Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Grants

• 29-01-2010 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

I was just wondering how everyone got on with their student grants this year....Did everyone hear back yet or are some of ye still waiting for approval??

I just got word their last week that my cheque is in for my first and second installment...and semester one over!

I thought the purpose of the grant was for your education, ie starting from September....!!! Not January!!!!

Anyone have any views on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

they said something that ppl grants were given out in january for some ppl...idk i get my grant each month from the roscommon vec so cant complain there :) sickened for ppl who only got their grant at january but sure ppl can just take out an overdraft and work with that till they get the grant to repay it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

I was led to understand student overdrafts were pretty hard to get the last while, AIB would only give me a loan last year anyway and I had fairly good credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭candy19

they said something that ppl grants were given out in january for some ppl...idk i get my grant each month from the roscommon vec so cant complain there :) sickened for ppl who only got their grant at january but sure ppl can just take out an overdraft and work with that till they get the grant to repay it then

Can I ask you, why should students have to go out and get overdrafts and loans which this year most people were rejected for because of the recession when they are entitled to grants which the VEC/County council are holding on to? Sounds rediculus to me.

As for getting part-time jobs havn't you noticed that their isn't any out there???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

I'm quite confused... my grant was meant to be paid straight into my bank A/C but it hasn't happened yet, so I assumed it was waiting in college, but well it wasn't. Curious. Must have an aul ring on Monday morning.

Hiya

If your attending a certificate or apprentiship in DIT from my experience you have to fill out a bank mandate form from the accounts office on your site. Then money is then generally paid into your bank account on a monthly basis. I used to get it between the 20-30th of every month.
    You will be back paid for the month's you havn't yet been paid, thats a relief!:D
    I would urge you to get in contact with your county council or vec if the office in the college can't tell you what's going on!

All the best!

candy19 wrote: »
    Can I ask you, why should students have to go out and get overdrafts and loans which this year most people were rejected for because of the recession when they are entitled to grants which the VEC/County council are holding on to? Sounds rediculus to me.

As for getting part-time jobs havn't you noticed that their isn't any out there???

Well don't ask me about the council im not in the corrupted government. I cant change the way they trying to get ppl out of college...
    if mine was late i would just get overdraft and dont spend 2 much...
    I got an overdraft with Ulster Bank on a student account you can get one easily with the statement that your getting a student grant and i had no credit history with ulster i only joined it when there was deals on campus,
    I was with bank of Ireland till they denied me for a visa credit card so i switched to ulster...they gave me a visa debit card and an overdraft (it turned out like a free credit card)...one the simple basis that im a student...
    And the overdraft is free for students no charges if not re payed at the end of the month...
    So maybe try going to ulster and maybe they do something for u...my girlfriend has an overdraft of 1600 on her account cause she gets the grant only 3 times a year in sligo...she got it on the same basis as i did that shes had proof of her grant and that she can pay back what she borrows

Well don't ask me about the council im not in the corrupted government. I cant change the way they trying to get ppl out of college...
    if mine was late i would just get overdraft and dont spend 2 much...
    I got an overdraft with Ulster Bank on a student account you can get one easily with the statement that your getting a student grant and i had no credit history with ulster i only joined it when there was deals on campus,
    I was with bank of Ireland till they denied me for a visa credit card so i switched to ulster...they gave me a visa debit card and an overdraft (it turned out like a free credit card)...one the simple basis that im a student...
    And the overdraft is free for students no charges if not re payed at the end of the month...
    So maybe try going to ulster and maybe they do something for u...my girlfriend has an overdraft of 1600 on her account cause she gets the grant only 3 times a year in sligo...she got it on the same basis as i did that shes had proof of her grant and that she can pay back what she borrows

See my point is that students shouldn't have to go to these extremes. I am currently paying of a loan from first year of €2,000, which I had no choice but to get cos I had to financially support myself! As well as that, I also got a lazer card with an overdraft facility which i didn't use.

