Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Cheap' holiday in Orlando in July

• 02-02-2010 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

I put the cheap in inverted commas as everything is relative. Looking on Tour America I was surprised that flights from Cork plus 17 nights accommodation for 2 adults and 2 children were coming in at just over €3,000 all in on a variety of dates up to the end of July. Fair number of options for hotels. Flights only for the same dates were coming up 3,500 and were worse flight connections.

Seems cheap enough for peak time to me. Think I'll be going with it. For booking disney tickets note I think the cheapest way currently is direct with disney as far as I could see. 14 day ultimate ticket for 210 sterling for an adult. Disney tickets

Best price I could see for the flights only on other sites were about 2,200 Sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Start of hurricane season? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Recession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭me1724

Ebookers are comming in round the same price aswell, if you want to compare them for different hotels....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭bazwaldo

Victor wrote: »
    Start of hurricane season? :)

Plus unbearably hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭walshki

Have to say I was in Orlando in July 2009 and didn't find it unbearably hot. Temperature was typically 30 degrees at peak during the day. Quite humid but generally fairly comfortable. We were there 10 days and it rained on 2 of those as best as I remember and the rain didn't last long. Maybe we were lucky but I wouldn't be put off going back in July based on our experience.

Regarding hurricanes Orlando has been hit by 3 hurricanes in the last 100 years. The last was Charley in 2004 which was very weak when it reached Orlando and just dumped a fair amount of rain. That being said I'm sure it wouldn't be nice to be there waiting for one to hit.

Anyway, each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭sue97

Thats a great price. OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

walshki wrote: »
    Have to say I was in Orlando in July 2009 and didn't find it unbearably hot. Temperature was typically 30 degrees at peak during the day. Quite humid but generally fairly comfortable. We were there 10 days and it rained on 2 of those as best as I remember and the rain didn't last long. Maybe we were lucky but I wouldn't be put off going back in July based on our experience.

Regarding hurricanes Orlando has been hit by 3 hurricanes in the last 100 years. The last was Charley in 2004 which was very weak when it reached Orlando and just dumped a fair amount of rain. That being said I'm sure it wouldn't be nice to be there waiting for one to hit.

Anyway, each to their own.

I was in Florida when Hurricane Andrew hit in 92, Orlando escaped but the whole roof of the car rental agency was on the other side of the road when we got back into Miami. Nearly all the Irish were wearing "I survived Hurricane Andrew" t-shirts on the plane back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

I've been to Orlando in March and April and it was roasting (and I like the heat!) so July would be very uncomfortable especially if you're standing in queues for rides at Disneyworld.

Tour America were offering a 7 night package for 600 each with car hire incl. staying in a Disney hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

TRY http://www.cheaptickets.com/ i got great price for vegas and think its same price for orlando.

I survived hurricane erin years agow as great craic!

Great place orlando at any time of the year! I stayed in homewood suites on international drive last time i was there and it was excellent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was in Orlando in June 2008.. it wasn't too hot by any means!

Stayed in the Best Western Movieland on International Drive (across from Wet And Wild Water Park and next to the fantastic Black Angus Steakhouse.. nyum nyum!). Got return flights and 10 nights accommodation for €800 each.

Was an absolutely fantastic holiday. Seaworld (on International Drive), Disneyworld (connecting bus from Seaworld) and Orlando Studios (also bus) all within 15 - 30 minutes away. Buy your Disney tickets in advance here: http://www.undercovertourist.com/united-states/florida/orlando/attractions/tickets.html?pid=d1sc0unt

Going back to the US this summer (Miami).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

I usually travel last week in Oct , first week in Nov ... weather is perfect in Orlando then and the queues in the Theme Parks are never more than 15mins or so for rides (thats without fastpass) ... sometimes you can get off a ride , walk back around to the entrance and get right back on !!

