Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ronnie is such a prick

• 29-01-2010 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭

Fair play to him, he has played well in Wales all week. His match today against Mark Allen was very good to watch, 2 try's at a 147, some super shots.

But...his attitude in the studio after his matches just makes him seem like a wanker, don't know what is is trying to achieve with vain one word responses and negitive answers to questions put to him.

Anyone else think the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

Fair play to him, he has played well in Wales all week. His match today against Mark Allen was very good to watch, 2 try's at a 147, some super shots.

But...his attitude in the studio after his matches just makes him seem like a wanker, don't know what is is trying to achieve with vain one word responses and negitive answers to questions put to him.

No...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SD7792

YES! Lol. His attitude after the masters final was disgraceful. Firstly, he showed john parrott no respect whatsoever in the interview and then he left before mark selby got his prize. Considering, he's effectively the snooker player you'd think he'd give a better impression for a sport which is having enough troubles already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

if he was shít at snooker and not the best then i wouldnt accept it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭elgriff

Total fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

he has his ups and downs..

I also don't like the way he spoke to John Parrott when he lost to Mark Selby.

But at the end of the day, people like him for his talent and entertainment he brings..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭heviballs

totally agree but in fairness i think the chap is clearly depressed,he has suffered from it for years so maybe we should go easy on him
    And before someone joins in re: the money and life he has that doesn't come in to the equation when you're depressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SD7792

heviballs wrote: »
    totally agree but in fairness i think the chap is clearly depressed,he has suffered from it for years so maybe we should go easy on him
    And before someone joins in re: the money and life he has that doesn't come in to the equation when you're depressed
    If he is depressed, fair enough, his actions are explainable. But at the same time why doesn't he take a few months off to get himself together and get away from the pressure of playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

heviballs wrote: »

The man clearly is troubled, and I DO agree with you I would imagine he has depressive tendancies.

But lets not confuse downright rude, ignorant, childish behaviour with depression....of which both Ronnie displays signs of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

EnterNow wrote: »
    But lets not confuse downright rude, ignorant, childish behaviour with depression....of which both Ronnie displays signs of.

I dont know why it's only the last couple of years that people are noticing this. He's the worst "pro" in the entire field.

He's a petulant child with a sickening sense of entitlement, imo. It's gonna be delicious when Higgins surpasses his world titles number in the next year or two.

consultech wrote: »
    I dont know why it's only the last couple of years that people are noticing this. He's the worst "pro" in the entire field.

He's a petulant child with a sickening sense of entitlement, imo. It's gonna be delicious when Higgins surpasses his world titles number in the next year or two.

Im guilty of this. I was a fairly dead set Rocket fan, right up until the Masters in January of this year. It was his post match interviews which made me realise what he is. Nobody influencing me, purely Ronnie on his own made me cop on. Dunno why I never noticed it before, could be I have more time on my hands these days and get to watch most of the matches/interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

Absoluely, have always thought he was a cunnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Well people get blinded by his natural ability. I have probably had a better view than most as I used to travel to all the ranking events with the Irish lads and see him first hand. I canm't actually sit through any kind of interview with him without wanting to hit someone. He's a mess of a person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

Lads, totally agree with you, he's one seriously f**ked up bloke, i met him regulary several years ago when i used to travel with Doherty and he was nothing like that, he was a normal lad with a great talent, i guess his dad being in the nick, depression and his well documented addictions have now taking their toll.It still does not excuse him to carry on like that,lack of respect for the game and is fellow pros is not on. At the end of the day he still entertains and i reckon thats what will keep him popular with the public. It's ironic but he's currently working with Rileys on finding the next great talent playing in clubs throughout the UK, so it seems he is giving something back to the game. PS. Consultech, when did you travel on the tour? I probably met you, i packed it in after Doherty lost to Williams in sheffield '03.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

Yeah I always knew he was a bit disrespectful and all that, but I hate how he goes on when he goes into the BBC studio after his matches. He acts like such a pr!ck and the studio analysts just lick his arse the whole time and it all just looks terrible. And I was disappointed at the end of the masters final this year. When Selby got the red double but then missed, Ronnie was within 1 or 2 snookers but conceded. What was the point of sitting through the whole match if you're gonna quit in the last frame when there's still a chance of winning? And he also left before Selby got his trophy, which I thought was bad to him aswell after such an entertaining match.
    I also remember seeing Ronnie before playing Mark King, King was at the table and Ronnie, being frustrated, covered the white cloth over his head for like 5 minutes (or more). That was being a proper pr!ck imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭elgriff

"Rooney, Federer, Woods, Taylor. They all have that in-built ability, unflinching commitment and passion for their sport. I'm like that."

What a load of crap!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/2854833/Help-me-find-the-new-Ronnie.html#ixzz0fhvImS2P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

He's an entertainer, simple as that! Yes he carries on like an idiot and does show signs of disrespect to his fellow pro's but does that not add to his appeal? I know that no player is bigger than the game but snooker does need him and he needs snooker.I personally think that once he goes out of a tournament the interest in it begins to wane, and with Mark Williams, John Higgins and Mark Selby now finding some form it could lead to a very exciting finish to the season. With regards to searching for a new talent, i think it's a great idea and i'm sure plenty of young players will take up the challenge, i had mentioned it on this thread a few weeks back, i heard about it when i was at the Masters, i thought it was Ronnie talking bull again but that piece in the Sun today confirms it, Hendry or Davis never did something like this. Funny enough this week sees Hendry's son Blaine and Davis's son Greg compete in the under 14 and under 18 junior events in Pontins, Wales. Could they be future champions like their dads?

He is the current world number 1, one of only three people who have won the world championship three times or more, holds the record for the fastest maximum in the games history, and is the second highest earner in the game....and doesnt reckon he has played decent snooker for the last 18 years.

Yeah, good luck trying to impress him kids.

What a charlatan, seriously Ronnie...x-factor for snooker? Stop watching Big Brother and go join the real world again man.