Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

diggers

• 30-01-2010 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭

any diggers on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

JCB-3CX-Backhoe-K.jpg

JCB GT
    edmsat3135.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

In relation to what? Grave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

diggin foxes i think he means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭gavlaw

ha ha smart arse digging foxes

This any help then??????????

shovel.jpg

wheres the fox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Not my thing BUT each to their own .................... once it's legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

gavlaw wrote: »
    ha ha smart arse digging foxes

what do you shoot them with when you dig them out, just curious as this is in a shooting forum;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

johnner1 wrote: »
    what do you shoot them with when you dig them out, just curious as this is in a shooting forum;)

It is also the hunting section which has ferrets and lurchers discussed, but for the record I used to use the 12gague :D;)

semi auto shotgun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

johnner1 wrote: »

You shoot them with a terrier, a hunting bar, a shovel or let them off in front of a pack of hounds. :p

This is the hunting forum by the way and as stupid as it is, hunting isn't classified here as a sport, but instead is a sub forum to the shooting forum which is classified as a sport, which it is in its own right... But if you were to think it out logically hunting should probably have its own section where we can discuss all aspects of hunting. Hunting covers stalking, game shooting, fox hunting, ferreting, pideon shooting, falconry ..... the list is endless.

take the terrier out throw in a hand gernade an run like f***

clivej wrote: »

Farmer: "Bunny, what the F**k is that hole doing in my lovely field? !!!!"
    Bunny: "I was digging out foxes :("
    Farmer: "Shoot 'em don't bother digging up my fields !!!!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

See, that's exactly the response I'd expect to get too! "Did ya leave the bloody rifle at home?!" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

take the terrier out throw in a hand gernade an run like f***

:othen why dig in the first place.. you'll get a bigger hole:D in half the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

thats some monstrosity of a house in the background... dubs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

i do a bit of degging, not as much as i'd like though, its hard to come by this season for some reason.

farmer- fcuking fox has been at my lambs:mad: i've tried lamping him but he's a cute whore.
    whitser- no bother, i'll work my hounds through the cover and check any holes with my terrier. if we find him to ground,i'll dig him, shoot em at point blank(quick and humane) then back fill the hole properly so that your field's the same as i found it.
    farmer- thanks a bunch, your welcome to hunt and dig my land any time you like.
    whitser-my pleasure.

whitser, I ain't knockin' it ....................

I was out this morning after such a fox AGAIN.

Tried lamping, ambushing evening & morning. Set up dead sheep carcass to put the odds in my favour and he still giving me the slip :(

Mind you he's eaten well for last week on that carcas so not all bad as he's now leaving the lambing shed be so the farmer is kinda happy, for now ;)

Reckon will have to let some of the local "diggers" take over this job as the carcass is stripped clean and I ain't got another............ yet ;)

This fox is a worthy adversary and he deserves respect ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Had a lad like that Bunny, took us the best part of a year to get him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

See, that's exactly the response I'd expect to get too! "Did ya leave the bloody rifle at home?!" :p
    I`ve done a lot of digging in my time and lamping with lurchers! I think it deserves as much respect as any other form of hunting. One thing i cant stand is so called hunting men trying to make little of other forms of the sport! We have enough problems with narrow minded people in this country trying to ban hunting, without being chastised by our own people!!!:mad::mad::mad:

Eddie B wrote: »
    I`ve done a lot of digging in my time and lamping with lurchers! I think it deserves as much respect as any other form of hunting. One thing i cant stand is so called hunting men trying to make little of other forms of the sport! We have enough problems with narrow minded people in this country trying to ban hunting, without being chastised by our own people!!!:mad::mad::mad:

Just for your information.......................

I have stated my opinion towards digging & lurchers etc on this forum many times. I suggest you go and search some of my previous posts especially post #21 in this thread ...............
    whitser, I ain't knockin' it ....................

..................Reckon will have to let some of the local "diggers" take over this job as the carcass is stripped clean and I ain't got another............ yet ;)

So once again, especially for you, as far as I'm concerned ............... each to their own as long as it's legal !

Also the little green smiling face at the bottom of my post that you have taken offence to denotes humour !