Cheapest I can find at the moment for that period is (2 Adults , 1 X 13yr , 1 X 4yr) :

Flights - with expedia.ie = €1776 (United Airlines: Dub-Chicago-Orlando)
    Hotels with 1800hotels.ie = €448.85 (Extended Stay at Seaworld - Usually stay at Homewood Suites on International Dr but it's seems to be very pricey this year !)
    Car Hire = Basic economy car .. approx. €235

Total : €2460 ... hopefully I can get away for this - have never booked the individual peices of a holiday myself , usually went with American Holidays - however the same details above are coming in at €3200 with American Holidays - approx €700 in the difference !! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

basquille wrote: »
    Was in Orlando in June 2008.. it wasn't too hot by any means!

Stayed in the Best Western Movieland on International Drive (across from Wet And Wild Water Park and next to the fantastic Black Angus Steakhouse.. nyum nyum!). Got return flights and 10 nights accommodation for €800 each.

Going back to the US this summer (Miami).
    who did you book with?

subway wrote: »
    who did you book with?
    American Holidays

Just flicked back through my e-mail.. it was €1644 total for return flights and 10 nights accommodation for 2 people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

American Holidays

Just flicked back through my e-mail.. it was €1644 total for return flights and 10 nights accommodation for 2 people.
    cheers, how much on top of that would you need for the attractions?
    trying to figure out how much it would cost in total

Depends on what you want to do. Last year we did a week in Universal studios, Islands of Adventure and Wet and Wild which was great and it came to about €100 a person and I know similar deals are available this year.

Disney is a lot more at at least €200 a person for a week of unlimited access. If you can get over going to Disney then the universal option worked very well for us. There's a flex ticket which covers universal, islands of adventure, wet and wild, acquatica and Seaworld for about €180 or so. As basq mentioned undercovertourist is a good website for checking prices and I used mapleleaftickets.com last year - they both had similar prices.

Well.. for Disney World, see here!

It all depends how many are going, and how long it'll take you do each of the 4 parks in Disney World.

Just flicking back through my e-mail..

- we got 2 Seaworld Single-Day Adult Tickets for $123 (incl taxes). Works out at about €88 in today's rates (or €44 per adult)
    - as for Disney, I can't find what paid in my e-mail. Probably a copy of it on my Mac at home. Pretty sure we got the 4-day Magic Your Way through Undercover Tourist (using the link above) and if I re-call correctly and we did a park a day. We thought it was more than enough if you got their early. The Magic Kingdom, Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom were great but Epcot was absolutely woeful.

We actually never did Universal Studios or Busch Gardens.. weren't too bothered in Busch Gardens and Universal Studios was apparently manic as the Simpsons Ride has just opened!

Hope this helps!

Well.. for Disney World, see here!

We actually never did Universal Studios or Busch Gardens.. weren't too bothered in Busch Gardens and Universal Studios was apparently manic as the Simpsons Ride has just opened!

Hope this helps!

Apparently queues fell through the floor last year. We were in universal studios on 4th July which we expected to be crazy so we bought the priority access tickets. Turned out the queues for rides were no more than 15-20 minutes, maybe 30 minutes at max. For quite a few of the famous rides (Jaws etc) we just walked in with no queue at all. I asked one of the workers about this and they said the queues were nothing like 2008 or before. Don't know how true that still is.

Well.. I was all set to go to Universal Studios until I overheard people at a bus-stop who said the place was absolutely jammed due to the Simpsons Ride opening literally the day I got there.

Didn't bother in the end.. the queues in DisneyWorld were 20 - 40 minutes max while I was there. As I went early and used Fastpass (my girlfriends and mine) for the more popular rides and got on practically everything I wanted to - bar one (the paraglider one.. forget it's name.. think it was one word - anyone?)!

EDIT: Soarin.. that was it!

Think it was a 90 minute wait time.. feck that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭scout353

Was in Orlando in August 2006 - found it hot but as previous poster stated it wasn't opressive.

