Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

End of Season.

• 28-01-2010 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭

What's everyones plans for the last weekend of the season?
    I'm shooting ducks on Friday, Woodcock and Pheasant on Saturday and then rabbits on Sunday. Then the fishing starts! :D

Mallards

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Lucky you getting out for three days on the trot.

I'll finish up Sunday after pheasants, flight pond at dark and then it's back to the clays.

Olympic Trap shoot the first Sunday in Feb.

Fishing opens on Paddy's Day.

7CBAA424E7DF4909802C4A9F79D0C6BE-500.jpg :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Got to get my last fix PullandBang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

the last hurragh ,sunday morning, there are still a few ducks around plenty of woodcock and the odd wiley cock ,.........good hunting lads;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

iI will be sitting at home looking sory for myself because i broke my ankle last thursday :mad:

I had a lucky escape on the ice just after the new year and nearly busted my knee. This will be the first weekend I'm confident that I will be able to walk more than an hour on it before I have to give up.
    If it was me Feidhlim I would have a plastic bag on it to stop the plaster getting wet and getting my mates to try and drive a few birds in my direction! ;)

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

id love to try that but the only lad i shoot with just shoots rabbits wit a 22. so i have no rough shooting buddy (bar the dog). as least there should be more birds for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

id love to try that but the only lad i shoot with just shoots rabbits wit a 22. so i have no rough shooting buddy (bar the dog). as least there should be more birds for next year
    Take it from me Feidhlim the dog is all you need ,;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

31stJan2008.jpg

Well this was our bag for the last day and it was a first for me I shot 2 duck with one shot, total bag 2 mallard, 1 pheasant and a woodcock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

fair play to you deeks that's a fine bag of birds you got well done;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

31stJan2008.jpg

Well this was our bag for the last day and it was a first for me I shot 2 duck with one shot, total bag 2 mallard, 1 pheasant and a woodcock.

Great bag to finish the season.
    Describe how you got the 2 in 1...???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i got 2 snipe.. the first ever retrieve for my llewelyn setter.. shes only 9 mnths.. actd like a true pro.. im proud as punch of her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Got 2 mallard and a woodcock. Missed a big cock pheasant but I'm still happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Great bag to finish the season.
    Describe how you got the 2 in 1...???

It was a fluke, we said we''ld give the dogs a run in some stubbles beside the river where some pheasants had been spotted the week before. We were walking along one of the ditches running perpendicular to the river and we could hear some quacking. We looked around and over in the distance we could see about a dozen mallard and a couple of swans hanging about on the opposite bank. We decided to loop around them and ambush them but they could see us so they took off. They circled around a couple of times and we kept down. They landed right accross from us behind some trees. We snuck into the middle of the field and then legged that last few yards to the bank. Four took off on my side, I took aim on one, pulled the trigger next thing 2 ducks fell into the field opposite us, the second fellah must have crossed behind the first fellah, as I said it was fluke..... I'll have to get one of them bloody hat cam things:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

2 woodcock to day to finish we didnt see i single pheasants but it was still a good day the dogs worked well, been poor in theses parts all year not sure why the ground was well stocked in the off season and the fact that i didnt start shooting till jan after my fall made for a short season
    we will go after the pigeons for the next few weeks their is no shortage of them boys about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Was out with the rifle foxing tonight and rose two ducks in a field near my house, they are the only two ducks i have seen around here all season!!! typical I see them on the last night, bagged a fox though so i'm happy and the season dosn't close on charlie!!!

I ended with four woodcock and a snipe. Strangely I never seen a pheasant all day. The place is probably bursting with them today the crafty feckers.

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

No6 wrote: »
    Was out with the rifle foxing tonight and rose two ducks in a field near my house, they are the only two ducks i have seen around here all season!!! typical I see them on the last night, bagged a fox though so i'm happy and the season dosn't close on charlie!!!

Ha ha I know how you feel. I was out with the rifle at dawn and saw at least 6 grey squirrels in the trees above my feeders. Went back later with the shotgun and not a squirrel in sight! Do animals know which types of firearm can't be used agaist them?;)