Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leather reupholstery of car seats?

• 25-01-2010 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭

How much would leather reupholstery of car seats cost roughly? My cloth ones are getting sorta faded and gank looking, anything can be done? Most of the covers I see around look awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Get someone like Cartronics to have a look, top work and I'm sure their prices have become more competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

What make, model and year is your car? You might be able to get a second hand leather interior from a scrapped car, but some people have reservations potential safety issues. A decent upholstery job might cost as much as just trading up to a better specced car altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Got my car seats redone in leather by a crowd called C.U.C or car upholstery company on ushers island this time last year and they've worn well no splits or rips in them. Cost €400 heres a few pics of them:

DSCF0125.jpg
    DSCF0127.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

eoin wrote: »
    What make, model and year is your car? You might be able to get a second hand leather interior from a scrapped car, but some people have reservations potential safety issues. A decent upholstery job might cost as much as just trading up to a better specced car altogether.

2004 Ford Focus. My fear is that it would cost more than it would be worth.

I Was VB wrote: »
    Got my car seats redone in leather by a crowd called C.U.C or car upholstery company on ushers island this time last year and they've worn well no splits or rips in them. Cost €400 heres a few pics of them:

Looks really well, sorta soft leather is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

CUC dont use real leather, i dropped into them a few months ago. I had to get a patch in my bmw replaced. I went to Nolan autocare, I asked what a full car would cost in leather including labor in Nolan Autocare and they said atleast a grand. I would go to CUC the cost of real leather and labor in that car would be a was waste. Im sure you can negotiate on price a little if you pay cash, you could also price getting the work done up north...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

No offense but they just look like cheap taxi seat covers, are they even real leather for that price?

You get what you pay for quality wise, have a look here for examples of quality work. http://www.mjinteriors.co.uk/featured.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Neilw wrote: »
    No offense but they just look like cheap taxi seat covers, are they even real leather for that price?

You get what you pay for quality wise, have a look here for examples of quality work. http://www.mjinteriors.co.uk/featured.asp

Is that a taxi meter in the picture? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

as I mentioned CUC dont use real leather, but what they provide will probably be a big improvement! Check out http://nolanautocare.ie/ But if you want serious quality, you have to pay serious money and you are not going to put in serious money into an 04 Focus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

Is that a taxi meter in the picture? :D

Ha ha so it is, never spotted that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

EBAY

I got a spotless unmarked full cream leather interior WITH the cream door cards delivered for €500 for my 06 Focus .

(The seats were electric & heated!)

EDIT:

Ebay has this:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FORD-FOCUS-ST-170-LEATHER-TRIM-BREAKING-FULL-CAR_W0QQitemZ120501301476QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item1c0e6ff0e4#ht_500wt_1182

Breaking a 2003? ST170 5 door focus. Leather kit £450 + shipping. Ask for pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

DSCF0125.jpg
    DSCF0127.jpg

Volvo Boy does the PVC drivers seat not sweat ya, you will get a bad dose of Jonny Jiles sitting on that all day...:D

Yea its a taxi, feck it easier for me to clean up blood puke piss and real hazzard fake tan & foundation!

What do ya want for 400 sheets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

That st170 on ebay would be good for the door cards and wheels if the other side is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Fair play VB, that's one spotless Carina E. When does she go to the Great Scrapheap in the Sky? Wait, no, Carinas go to hell to be melted down and made into Avensii, right?

Confab wrote: »
    Fair play VB, that's one spotless Carina E. When does she go to the Great Scrapheap in the Sky? Wait, no, Carinas go to hell to be melted down and made into Avensii, right?

She's going for her final NCT as a taxi tomorrow, spend the day cleaning and polishing the beast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

She's going for her final NCT as a taxi tomorrow, spend the day cleaning and polishing the beast!

Whats with the name change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,715 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

EPM wrote: »
    Whats with the name change?

I'm guessing VB doesn't have access to his registered email account anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Oh its Volvo Boy - I though he used to be Visual Basic :D

Thanks again for this how to service your car Post..... :)

I'd forgotten all about that little incident

Unless I go the more cost effective route:

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_723161_langId_-1_categoryId_212491

If they were tight enough on the seats they may not look complete gank. Reassure me?:o

Ush1 wrote: »

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_723161_langId_-1_categoryId_212491

If they were tight enough on the seats they may not look complete gank. Reassure me?:o

For the love of God no.

Find ideally ST170 leather seats from a scrap yard if you can. Alternatively leather was an option on Ghias and there were a few in the UK. www.traynors.co.uk would be worth a call. Just make sure you get door cards too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You did want reassuring they'll look like saggy shite didn't you?

Only way to go is either a professional and around €1,750 - €2,000 for a full re-trim, or buy a full leather interior and swap it yourself.

EPM wrote: »
    For the love of God no.

Find ideally ST170 leather seats from a scrap yard if you can. Alternatively leather was an option on Ghias and there were a few in the UK. www.traynors.co.uk would be worth a call. Just make sure you get door cards too

How much would getting the seats refitted be roughly? Or would it be a DIY job?

You'd do it yourself. No airbags to worry about. few bolts is all. If you're not confidant just any local mechanic should have it done in no time

They would but i dont see much point in having front leather seats and rear cloth?

True but was more just wondering if they would fit mine. Full set just came up here:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FORD-FOCUS-LEATHER-SEATS-3-DOOR_W0QQitemZ300389216000QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item45f097af00

Dont think the rear ones would fit.

Plus you wont get door cards. If you want a half arsed job they'd do fine...I'd try source a full set from a 5 door

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Yea its a taxi, feck it easier for me to clean up blood puke piss and real hazzard fake tan & foundation!

What do ya want for 400 sheets?

I think that's a good job on them seats. Tailored covers or replacements are far better than saggy universal fit ones.

Nowt wrong with vinyl, I guess it's slightly stretchy stuff called Ambla, so let's not call it leather as folk think of the stuff off a cow's back.