Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seasick Steve, Vicar Street, 22nd & 23rd Feb.

• 26-01-2010 5:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭

This is gonna be a great gig. Anybody going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭DiarmaidGNR

CiaranK wrote: »
    This is gonna be a great gig. Anybody going?

I'll probably go so!!
    Saw him on topgear the other night, he's a great guitarist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Same here...was it as good as I know it was??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭domcq

The Seasick Steve gig was brilliant - loved it. My only negative on the night was the drunken mess of a bloke in the balcony who could barely stand. How drunk do you have to be in Vicar St before enough is enough and out you go :mad:

He roared and shouted throughout the gig - He was most annoying during the slower tunes.

Gotta love Stevo though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭big_show

A Group of guys behind me were loaded/high/retarded and kept shouting "we love you Stephen!" was grand the first time but after the 84th time it wore very thin.

Cant understand how people can roar shite during quiet songs but i managed to blocked most of it out as well as the infamous balcony dude.

Great gig though your in for a good night tonight, very good story teller between songs and great audience interaction (Especially the lady gaga stuff!). also it was my 1st time in vicar street, tis a good venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

my first time since http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBh9hxmKdLQ

feel like i should turn up in wellies...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭CiaranK

The gig was absloutly fantastic, except for the stupid people shouting up at steve during slow songs! Set list was great. The new songs fitted in great with the old ones! I shook both Dan and Steves hands when they were shaking hands with the crowd, I was in the second row. And Dan came back out to take photos so I got a photo with him. And theres more, I sent 2 of my albums backstage by one of the security guys and Steve signed them both!!!! The banter was great. It was very cool when he took the Girl up onstage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sneachta

Going to the gig tonight. Anyone know if there is a support act? Stuck for time so need to know what time to be there?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Pauly26

Ye going to the gig myself tonight anyone know if there is a support act first or?

thanks
    Paul

The support last night was Duke Garwood. Really reccommend seeing him if you can. Reminds me of John Martyn, sipping whiskey and beer in between each song too. If you're into John Martyn see him. He was on at 8;30 on the dot. I thought he was a roadie. He strolled out with one of Steves guitars and sat down and plaaye for about half an hour. I really got into him. It as better than the video here. There was no Drums. Steve came on between 9 and 9;10ish.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyU9Z02sqQA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKqSOLvEscg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sneachta

Thanks CiaranK
    The support last night was Duke Garwood. Really reccommend seeing him if you can. Reminds me of John Martyn, sipping whiskey and beer in between each song too. If you're into John Martyn see him. He was on at 8;30 on the dot. I thought he was a roadie. He strolled out with one of Steves guitars and sat down and plaaye for about half an hour. I really got into him. It as better than the video here. There was no Drums. Steve came on between 9 and 9;10ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Pauly26

Nice one Ciaran!

No bother, enjoy the show!! Judging by last night, you're in for a real treat!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

Last night was a blast except for the above mentioned complaints.

I wish I was in Vicar Street watching it again now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

Gig was absolutely amazing tonight! Set list was brilliant and the stories between songs were great too.

Same **** as last night with morons shouting stupidly throughout the set, also a lot of people talking when it was really quiet.

Also Dan, his drummer, had to leave the stage because he wasn't well. Left for ages and was apparently getting checked out by a doctor backstage! He came back out and played two or three more songs before Steve basically told him to **** off and he finished the set himself! We were then told by Steve that he had to get taken to hospital!

I really hope he's ok! Did anyone hear anything more about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

domcq wrote: »
    The Seasick Steve gig was brilliant - loved it. My only negative on the night was the drunken mess of a bloke in the balcony who could barely stand. How drunk do you have to be in Vicar St before enough is enough and out you go :mad:

He roared and shouted throughout the gig - He was most annoying during the slower tunes.

Gotta love Stevo though :D

It was most annoying when he did it when Steve was talking. For ****'s sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Jules.Winnfield

As said before the gig last night was epic (bar the idiots in the crowd) although it was funny when Steve stoped mid-song and said "boy, you want me to come down there and kick your ass... I aint afraid to rumble". Pity what happened Dan, he's a fantastic drummer but I sure hope he's OK. Hard to find any information.

Loved his encore too, particularly when he dedicated it Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

I have 2 videos on youtube. One I filmed for somebody I was at the gig with That is here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8Q_ll7lgmU

And the Walkin' Man with a girl from the crowd.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygPLSQ4kHRg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

It really was an amazing gig, been waiting to go to it for weeks now and it certainly didn't disappoint.

The humility of the guy really is something to behold and the stories he brings to the stage would put a smile on any face. He took bows and accepted the applause of the audience after every song with a thankfulness I have never seen in a live act before.

On the musical side of things every song is a showstopper with huge barnstorming finishes on all tracks excepting the slower numbers. The guy has an amazing voice and Dan was a joy to watch on the drums, hope is doing better today. All in all a fantastic gig.

Oh yeah, for those who were at the gig it turns out another boardsie and I were sitting next to the "Lady Gaga Girls" that Steve mentioned!

"We rock stars y'all." -Seasick Steve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

I only have one thought on a purely curious level referring to his Belfast story.
    Hayseed Dixie were playing the same night as Lady GarBage if im not mistaken. Why didnt he go and see them?

But yeah...brilliant brilliant gig again, apart from the divvys shouting/talking.
    2 hours from what 3 albums...puts a lot of bands to shame with their 45 mins and take the money and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Hyndsy85

I only have one thought on a purely curious level referring to his Belfast story.
    Hayseed Dixie were playing the same night as Lady GarBage if im not mistaken. Why didnt he go and see them?

But yeah...brilliant brilliant gig again, apart from the divvys shouting/talking.
    2 hours from what 3 albums...puts a lot of bands to shame with their 45 mins and take the money and run.

I was at the gig last night myself. It was pretty amazing.
    But i thought he said he saw the lady gaga concert in florida.

From Steve's Facebook page:
    Thanks to everybody who has expressed their concern for Dan after he had to go off-stage during the show last night. He appears to be ok now but we're having him checked out by a doctor just to be safe. As of this moment, he will be appearing as scheduled tomorrow night at the Haiti Earthquake Fundraiser at the Roundhouse in London. Thanks again, guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

nice work!

was at Monday nights show and pretty much agree with all thats been said before...excellent gig(apart from the odd a**hole), having seen him a couple of times previously, i think this was the best so far and the addition of dan the drummer has added another dimension to his music...can't wait for the next time round.

As said before the gig last night was epic (bar the idiots in the crowd) although it was funny when Steve stoped mid-song and said "boy, you want me to come down there and kick your ass... I aint afraid to rumble". Pity what happened Dan, he's a fantastic drummer but I sure hope he's OK. Hard to find any information.

Loved his encore too, particularly when he dedicated it Dan.

Who did he say that to? Did anyone record it?

He said it to some women behind me....she was so loud talking away.
    I have it recorded I think....will upload later

I hope he releases a live album of one of these shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭umpire bat

Was at the Tuesday gig. The slower atmospheric stuff was great. The bowsy element between the right hand side of the stage and the door proved an old saying "Manners maketh the man" Mouthing off all night. Especially during those great intros which Steve used to highlight his great storytelling ability.
    What a contrast between some of the oafs and the humility of the star on stage.