I would not consider using any of these options ever again. I always made substancial repayments but it was incredibly hard at the end of every month!

My main point on this is that if you are eligable for funding why is their such a problem making it available to students at the beginning of the academic year???

This is the part that annoys me, students applications should be assessed from April onwards and application be made to Vec/county councils after your cao is filled out regardless of what college you intend to go to!

i know what your saying...and i agree...but theres nothing u can do...thats the great thing about democracy :) they can **** on the little ppl...i would never take a loan anyway 2 much pain every month see that money going away... student overdraft is the way to go cause u dont get interest charges.

just to say u can sit here all day talk about this **** and get nowhere...eventually its all gonna come down on u...so no mater how bad or good it is u gotta figure it out on ur own how to survive!!!

There are alternatives such as overdrafts etc out there for people. To start processing grants in April would mean you'd have to accept your CAO by then etc etc, and such things can't happen.
    Students have always had to support themselves, back when there were no jobs people went off to America and worked for the Summer, back when the J1 visa wasn't just an excuse to act like a frat-boy for a Summer.
    I also don't believe the whole "there are no jobs out there" lark, there are plenty of part time jobs if people are prepared to do them. Last year my class were away on Erasmus and nearly all had to give up their part time jobs... by now everybody who wants to be employed is employed.

The way I look at this situation is we're all big boys and girls so there are times when you have to stop blaming the government (though they seem largely ineffective) and do things for yourself.

agree with Fewcifur

Fewcifur wrote: »
    There are alternatives such as overdrafts etc out there for people. To start processing grants in April would mean you'd have to accept your CAO by then etc etc, and such things can't happen.
    Students have always had to support themselves, back when there were no jobs people went off to America and worked for the Summer, back when the J1 visa wasn't just an excuse to act like a frat-boy for a Summer.
    I also don't believe the whole "there are no jobs out there" lark, there are plenty of part time jobs if people are prepared to do them. Last year my class were away on Erasmus and nearly all had to give up their part time jobs... by now everybody who wants to be employed is employed.

The way I look at this situation is we're all big boys and girls so there are times when you have to stop blaming the government (though they seem largely ineffective) and do things for yourself.

Fair enough you do have a point. But why are we the one's to suffer! I believe that the student grants should be operated out of one building to cover the whole country.

Just for your information, I have been out looking for work for the last 8 months, up until then I was working extremely hard and supporting myself and never had to look for anything of anyone!

So don't give me that crap about work, if you live in a rural area you would understand the situation.

Fair enough you do have a point. But why are we the one's to suffer! I believe that the student grants should be operated out of one building to cover the whole country.

Just for your information, I have been out looking for work for the last 8 months, up until then I was working extremely hard and supporting myself and never had to look for anything of anyone!

So don't give me that crap about work, if you live in a rural area you would understand the situation.

Hang on, the whole country is suffering in various ways at the moment. Just be grateful that the current grant hasn't been cut for this year.

I honestly believe operating it centrally would lead to even more nonsense and inefficiency, in a HSE kinda vibe. At least the way it is now you can always drop into your local office. Where would this central place be? In Dublin where most of the population is? Then you'll have people from the country giving out that everything's in Dublin. Have it down the country somewhere and you're severely limiting the accessibility of the place for students etc, plus a whole new department/building etc is going to cost quite a bit, quite a bit that'll probably come out of the HEA budget in someway or something.

See, there's always something. Depending how rural you are, then fine there are no jobs, but you go to college in Dublin... it's not like you don't know the way.

I was in contact with my council today, they said my grant was there, all was grand, they were just waiting for confirmation that I passed my exams (though I sent that to them an age ago)

well i do agree that its basically impossible to get a job in rural areas i live in a small town between longford and roscommon...havent looked for a job there myself but i know from my friends struggling to find one...i do know though that some ppl are still 2 stuborn to do ****y jobs and that the main reason they dont even bother to go in to some places even to ask...did u look for a job in dublin...print out 50 copies of CV and walk around every week...jobes come and go...one week there might not be...one week there might...u just sound to me like a lazy complaining student...any student knows that being in college is all about learning how to manage your budget since your living out on your own...no matter what the case is ...DONT WAIT FOR THE LAZY ****TY GOVERNMENT TO DO IT FOR U...if u want something done do it yourself i say...this aint high school **** anymore mommy not gonna do everything for u...life throws **** at u...it might smell but u have to learn to live with it!!!

