Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is BJJ & for Street Attacks!

• 29-01-2010 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

Ok, im 25, im doing Martial Arts different Forms since i was around 12. i have 10 years under me with judo.

With all this talk about how well BJJ is doing in the MMA World, Its all good were you fighting 1 on 1, but lets face it out their in the street anything goes im good on the ground being from Judo but thats not the place you want to end up in a Street fight were. the other guys buddys can jump in.

for me a Street fight should end standing up either with eblows to temple of the head or a punch under the armpit ( Really Hurts). or a knife fist to the windpipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

No, BJJ would be of little use in a street attack with multiple aggressors and does not claim to be either, its designed for 1 on 1 combat and is very effective for that, hope that helps..
    Cork24 wrote: »
    or a punch under the armpit ( Really Hurts). or a knife fist to the windpipe.

that made me smile! why not just punch them in the jaw if your so accurate.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

When a Person is giving you a Hook or Attacking you with a Knife once you Block it and push the hand above his hand his armpit is open.

if you look alot of Training DVDs they tell you punch them into the face,
    their are several nerve bundles & major blood vessels that run through your armpit its also the were the heart chakra starts off which hitting hard enough you could give the person an abnormal heart beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

I have a Wushu dvd tells you about the Elements of yen & Yang. by hitting some one in the Yen & Yang at the same time could kill someone. the Video is old, i found it in side Torrent site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

a punch under the armpit

Hmmm, either he'ed want to have very big armpits OR you'ed need very small fists
    Attacking you with a Knife once you Block it and push the hand above his hand his armpit is open.

Do you honestly think this would be a good idea????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Do you honestly think this would be a good idea????

That's what I'd be thinking as well Dave.

When a Person is giving you a Hook or Attacking you with a Knife once you Block it and push the hand above his hand his armpit is open.

Have you tried this much out on the street, or against a "non compliant" training partner going at you full speed and contact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

What is even going on here, if you punched me in the armpit in a streetfight id just nut you in the nose.

In a streetfight, either throw so many digs, or hightail it out of there. this block, kick, upward elbow and chop stuff is grand on a few jigsaw mats but if youve had a few pints and someone bottles you youre not going to rummage for your kimono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I think we should have a Walter Mitty Sub-Forum for this crap.

dkaye.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I wouldn't piss him off Mart. He could kill ya with a punch to your Yen Yang :pac:

I know, sometimes I despair!.

And to think the lad boasts ten year's Judo too!.. Oh god why didn't he just say Pro-Wrestling and be done with it?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

This is classic chakras from yoga, yang from daoism, 'yen' maybe a Jedi term? Stopping the heart through the toe nail etc... Op if you're new to this perhaps you have been duped by the hype? You're at a crossroads try to be objective and question everything. Good luck.
    Check the internal power thread ask someone you trust and know but who doesn't do martial arts to read it and give anopinion. Some posts are clear and translate and explain every concept and term, mine included here others hide behind vague concepts and mistranslations transforming solid fighting methods into magic. Unfortunately not everyone who posted there is confident enough to give their name or tell us who they are. But it would seem that there are thosw who seem to poscess a practical mindset and have verifiable ring experience and then there are those who make the outlandish claims and seem to exist only in the matrix interweb. Which will you become?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

This is classic chakras from yoga, yang from daoism, 'yen' maybe a Jedi term? Stopping the heart through the toe nail etc... Op if you're new to this perhaps you have been duped by the hype? You're at a crossroads try to be objective and question everything. Good luck.
    Check the internal power thread ask someone you trust and know but who doesn't do martial arts to read it and give anopinion. Some posts are clear and translate and explain every concept and term, mine included here others hide behind vague concepts and mistranslations transforming solid fighting methods into magic. Unfortunately not everyone who posted there is confident enough to give their name or tell us who they are. But it would seem that there are thosw who seem to poscess a practical mindset and have verifiable ring experience and then there are those who make the outlandish claims and seem to exist only in the matrix interweb. Which will you become?

Chris89 is unsure what just happened.

Armpit attacks.... Troll job, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The brachial plexus runs through the armpit ( i think) so it's quite possible that it's a vulnerable spot much like the solar plexus. It's definitely a valid target in weapon systems because theres an artery in there too.

