Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best bar to watch 6 Nations in London?

• 28-01-2010 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭

Anybody know where the best bar to watch the 6 Nations in London is? Perferably an Irish bar. I'm going to be over there fot the opening game. Looking for a place with plenty of atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Off top of my head ,You could try the Fulham /Hammersmith irish cultural centre

http://www.irishculturalcentre.co.uk/?q=event/music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

You could try Waxy's near Leicester Square (although i was turned off the place when they said they were going to show Munster/NPG Dragons - Jean De Villiers' debut game - but didn't). There's also O'Neills. They're all over place. I hear the Sheephaven Bar in Camden is good for matches but havn't got a chance to go there yet. The Porterhouse, near Covent Garden, is okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Doctor Zaius

O'Neills up the top of Chinatown is usually pretty good to show the matches. Not sure what the atmosphere is like. Porterhouse can be hit and miss but would probably have the right crowd at half 2 on a Saturday afternoon. Avoid the place for evening games as half the people in there won't have any interest.

If you wanna go off the beaten track a bit, there's always the Crown up in Cricklewood or any of the pubs up in Kilburn will probably have a few Irish lads there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

2040 wrote: »
    You could try Waxy's near Leicester Square.

Watched the Ireland v England game just after Croker was opened in Waxy's. The best atmosphere in a pub I have ever experienced (occasion, performance and result probably affected it!). TV's all over the place, good mix of Irish and English (who knew the game) and great craic from the staff. The O'Neills chain is also a good spot atmosphere wise, the drink can be a bit cack though.

Kenteach wrote: »
    Watched the Ireland v England game just after Croker was opened in Waxy's. The best atmosphere in a pub I have ever experienced (occasion, performance and result probably affected it!). TV's all over the place, good mix of Irish and English (who knew the game) and great craic from the staff. The O'Neills chain is also a good spot atmosphere wise, the drink can be a bit cack though.

Yeah, it's good for international matches in fairness. Big screens etc. I wouldn't go there for a club game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭LilOc

Most of those bars/pubs are typical city center bores when it comes to atmosphere (unless you come with a big group of friends but then thed prices of drinks is still ridiculous...) and not very rugby places, which happen to show rugby if enough people request it.

The best place to watch a rugby game, especially 6 Nations, in London is the Welsh pub The Famous Three Kings (F3K), in West Kensington. But come early...

Or The Alex in Clapham, same thing, come early (you'd have more Irish there but mostly "young professionals"...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

LilOc wrote: »

Or The Alex in Clapham, same thing, come early (you'd have more Irish there but mostly "young professionals"...)

Nice pub...certainly better than a city centre drinking barn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

I'd second (third!) the Alex. Get off at Clapham North on the northern line.
    Been to the 3 kings and it's a great spot too. As Wales England is on anywhere in Twickenham will be rocking (as the other weekend...). Personal favourite is the Eel Pie, but there are many.

My local the Blythe in Catford is a great place, but much more family being in the burbs (i.e. mums and dads with the kids, local rugby teams).

I'd vote upstairs in the Alex if I was on a weekender, but you want to be there for 12. seriously.

I think i might give this place a go. Is the food nice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

In the Alex? Pretty sure they have a Thai menu, never seen many people eating there, more of a boozer. Last summer since I was there though.

Claphams high street is spilling over with decent options on food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

You could try Waxy's near Leicester Square (although i was turned off the place when they said they were going to show Munster/NPG Dragons - Jean De Villiers' debut game - but didn't). There's also O'Neills.

No real London Irish person would be seen dead in these establishments :) They've gone fierce chavvy and teeny in the last few years.

The London GAA grounds out in Ruislip is a great place to watch matches. Massive screens and while its a bit of a sh*t hole always has a good Irish atmosphere,though its probably better for the GAA matches than the rugby.

The Claddagh Ring in Hendon or The Swan in Stockwell are the best places If you want a real Irish atmosphere. I used to go to them to watch matches when I lived over there,they'd always be pretty packed,big tv screen and great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

You won t be stuck for a semi decent food-joint in clapham, failing that you can always hit the northcote road down clapham junction way...loads of nice restaurants including one Argentinian joint with fantastic steak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

+1 for O'Neills Chinatown, I was there for the grand slam and the place was mental. You have to get there early for the more popular games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

O'Neills up the top of Chinatown is usually pretty good to show the matches. Not sure what the atmosphere is like

The amtmosphere there is terrible,i've watched a few games on the road,the best being online 3am in Japan at a hostel for the Wales/Ireland game 6n and the worsed being the airport bar at stansted for the Ire/France game last year,they had the sound turned down and nobody seemed interested apart from me and 1 other fella goin nuts