Hang on, the whole country is suffering in various ways at the moment. Just be grateful that the current grant hasn't been cut for this year. QUOTE]

This is the bit that annoys me, my grant has been cut by 5% as have everyone else's! I am not a lazy moaning student and don't expect someone else to do things for me.

I have actively being seeking work in Dublin and at home since I lost my last job. I just feel that things could be done alot better!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 penpusher

Hi folks

I'd like to write up about how many people are still waiting on grants, and what assistance you have requested or received from the college to tide you over.

I'll keep you anonymous if you like - but I think it is something that should be highlighted in the DIT newspaper.

You can contact me, Fionnuala, at news.dit@gmail.com - ideally this week so I can talk to you and get it in next weeks issue?

Hang on, the whole country is suffering in various ways at the moment. Just be grateful that the current grant hasn't been cut for this year. QUOTE]

This is the bit that annoys me, my grant has been cut by 5% as have everyone else's! I am not a lazy moaning student and don't expect someone else to do things for me.

I have actively being seeking work in Dublin and at home since I lost my last job. I just feel that things could be done alot better!

I meant this current grant hasn't been cut... though I'm open for correction. Yes, next year has been cut by 5%, but rents and food costs are coming down too, you just have to look at the wider picture.

This is normally when people complain that capitation has gone up, but if you're eligible for a grant then you don't have to pay for capitation.

The government can't hold everyone's hand and make sure they spend their money wisely, or maybe we can roll in some sort of communist collective and they can, so you just have to sort stuff out.

The thing that gets me is... how many times do you go out drinking a week?

I meant this current grant hasn't been cut... though I'm open for correction. Yes, next year has been cut by 5%, but rents and food costs are coming down too, you just have to look at the wider picture.

This is normally when people complain that capitation has gone up, but if you're eligible for a grant then you don't have to pay for capitation.

The government can't hold everyone's hand and make sure they spend their money wisely, or maybe we can roll in some sort of communist collective and they can, so you just have to sort stuff out.

The thing that gets me is... how many times do you go out drinking a week?

The current grant has been cut, by 5% it was implemented immediatly. I am eligable for a grant for one reason I am supporting myself and I don't have any family assistance or support! I have worked since the age of 14 just to support myself through school and college.

I accept the fact that the government 'can't hold everyone's hand' but they have the power to make things alot better and more assessible for the people of this country.

As for going out drinking...cop on! I don't the chance to go out because of the fact I am in a difficult degree programme. So far, I have had one class night out since september! And two nights out over xmas! so maybe you eed to get your facts straight before you comment!

well why dont u go to college do law...marketing and w/e else u need and run ur own campaign and change things...by the time u will get to the stage of finance and student grants u will have forgotten ur cause of going into government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

Yes it has. The cuts apply from January 1st 2010. All grant payments for the rest of the year should have the 5% cut.

BC wrote: »

Yes it has. The cuts apply from January 1st 2010. All grant payments for the rest of the year should have the 5% cut.

Ah poo. I assumed that was from next year since it was announced after the current grants would have been processed. Financial re-adjustments here we go.

I'd agree the current grant system could be more efficient, but that's not a government thing, that's on a county council level. As far as I'm aware the government don't like to mess with the running of the county councils too much.

As for getting my facts straight, I never said you were going out drinking all the time, I've no idea who you are, but generally I've found people complain about having no money but still manage to go out for a night of drinking. That might not be the way in your case, but it certainly is for many students. And I'm sure we're all in difficult degree programs, that's the wonder of college.