Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toerag back in the News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

Cool studio. That's probably the only mono REDD desk left in the whole world, using the siemens amps and not the later REDD amps. I'd love to hear it. The Siemens amps sound amazing on their own.

Edit- he says it's one of 4 or 5 left... cooler again!! Nice to see he's using a Quad 405, same as me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

you know madness ?

I drink with lee the very odd time - hes a mate of my 1st cousins in the uk - last time was backstage at the point gig before it got refurbed.
    and Chris is usually about where lee is.

Chries kids were drinking with us last time.

some drinkers them lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Toured with them for 3 or 4 years .

Website says he's using a Quad II as the monitor amp. Not cool (it's valves) but very nice :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

PaulBrewer wrote: »

Like...Gentlemen, this going to tape - so sing in tune and play in time ?

krd wrote: »
    Like...Gentlemen, this going to tape - so sing in tune and play in time ?

Just dealing with yer man more I think - and as I recall there was no Tea in the place and all the headphones were broken .... stuff like that.

The main rhythm unit of Woody on drums, Mark on Bass and Mike on piano grew up playing together and it's right all the time.
    Woody and Mark were 17 when they had their first hit and TOTP appearance !

The ebbing and flowing of the rest of them is all part of the show.

When I worked with them Chris, the guitar player, had a 1 x 12 Boogie (was it a Mk3? ) and that was it - no FX, monitors, no nothing ... and this was on open air stages like Finsbury Park and Wembley Arena !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Just dealing with yer man more I think - and as I recall there was no Tea in the place and all the headphones were broken .... stuff like that.

Toerag is a famous studio, now. Especially for the White Stripes. But I think the original intention was to be a demo studio, with something a little different to offer from the other demo studios (remember demos )

The White Stripes did Elephant there in three weeks for $8,000

Other people have recorded there. But I think it's more or less a hillybilly demo studio.

So, I'd say Toerag is a case of bring all your own gear - headphones, mics, mini mixers.....Kettles, tea bags, milk, sugar, nescafe etc

krd wrote: »
    So, I'd say Toerag is a case of bring all your own gear - headphones, mics, mini mixers.....Kettles, tea bags, milk, sugar, nescafe etc

So they discovered !

Fair play to him. Catering to a niche market and clearly enjoying it. The website is brilliant. SOS article on the studio here:

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/oct03/articles/toeragstudios.htm