Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BJJ Revolution in Euros, Andy takes gold

• 30-01-2010 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

Andy Ryan has just won the Gold Medal

Darren whelan also won gold

Peter Lavery won a silver

Robbie Hickey won silver

Karl Roche won Bronze

More updates to follow as i get them,

Well done lads and especially Andy who is the Head coach and the 1 that everyone in BJJ revolution looks to for inspiration.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Well done!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Thats brilliant news, congrats to all the guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭wingnut4

well done guys!! fantastic news great for irish bjj :-)

Class. Well done boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 donalcarmody

congrats on the europeans
    delighted for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 monkeypies

Just FYI:

Andy "wins" gold in Brown belt ultra-heavy senior 1:
    erm.jpg

Peter lavery "wins" silver in Purple belt medium-heavy senior 2
    erm2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭TEAM RYANO

andy ryan took gold in the absolute brown senior 1 with 20 entrys in it so check your sheets again .team ryano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 monkeypies

That's fair enough, nice one andy! And here's only half the bracket:

fairplay-1.jpg

Was peter's silver in the absolute too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

TEAM RYANO wrote: »
    andy ryan took gold in the absolute brown senior 1 with 20 entrys in it so check your sheets again .team ryano

Beat me to it there,

some people are just knockers and love to hate on others-well done Andy on a great win and its sad that we have people trying to spoil an irish mans success instead of praising it as its great for all of irish BJJ not just BJJ revolutions.,

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Francis Galvin

20 entries? that's a huge number
    fair play Andy, great result

well done everyone elso from bjj rev aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

let me put you straight 'monkeypies' seeing as you obviously only registered to knock what went on in Portugal.None of us have any control of the brackets or who enters the event.When we put our registration in and pay our fee we take a chance on how many other people also register.
    On this occasion there was one other over 40 years old competitor in my section.He was also surprised at this but was glad of getting to fight as was I.
    The plain fact is this,I have no doubt that there are a mountain of guys,over 40 and purple belt as well as hundreds of guys,ultra heavy,senior brown who are quite content to sit on their backsides at home and criticise guys for getting medals at these tournaments.In my opinion,if you dont like how its done then get off your arse,pay your flights,hotel and entry fee and compete yourself.
    There was less than 15 guys there from the whole of Ireland,two from the north and most of them revolution except for two.They worked as a team and suported eachother because we were all from the same country.Theres no point in asking for you to post under your real name as haters never do.Im not happy about the way I got silver but at least I put myself out there as did Andy...................where where you sitting for the last few days?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Great job everyone!

Never mind the knockers, if someone has a problem with you winning a medal, they can show up at the next one and fight you for it. But they won't.

Great for BJJ in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

what an event! the team ryano boys did class, highlight of the weekend was andys first fight, the toehold from hell! he beat another 2 men to win gold, tommy lakes took a ton of photos that should be up soon, and fair play to him around 13000 photos in total!
    It was a great experience, the irish put on a great show,

Well done to andys team, paul fox, DAZ!, peter lavery, fergal, us athy boyos and t-money lakes!
    vids on the way soon, i won 3 of my fights by triangle and lost the quarter final by dec, andrew got DQ for tappin out a dude with an awkward ankle lock, leg crossed over hip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭tommyl2010

Pics of the Irish guys in action here

Some of my favs from the event here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 toaldingham

Congrats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Uchi Mata from Andy!.

andyjudo.jpg

Stunning photography Tommy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭tommyl2010

i heard andy had problems gettin the souvenir threw customs.....

4321721693_5c21492648.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

I'd just like to counteract the little bit of cynicism that's been evident in this thread. Big congrats to Andy Ryan, BJJ Revolution and all the other lads who went over to the European Championships to compete.

Competing in international events like this is excellent for personal improvement. You get the experience of trying to cut weight and travel long distances. You get to compete against all types, those with funky submissions you've never seen before and those that like to play a strategic points based game.

But the Irish sending out a team (made of many academies) has benefits for everyone involved in the sport here. It helps the guys that go raise their game a little, by the experience and the confidence that competition brings. It also helps raise the level of everyone in their clubs, as we learn from those better than us.

It also raises the profile of the sport here. Those in Brasil, America, UK, Europe etc. will be reminded that Ireland also has a vibrant BJJ community and are possible locations for seminars, camps and affiliations. It will encourage those in the UK and Scandinavia perhaps to attend more of our competitions or invite us to theirs which is great for everyone involved.

So well done and thank you to everyone that makes the effort to go the extra mile to compete at these big competitions. I think John Kavanagh got a gold medal in the Purple in 2004, Alan hannon gold in White last year or the year before and Caoimhe mcgill, I'm sure has won medals in euros and worlds. So again, fair play to everyone involved (including the people i haven't mentioned) as continuing to send an Irish team (without funding i might add) to the euros/worlds/big comps and being competitive and winning medals will have great benefits for everyone on the sidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭DTB

Well done Andy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

tommyl2010 wrote: »
    i heard andy had problems gettin the souvenir threw customs.....

4321721693_5c21492648.jpg

Oh man, i'm taping just looking at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 toaldingham

Images at http://www.bjj.ie/?p=376

Thanks to Tommy.

Ciaran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

of the achievements of the lads in the Euro BJJ champs I'm gonna make this one a stickie for a few days.

For a sport which is still in its infancy, and growing, in Ireland I think this is something for everyone here to celebrate and recognise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭TEAM RYANO

LADS THANKS FOR THE SUPPORT,
    IT WAS A GREAT WEEKEND FOR IRISH BJJ WHAT EVER CLUB OR TEAM YOU WERE FROM.
    IT WAS GOOD TO SEE THE IRISH SUPPORT EACH OTHER
    BJJ REVOLUTION,SBG,ATHY BJJ AND GRAICE BARRA,IF I FORGOT SOME ONE SORRY THANKS .
    NEXY YEAR WE SHOULD TRY AND GET ATEAM THERE FOR THE TEAM EVENT .
    HOPE TO SEE YOU ALL AT THE DUBLIN OPEN
    TEAM RYANO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Congrats guys from Ray and myself and everyone here... great achievement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

Lads, WELL Done!! Great achievement. & Fair play to ye in representing Ireland , so well.
    Some Great Photo's there, nice job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

The quality of the pics is top class.

The one with Andy is a cracker.