Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Markus the Prostidude - and hes Legal in Nevada

• 01-02-2010 1:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭

This gave me a real hoot a college dropout named Markus has become a licenced protitute in Nevada wherebprotitution is legal.

Dubbed the protidude by the press he has likened himself to the black activist Rosa Parks who was the person who sparked the Civil Rights movement in the US challenging segregation on buses.

His story is here

http://www.thestar.co.za/index.php?fArticleId=5323732

http://lifestyle.indiainfo.com/article/100123132348_meet_americas_first_legal_gigolo-_prostidude/783668.html

His story is not glamorous -after driving from Alabama to LA to become a porn actor he ended up in a homeless shelter.

He comes across as reasonably articulate but a McDonalds job is not for him.

I am sure there will be some laughs and some debate from this.-but for years prostitution has been associated with the Chippendales as a sideline for their performers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

Good man Markus. I wonder if he'll get much clientele? Would women be more reticent about visiting prostitutes than men?
    Considering it's the United States though he'll probably be inundated with willing customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

You dont need to go to the USA for demand with an estimated 600 male prostitutes in Ireland. A friend of mine was in the businesss.

I reckon 600 might be an underestimate.

http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=3387

CDfm wrote: »
    You dont need to go to the USA for demand with an estimated 600 male prostitutes in Ireland. A friend of mine was in the businesss.

I reckon 600 might be an underestimate.

http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=3387

This would be serving a gay clientele?

It isn't like nsa is a challenge to get for any woman who is interested in it.

Moonbaby wrote: »

My friend was not serving a gay clientele. I imagine that part of it was for conversation because he is a personable fellah.

Some of his clients were middle aged but not all.

Women buy sex in London and the US

http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/relationships/article2999703.ece

http://opinion.latimes.com/opinionla/2007/11/what-to-make-of.html

Women have active sex entertainment industries too in the form of books movies and tv

There is nothing shy about Sex in the City

http://www.lipsticking.com/2008/03/will-women-buy.html

There is evidence too of female sex tourism

http://www.nodo50.org/Laura_Agustin/host-bars-and-gender-equality-men-who-serve-women

The concept of Women Buying Sex is widely recognised worldwide

http://www.peripheries.org/2009/04/06/buying-sex-not-a-male-only-habit/

You also have the whole area of women sex abusers as exposed by Esther Rantzen.

So hey Markus is only unusual because he applied for a licence in Nevada

Its a fallacy that women don't buy sex and an urban myth. You had tours of the Chippendales in Ireland -Male Strippers before you ever had an equivalent female strippers for a male audience.

I thought this thread would spark some grown up debate on the sex industry and our perceptions towards it.

Maybe I wasnt explicit enough with the title and should have gone for something like do women pay for sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Moonbaby wrote: »

What if she's old or very unattractive? Or wants someone more attractive who'll treat her with courtesy?

goose2005 wrote: »
    What if she's old or very unattractive? Or wants someone more attractive who'll treat her with courtesy?

Markus is truly a legend. Well done him - he is doing what lots of guys would love to do.

I am just waiting to see all the guys post here and say "well i'd love a job like that"

I will bet loads of women pay for but are too coy to admit it.

How many unmarried women civil servants do you have in Dublin on the bachelorette circuit.

And to think this guy used to do bit parts in Law and Order SVU

Jonah Falcon, Man With World's Largest Penis, Unemployed In New York

First Posted: 01- 8-10 05:06 PM | Updated: 02- 4-10 06:53

At first glance, Jonah Falcon is just another statistic.
    Unemployed and living with his mother, Falcon is but one of the 20% of working-age American men without a job. Yet Falcon has something no other man has: the record for the world's largest penis.
    Yes, that's a fact.
    Since being profiled in Rolling Stone and appearing in an HBO documentary about his 13.5 inch penis, the 39-year-old Brooklyn native has struggled to find a steady job and is now living at home with his mother.
    Falcon had been working as a video game reviewer for a website as well as a small-time actor. But in a recent interview with Sphere, Falcon talks about how he his now "between jobs" due to the "rough economy."
    And despite seemingly being tailor-made for the adult industry, Falcon says that he doesn't do porn because if he did, "Nobody would take me seriously. Nobody."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭iptba

I thought this thread would spark some grown up debate on the sex industry and our perceptions towards it.

Maybe I wasnt explicit enough with the title and should have gone for something like do women pay for sex?
    I wonder has the TV series, "Hung", changed any attitudes?