There's a book called "moving zen" where the author recounts thrusting with a knife hand strike into someones armpit and thinking that he killed the guy when he dropped.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Its not an easy target and there is easier more defimite ones suvh as the jaw to target, or the temple, even the nose, The reality is its a low percentage move and more a dream than a reality in real life..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

The brachial plexus runs through the armpit ( i think) so it's quite possible that it's a vulnerable spot much like the solar plexus. It's definitely a valid target in weapon systems because theres an artery in there too.

It would take you to bring weapons into this conversation O'Ceallaigh:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

This is classic chakras from yoga, yang from daoism, 'yen' maybe a Jedi term?

The yen, is actualy the national currency of japan, who knew?
    I here Japanese get quite annoyed any time someone hits them in the Yen.

From wikipedia: The yen (円, en?) (sign: ¥; code: JPY) is the currency of Japan. It is the third most-traded currency in the foreign exchange market after United States dollar and the euro.[1] It is also widely used as a reserve currency after the U.S. dollar, the euro and the pound sterling. As is common when counting in East Asia, large quantities of yen are often counted in multiples of 10,000 (man, 万) in the same way as values in Western countries are often quoted in thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

There are lymph nodes and all sorts under there but its too well protected, even if someone is punching you its a hard target. Maybe some of the guys who grapple regularly could think of a few scenarios where it is exposed? Could it be used to get a quick reaction to set something else up or expose an arm or neck?

Regarding the initial question Im sure there are techniques in bjj that will work in the street but id imagine in any reputable club they will be concerned with winning within the rules of the sport, conditioning cage/ring craft etc.
    If you already do judo and are looking for something to complement your self defence skills maybe something striking orientated to supplement judo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭tysonslovechild

just pull his hair , best and easiest move in the world, and the old kick in the bolix routine lol

Give it over.

u not take a wee joke lad, chill urself, ye mite b a mod but jesus, what happened free speech? let me guess im banned for now am I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

chokehold2.jpg

Your catchall solution is somewhat flawed.
    u not take a wee joke lad, chill urself, ye mite b a mod but jesus, what happened free speech? let me guess im banned for now am I

It's not really the "make **** jokes" forum.

FREE SPEECH ON BOARDS.IE [CLICK HERE]

And no your not banned, just stop acting the sack.

waz a little joke pal, try not take urself too seriously, can lead to health problems ya no. chill winston.

no problem maik, cula bula.

Kids these days.

i no , tought this wasnt the ****e joke forum boston hmmmmmmmm, anyway ill get serious.

Boston wrote: »
    Kids these days.

I blaim the parents, and lenient moderators!.

thanks lads ive seen the error of me ways, ill go fort and repent my sins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Boston wrote: »
    chokehold2.jpg

Your catchall solution is somewhat flawed.

That picture reminds me of this

(Fast forward to about 5:30)

Thats class. I like how he only started at 21 as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Withfor me a Street fight should end standing up either with eblows to temple of the head or a punch under the armpit ( Really Hurts). or a knife fist to the windpipe.

This would work especially well if your assailant paused to hail a taxi or perform a nazi salute mid fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

For some unknown reason I find sticking his head in my armpit works better ..... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

Keysi and boxing are both quite effective for multiple aggressors.

Most martial arts suffer when multiple aggressors are involved. that's not to say they are ineffective though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I have a Wushu dvd tells you about the Elements of yen & Yang. by hitting some one in the Yen & Yang at the same time could kill someone. the Video is old, i found it in side Torrent site.

Friend, put that DVD back in the box, and go train someplace where they know what they're talking about.

Z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

BJJ definately is, I've seen a few clubs etc.
    Re. Street Attacking it is my opinion that a wrecking ball is usually the safest and most cost effective method employed of course if the scale warrants it economy of scale and all and the surrounding area can be protected and vacated controled explosives could be considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 spidey7

yea you def need to return the 'armpit ultimate strikes' DVD for double the refund!!

just plain nonsense!

Go learn how to really stop them.

CWCT closest weapon closest target

ya cant go wrong!

check out Tony Blauers stuff, THE SPEAR SYSTEM, this just may be the future of defensive training.

www.tonyblauer.com