There was a hurricane alert and place was nuts - every tv station had hurricane watch! It struck Orlando around 4pm as we were leaving Epcot.

You'd get more wind and rain at Hook Head!!!!

Think they are overly cautious after Katrina!

Even with 30+ degree temps all the themeparks have their queues well shaded and a lot of them have fans that spray mist so it is not a problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BennyBlanko

OP, 3k in peak season for 2 Adults and 2 kids to Orlando is good.
    I doubt the accomodation is on resort is it??..., if it was, it'd be a killer price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭bazwaldo

scout353 wrote: »
    a lot of them have fans that spray mist so it is not a problem!

I think that could be a basting :D

I suppose as long as you cover up the head and wear a very high factor, I'm sure it'll be fine.

Herself has been asking me to bring the kids during the summer as the sis in law lives there. Very tempting if the right price for flights came along.

OP, 3k in peak season for 2 Adults and 2 kids to Orlando is good.
    I doubt the accomodation is on resort is it??..., if it was, it'd be a killer price.

Very few hotels are truly on resort in Orlando. I looked at some of the hotel options and some of the disney ones were in there (Pop Century, All sports resort etc). They weren't the cheapest but were ok. They are outside the resort per se but have shuttle buses going in. However, if you're renting a car accessibility over there is great and the driving is very easy with loads of parking available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭cdemt1

However, if you're renting a car accessibility over there is great and the driving is very easy with loads of parking available.

Just remember that every theme park charges for parking in addition to the cost of the park entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭discostu1

5 adults going to Tampa in June for 3 weeks returning 11/07 flights only
    € 2285.00 got it on Cheaptickets.com

discostu1 wrote: »
    5 adults going to Tampa in June for 3 weeks returning 11/07 flights only
    € 2285.00 got it on Cheaptickets.com

My difficulty is I don't want to travel before the 2nd week in july as I have primary school kids and a birthday they want to be at home for in first week of July. Checking the various cheap flights websites seems to show nothing below about 700pp after 2nd July to get to Florida. Are you seeing anything cheaper than that? That's why tour America is looking attractive to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

My difficulty is I don't want to travel before the 2nd week in july as I have primary school kids and a birthday they want to be at home for in first week of July. Checking the various cheap flights websites seems to show nothing below about 700pp after 2nd July to get to Florida. Are you seeing anything cheaper than that? That's why tour America is looking attractive to me.

Did you check cheaptickets.com as ive found it to be signifcabtly cheaper than any other site for flights. try it and see what comes up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭discostu1

Cheaptickets gives a price kof $ 867 dollars Dublin to Orlando for I think I put in 12/07 coming back on the 26/07 about 635ish euros ???
    I have found most price changes occur on Monday/Tuesday so it might be a case of keep on looking.
    Cork Tampa is still at 495ish euro for 23/06 coming back on the 11/07

discostu1 wrote: »
    Cheaptickets gives a price kof $ 867 dollars Dublin to Orlando for I think I put in 12/07 coming back on the 26/07 about 635ish euros ???
    I have found most price changes occur on Monday/Tuesday so it might be a case of keep on looking.
    Cork Tampa is still at 495ish euro for 23/06 coming back on the 11/07

Thanks. I'll keep the eyes open but for flights from cork at the time I'm looking Cheaptickets is about $900 and travelocity and expedia about the same. I do prefer the flights only way but hard to beat the value of the packages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭djkat

Sunway had special deals in the metro today for Orlando but cant remember for what date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Rashers72

djkat wrote: »
    Sunway had special deals in the metro today for Orlando but cant remember for what date

May 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Any advice for accommodation December jan 2011? Need to be near Disney. Three of us, adult +13 and 15 year old. Last time five years ago there was hurricane and the hotel was full of homeless locals and army engineers who were drafted into the area reroofing all the houses which were destroyed. Dont need total luxury.
    Planned on getting separate flights _ continental do 530 pp through newark.
    All advice greatly appreciated.