    What happens if I get another problem say a week or two after getting it fixed?

You need to check these things with the repair centre, not here. Most repair places now won't guarantee repairs on liquid damage. Explain this to the insurance company, and don't accept a repair on it, certainly not at €1600

Will be contacting the insurance company this morning and will hopefully find out then... I would have thought that the insurance company decide on whether or not to repair or replace it like, any body know????

Yes, they take it away and make a decision on repair or replace. Takes about a week for a decision.

Peter

Well lads, thanks for all the tips and advice so far really appreciate it! One last question the insurance company are picking it up tommorow, and will be letting me know if there repairing or replacing it, if there replacing it will it be alright to get the hard drive back as I need certain docs of it???

I got mine back. When they called me to tell me they'd be replacing the machine, I asked if I'd be getting it back. They said no but they could ship me the hard drive. It arrived a couple of days later along with the new macbook pro.

But you have it all backed up in any case, right?

P

Unfortunately the file I want was the one I was working on when it happened and as such I dont have a back up just what's on the laptop! Can I ask who your Insurance company was and the extent of the damage to your mbp please?

Lads does anyonehave details on the damage caused to there MB or MBP and whether it was replaced or repaired, and finally whether or not you recieved the hard drive back????

Cheers lads