Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny story regarding a laptop and glass of wine.

• 26-01-2010 7:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

At the end of last summer I lent my mum my laptop for a few days as hers was away getting some repair work carried out.

Anyway, she accidently spilled a glass of wine over it and we both assumed the laptop was ruined. I pulled the battery, and put it in the hot press for a few days to see if it would cure the problem, but it didnt, wouldnt power on at all, so i just threw it out into the garage.

A couple of weeks back i just happened to be browsing lifehacker.com and came across an article relating to liquids being spilled over electronic devices.

Basically it said because of what ever is in alcohol, alcohol will not corrode electronic parts. So this got me thinking to my laptop and the glass of wine.

As soon as I got a chance, I nipped round to my mums, got the laptop out of the garage, installed the battery, plugged in the charger.

The charging light came on, on the laptop. I pressed the power button, and wooolaaaa laptop booted up.

I couldnt believe it, after all these months of the laptop sitting in the garage, assuming that it was destroyed, it worked.

Everything works perfect on it :D

Just thought i would share this incase anyone has had any other similar problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

Result!

Great to hear some good news - have a glass of wine to celebrate!

Or a whisky!!

WildeFalcon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Nice one!

Similiar thing happened to my housemate when a friend spilled beer over his new laptop.............absolutely destroyed it. I did the best I could in repairing it including removing parts to save them. After a good while I managed to get the thing running again but it soon died shortly (keyboard was disabled, no LEDs lit up, etc).

The friend coughed up €600 for the housemate to buy the same model again while he took the banjaxed one (I told the housemate he should've kept it, but nobody listens to a techie until they actually need him.)

I then told the friend numerous of times not to sell it to anyone without telling me.....................to which he goes to a computer shop, they tell him it's fecked, and he accepted €25 for the laptop and charger :eek:

3 weeks later the housemates new laptop's HDD dies and he had to wait for 2 months for a repair (he took his time ringing HP) All the while I told him:

"Ah, if you listened to me in the beginning I would've had it up and running for ya in 2 seconds" :pac: