Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this normal practice?

• 01-02-2010 6:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭

Have ordered an Astra but the wait time is 12 weeks the dealer wants to take in my car now (as in tomorrow) is this normal enough to do? They have offered to give me a car in the mean time.

Also the insurance on my own car runs out in March so I won't have the new car by then so what do I do about insurance insure the garages car?

What I'm really worried about is that when the new car comes in there is nothing stopping them putting me over a barrel.

What should i do about insurance?

Thanks all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If you're unsure of the future of the garage (reasonable enough) you could agree a buy in price where they pay for your trade in now, then you buy the car straight when it comes in. this could involve reducing the trade in price and the purchase price of the new Astra to lower level, this way they get the trade-in at a good price now and sell you the new car at cost price when it comes in.

I presume they want to sell your car at todays prices rather than at the lower value it'll have in 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Its not normal practice but we're not in normal times. Are you sure they won't go bang before your new car is delivered ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

12 weeks or 3mts depreciation, how about he buys your car off you now and you come back and buy the same car for a couple of thousand less.
    I wouldn't agree to that deal unless it was very very sweet in my favour..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

If they take your car now then the only way they can change the amount you pay come delivery is if the RRP of the new car increases. Re the insurance, i'm sure you can just renew on the garage car and do a permanent change to the new car when it arrives. Assuming they give you something decent, I can't really see a downside - you don't have to worry about depreciation, servicing, or mechanical mishap for the next three months. Of course you'll be wanting all of the above in writing. It is unusual, although my mother was once given a car for a few months while she awaited delivery of a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Cheers for the advice guys, the car they are giving is not worth that much we are talking 100s rather than 1000s. On the other hand and I realise this may not mean anything in the current environment but they are a big enough Dealership.

In relation to the deal itself they were over 1k cheaper than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

alexmcred wrote: »
    Is your current car depreciating by more or less than €4k pa?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Have they given you a reason why they want your car now? is it been used as a deposit against the new one?
    Have they a buyer waiting for your car?
    Tell us a bit more about the deal you are doing and maybe someone can advise you.

Its being used as a deposit against the new car. They are saying they can't give me the same trade in price in 12 weeks so need to take it now to sell it on. Have also paid a €500 deposit myself on the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭CantThinkOfANam

Doesn't sound normal to me. I don't think it matters how big the dealer is in the current climate (Belgard motors springs to mind).

I've waiting on a new A3. Its taking 8 weeks to build, but I'm still driving my old car. No deposit either, but then I'm a long time customer of the dealer.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I wouldn't run with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

This is normal behaviour for the company I think you're dealing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Could be genuine, they might have a keen buyer lined up for your current car. But anyway, I wouldn't go with it - why take the risk? Tell them sorry, you won't depart with your car until the new car is delivered. Unless they'll now pay you full market value of the car (to be repaid by you provided the deal goes through as agreed) and still provide a runaround for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Happened me before when they had a buyer for my car and they were waiting on my new (used) car to come in. But with the way things are (and especially if it's your first time dealing with them) I'd be weary of having something in writing with them at least...and also a decent car in the meantime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Cheers for the advice guys, the car they are giving is not worth that much we are talking 100s rather than 1000s. On the other hand and I realise this may not mean anything in the current environment but they are a big enough Dealership.

The size of the dealership dont matter, look at belgard motors or caseys in roscommon. Be careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I suppose the big question is what kind of car are you trading in? Mileage and condition and year?

There's a demand for certain types of car at the minute in the trade as used stock is drying up. Prices have firmed up, so maybe they just want to blow it out ASAP. Maybe they want to add in the extra few quid they may make into January to boost figures. Maybe they have a retail punter lined up for it. There could be a hundred different reasons as to why.

The only way I would even consider this deal was if the replacement car they offer is from a third party (Enterprise/Hertz etc) and is of a certain class (seen as your getting an Astra, I'd imagine something like an Astra or Focus is suitable). The reason I'm suggesting the third party is it means your left with some comeback if there are any problems with the dealership down the line. I'd also insist on a signed three month contract for the vehicle.

As someone else pointed out, dont do the deal unless they write you a cheque now for the value of your car. You can say in writing that you will put this money towards the standing cost of your new car in three months time. At least this way, if things go tits up, your not left out of pocket. As its a fresh order ,at least the Astra could be picked up by another dealer (maybe with more discount too).

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

No way would I give them my car and take a bangar for 3 months!...Can see a technicality in the distance where ya get bent over a barrel... No thanks:rolleyes:

sounds like the OP is trading in a banger and getting use of a car for 3 months though

It all comes down to the car which the OP is trading I suppose.

I'm trading in an 08 Golf GT sport 140bhp so its a not really a banger (I hope) lol

The 140 was a 1.4TSi right? Not the worst yoke to have on your forecourt.

Gut feeling tells me he has someone well roped into your car now, and wants to get that deal done. I dont think thats the kind of car he'll want to blow out to the trade.

sorry, misread your earlier post, thought the car you were trading in was barely worth 4 figures

No worries Colm. Appreciate all the help lads suppose what I'm worried about is if something does happen I'm left fairly fecked. Am also unsure what the insurance situation will be. Best thing I think to do is talk to them and let them no my fears and see what they say and go from there. Yeah its the 1.4 tsi. Drummer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

The lads are right, there's nothing more suspicious going on here than the fact that they already have your car sold and they want to get it done.
    Odds are, that's also the reason they're €1k cheaper than everyone, because they're pricing it for now rather than May.

Your only real concern is how to protect yourself from if they go bang. I'd say you should be negotiating for them to buy your car from you for a reasonable amount, with the balance payable by you on collection of the new car.

Your trade-off for the €1k better deal is driving a loan car for 3 months.