Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think this qualifies to be strange enough to be in here...

• 28-01-2010 2:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

http://www.news.com.au/world/dead-fox-terrier-prompts-bloody-rifle-frenzy-revenge-attack/story-e6frfkyi-1225824310663?from=igoogle+gadget+compact+news_rss

Dead fox terrier prompts 'bloody rifle frenzy' revenge attack

A KIWI man has sought the ultimate revenge on his neighbour by shooting 33 of his dogs dead in a "bloody, rifle-killing frenzy".
    Bad blood had been brewing between Russell Mendoza and Rowan Hargreaves since Monday when Mr Mendoza found his fox terrier mauled to death.
    He was sure one of Mr Hargreaves' 39 dogs was to blame and sought retribution the next day by heading next door to the quarry property armed with a .22 rifle and a 12-gauge shotgun.

Mr Mendoza asked Mr Hargreaves, a mechanic who lives in a broken-down truck surrounded by car wrecks, to sign a note agreeing to the mass shooting.
    What ensued was what police in the small North Island town of Wellsford described as a "bloody, rifle-killing frenzy". The owner, who said he'd felt "under enormous pressure" to sign the note, stood behind a shack to shield himself from the "bloodbath".

He said the sound of his canine companions being shot was unlike anything he'd ever heard before. "They were screaming, making sounds dogs just don't make," he told The New Zealand Herald. "When one was gone, the others knew they'd be next but they had nowhere to go."

Dozens of dogs were found dead in a corner where they had been cowering to avoid gunfire. Others were shot in their cages, hit either by ricocheting bullets or at point-blank range. "There was a pile of puppies right alongside the campervan the dog owner lived in," Senior Constable Barry Rose said. The youngest were three weeks old.

Four pups hiding under their dead mother in the van and two other dogs survived. Sen Const Rose said it wasn't a straightforward case of a neighbourhood dispute. "They got along quite well as neighbours before," the officer said.

"There was no dispute, no nothing, not until the little fox terrier was found dead."
    On top of that, it seemed Mr Hargreaves was more aggrieved by the manner in which his animals had been killed rather than the fact they had died. "But whether it had been under duress or not he had given permission for the dogs to be shot but not in that manner," Sen Const Rose said. The Society Protection of Animals will investigate whether the killings were carried out humanely.

A few things here.

1. The owner was asked to sign a note agreeing to this - did the killer think it would be legally binding??

2. The owner felt under enormous pressure to sign the note - I'll bet he did with a .22 rifle and a shotgun pointing at him

3. 'The Society Protection of Animals will investigate whether the killings were carried out humanely' - humanely? A fella walks into a yard with a couple of guns and shoots 33 dogs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

The fella who shot them should be shot himself and the fella keeping all 39 dogs in a place like that should also be shot. Fair enough if it was a rescue place for the dogs or they where treated well then fair play to me man but with him living in an old truck himself I cant imagine the dogs where kept in good condition.
    If the dogs where fed properly I wouldnt imagine they would mawl another dog to death so , shoot the owner and the prick that shot the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

aye, kill em both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The two of them should have had a shooting match and left the dogs out of it, both of them sound like nutters.
    Poor dogs:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Yawnpalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

wow, im not particularly attached to animals in that way but that stories a bit of a downer. OP, there is a Part II where the dogs owner Bobby Ewing wakes up and it was all a dream, isn't there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

wow, im not particularly attached to animals in that way but that stories a bit of a downer. OP, there is a Part II where the dogs owner Bobby Ewing wakes up and it was all a dream, isn't there?

I just found it a bizarre sequence of events. The killings and the reactions from the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Crazy Americans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Yawnpalm.

yawn post .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Ya, that was not a good way to start off my morning.... think i need a cry! :o

Id love to stick that gun up yer mans a$$ :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Ticktactoe wrote: »
    Ya, that was not a good way to start off my morning.... think i need a cry! :o

Id love to stick that gun up yer mans a$$ :mad:

You might do more harm if you shoot him up the arse rather than just sticking it up there.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was the fox terrier Mendozas gay lover?
    One fox terrier doesn't equal 33 dogs.
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10622729

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

That's pretty RRrruuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i actually cant finish reading that. i feel sad now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Wow Americans Aussies over reacting, who'd a thunk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wow Americans Aussies over reacting, who'd a thunk it?
    New Zealand but don't worry, they get that a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jesus H. Christ....

Is more fked up stuff like this happening on a daily basis, or are we just hearing about it more thanks to the wonders of technology?

The shooter is clearly psychotic. Am I the only one reminded of this [bear with it past the ad]?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Those poor dogs :(

Heartless rednecks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭jenga-jen

Agh depressing start to a Thursday!

We can only hope that neither of these two lads breed :eek:

Sick puppies....

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭gmonov1

terrible story, poor dogs.
    it reminded me of something i was discussing with a friend a while ago though, why is it acceptable for someone to get an exterminator in to kill countless rats, mice etc but its not acceptable to not even kill a dog but even to hit it or kick it for example.
    im in no way saying that we should be allowed to do it, it would be a terrible thing to do, but why do we draw distinctions between degrees of cruelty depending on the animal. to simplify it further, i would bet that everyone on this forum has at one point in their lives swatted a fly, or squashed a spider, yet if you seen someone punch a cat for example you'd be horrified. why is one more acceptable than the other
    ill sit back now and wait for the onslaught!!