Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is my playstation broken ?

• 29-01-2010 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭

How'do lads , just a quick question for ye .....I was playing MW2 lastnight (spec Ops) then out of nowhere the screen went black . I turned the playstation off and put the disk back in . Now it doesnt seem to be reading the disk yet no error code is coming up .

I have tried other games/dvds but nothing is coming up .

Is my PS3 shagged or do I just need to get it fixed somewhere :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Does the XMB work?? Can ya log into your account, browse the PSN store and all that?? If all that works and the disc isnt being read then it could be your Blu-ray lens acting up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Does the XMB work?? Can ya log into your account, browse the PSN store and all that?? If all that works and the disc isnt being read then it could be your Blu-ray lens acting up.

Ya , just checked there . The playstation store is working fine but an error code came up (something like 80413080) didnt really catch it . Googled the error codes and theres nothing close to that ??

Is there anything that can be done to fix it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

sounds like classic Blu-ray of death,
    you may need a new drive, happened me, sony replaced ps3,
    if your out of warranty, consolerepairs fix it for 90 with 6 month guarantee
    try an ordinary dvd, ie non blu ray, it should work ?

BOBBY wrote: »

no doesnt work either man , tried Batman in it there :confused:

BOBBY wrote: »

Ive been on youtube there and it doesnt look that complicated (changing the blue-ray laser I mean) Or is that not what I need to fix ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Exact same thing happened to me! Ring up the helpline and they should swap your ps3 for you in a couple of weeks!

Walsh wrote: »
    Exact same thing happened to me! Ring up the helpline and they should swap your ps3 for you in a couple of weeks!

no chance pal , my ps3 is way out of warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

Hey this happened me a few days ago. mine was out of warranty and they replaced it no prob. Though be sure to back up saved games! I didnt but had a back up from a couple weeks earlier - luckliy had not being playing much inbetween!

eoferrall wrote: »
    Hey this happened me a few days ago. mine was out of warranty and they replaced it no prob. Though be sure to back up saved games! I didnt but had a back up from a couple weeks earlier - luckliy had not being playing much inbetween!

Where did you ring/email ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭raze

I've a launch 60 Gb that ground to a halt reading any discs last week - think texture streaming (constant BluRay disc access) in MW2 made things worse.

I followed steps in a YouTube video for cleaning the laser (link) and it's good as new for the time being.

I only did this as my PS3 was bought second hand - without proof of purchase and given its age, I figured I was definitely out of luck with warranty.

What you might try as a quick fix is to go into the recovery mode and rebuild the database and fix the filesystem - you just need a USB connected controller.

Its totally gone tits up now :eek:

It won't read any sort of game/dvd and when i try to play the beta demo the screen goes blank

When I try to put it into recovery mode , I can get the "plug the controller into the usb lead and press the PS button" screen but as soon as I plug the cable into the controller the controller starts flashing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭raze

Did you take it apart and put it back together over the weekend, or just try the recovery stuff, or did this just happen of its own accord?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭scienceoverBS

Ive been on youtube there and it doesnt look that complicated (changing the blue-ray laser I mean) Or is that not what I need to fix ?

check your warranty , youtube howto,s can be misleading.

na man , Im sending it off to be repaired .......out of warranty

Where did you ring/email ?
    na man , Im sending it off to be repaired .......out of warranty

Sorry didn't see your question - don't wander round these parts much!

the number is if its not too late 0818365065.

Hope it works out for you. mine was 2 yrs old and they replaced it with refurbished one.

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 DublinKopite

eoferrall wrote: »
    Sorry didn't see your question - don't wander round these parts much!

the number is if its not too late 0818365065.

Hope it works out for you. mine was 2 yrs old and they replaced it with refurbished one.

Good luck

Hey man, sorry to hijack this thread but I just had the blu-ray of death happen to my PS3 and it's a year out of warranty. Was just wondering what exactly you said to Sony to get it fixed for free even though it was out of warranty? The reason I ask is because I've had two friends who have recently had the same problem with their PS3's, one was even only 3 months out of warranty and he was still charged the full €160. :eek: Or were you just lucky with a nice guy over the phone? :cool:

Duno! reckon he was just a nice guy! asked me when i bought it and i said wasnt too sure... gave him approximate dates and he said grand heres what'll happen. and was sorted within the week.

Didnt do anything crazy, (didnt know there was a charge even) just rang to see what the story was, if both your friends were charged then thats mighty lucky on my part and I wish you good luck! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

You could bring it to console repairs in Bray either , that will only cost you €100

And no i dont work there but they have helped many a gamer on these here threads.....
    http://consolerepairs.ie/
    OR
    http://www.consolerepairsireland.ie/

Not sure what the differences are TBH

eddhorse wrote: »
    You could bring it to console repairs in Bray either , that will only cost you €100

And no i dont work there but they have helped many a gamer on these here threads.....
    http://consolerepairs.ie/
    OR
    http://www.consolerepairsireland.ie/

Not sure what the differences are TBH

I went with consolerepairsireland . Sent it last Thursday , collected by courier €122 . Should have it back Friday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭wayne040576

Just out of curiousity on this one. If you send your PS3 back to Sony to be repaired, do you get the same machine back or a replacement (as in the 360)?

If it's a replacement, what happens to people who have a launch system with the backward compatibily? Do they end up with a newer system with that functionality removed or is it luck of the draw?

They provided you with a refurbished one, so I assume it is the same for everyone!

Maybe you can highlight that it is backwards compatible and so you will get a similar machine returned to you.