So might I suggest that in future you read what I said, not what you think I said ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Well I am firmly of the opinion that the only good fox is a dead one so any way you get them is fine by me as long as its legal, I have a terrier who spends all his time barking at things down the fields would he be any good for going down fox holes and digging the buggers out?? I know nothing of this form of fox hunting but would love to learn!!!

if you know anyone who diggs you could go out with them an take your dog its good oul craic when you get into it its a good way of keeping fit as well

digging usually causes a stir on this forum. prob cos lads who never been on a dig think that a dig is like one of them dodgy undercover videos we all seen on documentries on tv etc...
    any genuine terrier man digs to his dog and dispatches the fox as quickly and humanley as possible, no baiting no pitting on torture etc...

there's a code of conduct set down by the working terrier federation and also the hai in regards to working terriers. its an effective means of pest control and excellent sport,especially if you enjoy working dogs.

No6 wrote: »
    Well I am firmly of the opinion that the only good fox is a dead one so any way you get them is fine by me as long as its legal, I have a terrier who spends all his time barking at things down the fields would he be any good for going down fox holes and digging the buggers out?? I know nothing of this form of fox hunting but would love to learn!!!
    its takes a special dog to work below ground. only way to find out if your terrier has what it takes is to let him try it. best of luck. he mightnt make a digging dog but he might bolt em from holes to guns etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

No6 wrote: »
    I have a terrier who spends all his time barking at things down the fields would he be any good for going down fox holes and digging the buggers out??QUOTE]

If you or the mrs is ok with him coming back a bit torn now & then give him ok.
    His bark may be worse than his bite though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

use terriers but the digging bit is too too much like hard work prefer to try get them to bolt, anyway they bite:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Deer Hunter DL

we only dig the fox out if we really need to like a farmer getting lambs lifted and lamping not a sucsess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 whippetman

You shoot them with a terrier, a hunting bar, a shovel or let them off in front of a pack of hounds. :p

This is the hunting forum by the way and as stupid as it is, hunting isn't classified here as a sport, but instead is a sub forum to the shooting forum which is classified as a sport, which it is in its own right... But if you were to think it out logically hunting should probably have its own section where we can discuss all aspects of hunting. Hunting covers stalking, game shooting, fox hunting, ferreting, pideon shooting, falconry ..... the list is endless.
    I agree completely some people hunt without guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

whippetman wrote: »
    I agree completely some people hunt without guns

Some people on here classify themselves as hunting experts here coz they own a gun. They don't even own a decent pair of boots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

any diggers on here
    I use to work on a big farm, we had 1200 sheep and ever year before lambing we would go out with a Volvo loading shovel and dig out big heaps of old roots with the silage forks. We got some serious amount of foxes.
    Father had a springer (stone mad) use to come with us and catch the runners. Them were the days. A great way of vermin control.
    The farm was a old estate in its day surrounded by big walls about 12 feet high which become over grown with ivy use to hold a lot of foxes aswel. We would put the springer up and let him work the top of the wall, we would walk along either side and take the jumpers. Shoot allot of foxes from the walls as well. Wouldn't be unusual to shoot 10 or 15 foxes a day.

greenpeter wrote: »
    I use to work on a big farm, we had 1200 sheep and ever year before lambing we would go out with a Volvo loading shovel and dig out big heaps of old roots with the silage forks. We got some serious amount of foxes.
    Father had a springer (stone mad) use to come with us and catch the runners. Them were the days. A great way of vermin control.
    The farm was a old estate in its day surrounded by big walls about 12 feet high which become over grown with ivy use to hold a lot of foxes aswel. We would put the springer up and let him work the top of the wall, we would walk along either side and take the jumpers. Shoot allot of foxes from the walls as well. Wouldn't be unusual to shoot 10 or 15 foxes a day.
    deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

one of the lads that hunts with us used to have a red terrier to be big into digging, and he used to bring his terrier with him the whole time, where ever we went hunting d lil fu**ker used to find a fox den, then the whole day would be wasted waitin for lads to go get bars and shovels and come back and try hear where the dog is and dig him out, some waste of a days hunting, its a lot easier and quicker when you know where the dens are and go there specifically to dig them and have a ferret finder for the terrier

ormondprop wrote: »
    one of the lads that hunts with us used to have a red terrier to be big into digging, and he used to bring his terrier with him the whole time, where ever we went hunting d lil fu**ker used to find a fox den, then the whole day would be wasted waitin for lads to go get bars and shovels and come back and try hear where the dog is and dig him out, some waste of a days hunting, its a lot easier and quicker when you know where the dens are and go there specifically to dig them and have a ferret finder for the terrier
    we would always take a terrier or two but we would leave them in the trailer so that if the fox got to ground we have the option to dig em out if we were just going digging we would spend the day checking burrows we already know an leave the hounds at home i think its always handy to have a terrier near hand