I've heard of this sort of problem before:
    In the eyes of the law, it is an offence under the 1993 Sexual Offences Act to loiter with intent to solicit someone for sex. This law has led to two different developments. It has made young men who work on the streets, in the parks and public toilets much harder for health services to assist, as they hide from the gardai, who can arrest them merely for standing around.

Ah well -thats all right so.The ever vigilant guards protect young guys by arresting them outside public toilets.

That sounds vaguely victorian to me.

What issue are you addressing ? The lack of public toilets for the guards to patrol.

Ah well -thats all right so.The ever vigilant guards protect young guys by arresting them outside public toilets.

That sounds vaguely victorian to me.

What issue are you addressing ? The lack of public toilets for the guards to patrol.
    I'm addressing the issue that driving prostitution under ground can mean that some vulnerable people may not get the health care they need.

CDfm, 7 days on and no apology to me* yet I see you have just said sorry to somebody in another thread. Maybe I need to be more "assertive".

I didn’t expect a long apology or anything, just a line or even a few words involving some acknowledgement of what you did.

hi iptba -I wasnt aware I had upset you though I am a bit of a smartass and sorry if I have.

I thought the point you made was lazy and I cant imagine there being a ready made market for prostitutes outside public toilets. I dont know of any public toilets that are open these days for garda to patrol to combat male prostitution. I think the image is stereotyped -gays cruising public toilets.

From what I understand there is a market is heterosexual male prostitution of young guys to the female market too. its something that does not get talked about.

I saw on another thread that female prostitutes got help for other problems ie drug addiction etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭burrentech

hi iptba -I wasnt aware I had upset you though I am a bit of a smartass and sorry if I have.

I thought the point you made was lazy and I cant imagine there being a ready made market for prostitutes outside public toilets. I dont know of any public toilets that are open these days for garda to patrol to combat male prostitution. I think the image is stereotyped -gays cruising public toilets.

From what I understand there is a market is heterosexual male prostitution of young guys to the female market too. its something that does not get talked about.

I saw on another thread that female prostitutes got help for other problems ie drug addiction etc.

There is a lot of sexual stereotyping.

A young woman can be paid to have sex with an older man, and no one is grossed out. But a young man being paid to have sex with an older woman seems to have everyone reaching for the vomit bag!

Perhaps there is an idea that after the menopause, woman lose all interest in sex.

Female prostitutes get help again because of sexual stereotyping. Women are 'vulnerable' and men are not!

Not to mention that because of the stereotyping a lot of the resources offered to help sex workers are simply not geared to accommodate males.

Thanks.

As I said, my point was about driving the problem underground from wherever (I wasn’t thinking about public toilets specifically – that was just in the quote) can make it harder for health workers to find them. I can see how what I wrote wasn't clear. I also wasn't sure what you were accusing me of until your explanation.

But it is underground & its illicit earnings.

You wouldnt get many women admitting on a poll paying for sex but all the evidence suggests they do.

And for guys the chance of prosecution is very very low if non existant.

Health Workers finding them - I cant see what is the issue there. Usually, they have a primary problem like drugs which is the issue and the prostitution provides extra income for the lifestyle.

I have a friend who did it to get thru college and he didn't need any health workers - now I would never bring it up but I imagine he just gets on with life and saw it as an alternative to shelf stacking in Dunnes Stores or barwork.

New York, Mar 27 (ANI): The first legal male prostitute has reportedly decided to call it quits after getting fewer than 10 customers over the past three months.

Buzz up!
    Markus, 25, an ex-Marine, who put the "dude" in prosti-dude, was the first man to be hired by Bobbi Davis to work at her Shady Lady bordello located about 150 miles outside Las Vegas.

But he has now been put on the sidelines in favour of another gigolo in his mid-30s who performs under the name "Y. Not".

Though the Nye County brothel had temporarily stopped servicing women, Davis said she isn't ready to give up on her groundbreaking foray into male prostitution, hoping for a happy ending at some point.

"We're just taking a little break," the New York Post quoted her as telling the Las Vegas Review-Journal.

Davis said the new prosti-dude has had about 10 customers of his own before an electrical snafu earlier this week in the bungalow he was using forced the brothel to close.

She hopes to put "Y. Not" back to work by May.

As for Markus, Davis said he's going back to the bump-and-grind, saying that he "went back to do [porn] movies", and that it "was a mutual decision".

Markus made hooker history in January when he became Nevada's first licensed male prostitute, but his brief stint at the Shady Lady was something of a disaster.

Before Davis barred him from any further contact with the media, Markus gave an interview to Details magazine and The Post where he compared himself to civil rights heroine Rosa Parks.

"I'm breaking through sexual segregation," he had said when comparing himself to Parks. (ANI)